University of Reading cookie policy

We use cookies on to improve your experience, monitor site performance and tailor content to you.

Read our cookie policy to find out how to manage your cookie settings.

Professional Services Awards

The Professional Services Awards add to the existing annual awards schemes open to Academic Services colleagues, meaning all colleagues can now be recognised for their work at the University.

Four winning colleagues will be announced at an awards ceremony to be held in June, and each will receive a prize of £750 (minus tax) and the names of all nominated colleagues will be published on the website.

The awards will be run and judged by a committee of Professional Services Working Group members:  

  • Joshua Madrid, Chair
  • Susie Morse, Secretary
  • Bonhi Bhattacharya
  • Suzanne Abraham
  • Rob Boreham-Fish
  • Jude Brindley
  • Natasha Kennedy
  • Patrick Abbott
  • Kat Seaman
  • Danie Woodbridge.

Members include volunteers from the VC's Termly Professional Services group.  

Professional Services Award logo

The University's annual Professional Service Awards celebrate the contribution of our colleagues in professional and support roles, and their value in helping the University pursue its guiding principles of:

  • community
  • excellence
  • sustainability
  • engagement.

The awards also promote and celebrate resourceful, responsible and respectful work shown by professional and support staff.



Any member of Professional Services who fulfils the following criteria is eligible:

  • employees on permanent or fixed term contracts
  • those with one year's service by the closing date for nominations
  • winners must be employed by the University in the month the award is made
  • volunteers organising the Professional Services Award are not eligible for consideration.



Any employee of the University, from any grade and on permanent or fixed term contracts, can nominate someone. You can nominate more than one person.

The action or actions for which a person is nominated must have occurred in the twelve months preceding the opening date for nominations.

You can nominate someone for more than one category, but an individual can only win in one category each year.

Self-nominations are acceptable, but must be accompanied by a second recommendation from another University employee.


Ready to nominate?

The Professional Services Award nomination form is available until 2 April. 

Nominate for the Professional Service Awards here

Colleagues can be nominated in any of these four categories:

  • Community
  • Excellence
  • Sustainability
  • Engaged University.
Further information


Read the Professional Services Awards FAQ.

Read the Professional Services Awards Assessment Criteria.

Download the Professional Services Award printable nomination form.

Nomination timelines

Awards Launched – 16 January 2024
Submit nominations from – 16 January 2024
Nomination form closes – 2 April 2024
Awards ceremony – Date to be confirmed 

Contact us

If you have any further questions, please email

Please note that this inbox is staffed by volunteers. Your patience is appreciated.