Skip to main content

Meet the team – University of Reading

Show access keys
  • Our staff

    Learn with our internationally recognised experts

Meet the team

Department of Archaeology staff

Academic staff

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Professor Martin Bell

Professor in Archaeological Science

+ 44 (0)118 378 7724

m.g.bell@reading.ac.uk

Dr Alanna Cant Lecturer in Social Anthropology  + 44 (0)118 378 7820 a.m.cant@reading.ac.uk

Ms Amanda Clarke

Director of Archaeology Field School

+ 44 (0)118 378 6255

a.s.clarke@reading.ac.uk

Dr John Creighton

Associate Professor in Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 7364

j.d.creighton@reading.ac.uk

Professor Hella Eckardt 

Professor in Archaeology/ Head of Department of Archaeology 

+ 44 (0)118 378 6266

h.eckardt@reading.ac.uk

Dr Ceri Falys Teaching Fellow in Human Osteology  + 44 (0)118 378 3273  c.g.falys@reading.ac.uk

Professor Michael Fulford

Professor in Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 8048

m.g.fulford@reading.ac.uk

Professor Duncan Garrow

Professor in Later Prehistoric Archaeology

+44 (0) 118 378 6458

d.j.garrow@reading.ac.uk

Professor Roberta Gilchrist

Professor in Archaeology/ Research Dean

+ 44 (0)118 378 6381

r.l.gilchrist@reading.ac.uk

Dr Robert Hosfield

Associate Professor in Palaeolithic Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 7632

r.hosfield@reading.ac.uk

Professor Mary Lewis

Professor in Bioarchaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 8927

m.e.lewis@reading.ac.uk

Professor Roger Matthews

Professor of Near Eastern Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 7564

r.j.matthews@reading.ac.uk

Dr Wendy Matthews

Associate Professor in Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 6788

w.matthews@reading.ac.uk

Professor Steven Mithen

Professor in Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 7363

s.j.mithen@reading.ac.uk

Dr Gundula Mueldner

Associate Professor in Bioarchaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 7389

g.h.mueldner@reading.ac.uk

Dr Aleks Pluskowski

Associate Professor in Medieval Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 5267

a.g.pluskowski@reading.ac.uk

Dr Andrew Souter  Teaching Fellow  + 44 (0)118 378 3267  a.p.souter@reading.ac.uk

Dr Gabor Thomas

Associate Professor in Early Medieval Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 5449

gabor.thomas@reading.ac.uk

Research and enterprise staff

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Dr Rowena Banerjea

Postdoctoral Research Assistant

+ 44 (0)118 378 7877

r.y.banerjea@reading.ac.uk

Jon Badger QUEST Geoarchaeological Technician + 44 (0)118 378 3333  jon.badger@reading.ac.uk

Dr Robert Batchelor

QUEST Director

+44 (0) 118 378 8941

c.r.batchelor@reading.ac.uk

Dr Peter Bray Research Fellow in Material Science  +44 (0) 118 378 3290  p.j.bray@reading.ac.uk
Dr Blessing Chidimuro Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Isotope Ecology/Archaeology Geography &   b.chidimuro@reading.ac.uk
Charlotte Diffey Postdoctoral Research Assistant in Archaeobotany  +44 (0)118 378 3269 c.j.diffey@reading.ac.uk

Jenni Eaton

Research Assistant

+44 (0)118 378 7804

j.e.eaton@reading.ac.uk

Dr Claire Hodson British Academy Postdoctoral Fellowship  +44 (0)118 378 3728 c.m.hodson@reading.ac.uk

Dr Nathalie Marini

QUEST Project Manager

+44 (0)118 378 8945

n.a.marini@reading.ac.uk

Nick Pankhurst

Research Assistant

+ 44 (0)118 378 7316

n.a.pankhurst@reading.ac.uk

Dr Amy Richardson Senior Research Fellow +44 (0)118 378 8747 a.l.richardson@reading.ac.uk

Dr Sam Walsh

Research Assistant in Human Osteoarchaeology

+44 (0)118 378 3282

s.l.walsh@reading.ac.uk

Dan Wheeler

Research Assistant

+ 44 (0)118 378 3283

d.r.wheeler@reading.ac.uk

Kevin Williams

QUEST

+44 (0) 118 378 3284

kevin.williams@reading.ac.uk

Daniel Young

QUEST Project Manager

+44 (0)118 378 7360

d.s.young@reading.ac.uk

Postgraduate Research Students

Name

Email

 Project
Lisa Backhouse l.backhouse@pgr.reading.ac.uk Changing Social Relations and the Making of an Early Medieval Kingdom: People and Pottery in Anglo-Saxon Kent AD 450-850.
Florencia Botta f.n.botta@pgr.reading.ac.uk Was childhood health declining in the period leading to the Black Death?
Donna de Groene d.a.j.degroene@pgr.reading.ac.uk Animal ecology and management during the transition from mobile hunting-gathering to sedentary agriculture in the Eastern Fertile Crescent.
Ellen Green ellen.green@pgr.reading.ac.uk Dead in a ditch: a taphonomic examination of human and animal remains deposited in non-formal funerary contexts in S E England during the late Iron-Age and early Roman periods.
Henrietta Hammant h.l.hammant@pgr.reading.ac.uk Anthropology of Heritage: Museum objects and the ‘heroes’ of early British Antarctic exploration.
Richard Henry richard.henry@pgr.reading.ac.uk Fractured Britannia: Britain and Rome under Count Theodosius and the House of Valentinian
Alesia Koush a.koush@pgr.reading.ac.uk Human rights implications of illicit trafficking in archaeological heritage: the case study of Iraq.
Thomas Mills t.k.mills@pgr.reading.ac.uk 'Be Thou Dead to the World, but Alive Unto God': Defining the Diagnosis and Evolution of Leprosy Using the Evidence of Child and Adult Skeletal Remains.
Carina Mincioni  c.a.mincioni@pgr.reading.ac.uk Other Deposits: the nature and significance of all depositional practices at round barrows during the Bronze Age.
Rebecca Pitt  r.a.pitt@pgr.reading.ac.uk Investigating the impact the Roman conquest had on Iron Age people’s health through examining Perinatal, Infant and Maternal health.
Kathryn Price  k.m.price@pgr.reading.ac.uk Early Humans in Britain: Cultural Adaptations from Coastal to Inland Occupation.
Maria Rabbani maria.rabbani@pgr.reading.ac.uk Investigating human-environmental relationships in the Zagros region during the Late Glacial, and Early to Mid-Holocene period.
Andrew Reynolds a.c.reynolds@pgr.reading.ac.uk Late Bronze Age and Iron Age hoards in Wales and Marches: An investigation into patterns of selective and reflective deposition.
Arica Roberts arica.roberts@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Gender & Religion in Early Medieval Wales: The Archaeology of Religious Transformation in Wales c. 400-1200 CE.

Dave Smith  d.b.smith@pgr.reading.ac.uk Spatial organisation of early Neolithic communities in the Southern Levant: A spatial analysis of the WF16 Wadi Faynan settlement with regional comparisons.

Katy Whitaker

k.a.whitaker@pgr.reading.ac.uk

The role of sarsen stone in southern Britain. An archaeological and ethno-historical approach to an ancient industry.

Emeritus, Honorary and Visiting Staff

Name

Position

Email

Professor Grenville Astill Emeritus Professor g.g.astill@reading.ac.uk

Professor Richard Bradley

Emeritus Professor

r.j.bradley@reading.ac.uk

Professor Bob Chapman

Emeritus Professor

r.w.chapman@reading.ac.uk

Professor Clive McCann Emeritus Professor  
Dr Catherine Barnett Senior Visiting Research Fellow  
Dr Alex Smith Senior Visiting Research Fellow  

Dr Alex Brown

Visiting Research Fellow

alex.brown@reading.ac.uk

Dr Matt Canti

Visiting Research Fellow

m.g.canti@reading.ac.uk

Dr Petra Dark

Visiting Research Fellow

s.p.dark@reading.ac.uk

Dr Jennifer Foster

Visiting Research Fellow

j.a.a.foster@reading.ac.uk

Dr Delphine Fremondeau Visiting Research Fellow   
Dr Aroa Garcia-Suarez Visiting Research Fellow  

Dr Chris Green

Visiting Research Fellow/QUEST

Dr Heinrich Härke

Visiting Research Fellow

h.g.h.harke@reading.ac.uk

Dr Kevin Hayward Visiting Research Fellow K.Hayward@reading.ac.uk

Mr Neil Holbrook

Visiting Research Fellow

Professor Michael Lewis Visiting Professor  mlewis@britishmuseum.org
Dr Sara Machin  Visiting Research Fellow  s.l.machin@reading.ac.uk

Dr David Mudd

Visiting Research Fellow

david.mudd@reading.ac.uk
Dr Marta Portillo Ramirez Visiting Research Fellow  

Dr Tom Walker

Visiting Research Fellow

Dr Phillipa Walton

Visiting Research Fellow

Philippa.Walton@reading.ac.uk

We use Javascript to improve your experience on reading.ac.uk, but it looks like yours is turned off. Everything will still work, but it is even more beautiful with Javascript in action. Find out more about why and how to turn it back on here.
We also use cookies to improve your time on the site, for more information please see our cookie policy.

Back to top