Skip to main content

Meet the team – University of Reading

Show access keys
  • Our staff

    Learn with our internationally recognised experts

Meet the team

Department of Archaeology staff

Academic staff

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Professor Martin Bell

Professor in Archaeological Science

+ 44 (0)118 378 7724

m.g.bell@reading.ac.uk

Dr Alanna Cant  Lecturer in Social Anthropology   a.m.cant@reading.ac.uk

Ms Amanda Clarke

Director of Archaeology Field School

+ 44 (0)118 378 6255

a.s.clarke@reading.ac.uk

Dr John Creighton

Associate Professor in Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 7364

j.d.creighton@reading.ac.uk

Professor Hella Eckardt 

Professor in Archaeology/ Head of Department of Archaeology 

+ 44 (0)118 378 6266

h.eckardt@reading.ac.uk

Dr Ceri Falys  Teaching Fellow in Human Osteology    c.g.falys@reading.ac.uk

Professor Michael Fulford

Professor in Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 8048

m.g.fulford@reading.ac.uk

Professor Duncan Garrow

Professor in Later Prehistoric Archaeology

+44 (0) 118 378 6458

d.j.garrow@reading.ac.uk

Professor Roberta Gilchrist

 Professor in Archaeology/ Research Dean

+ 44 (0)118 378 6381

r.l.gilchrist@reading.ac.uk

Dr Robert Hosfield

Associate Professor in Palaeolithic Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 7632

r.hosfield@reading.ac.uk

Professor Mary Lewis

Professor in Bioarchaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 8927

m.e.lewis@reading.ac.uk

Professor Roger Matthews

Professor of Near Eastern Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 7564

r.j.matthews@reading.ac.uk

Dr Wendy Matthews

Associate Professor in Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 6788

w.matthews@reading.ac.uk

Professor Steven Mithen

Professor in Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 6442

s.j.mithen@reading.ac.uk

Dr Gundula Mueldner

Associate Professor in Bioarchaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 7389

g.h.mueldner@reading.ac.uk

Dr Aleks Pluskowski

Associate Professor in Medieval Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 5267

a.g.pluskowski@reading.ac.uk

Dr Andrew Souter  Teaching Fellow  + 44 (0)118 378 7364  a.p.souter@reading.ac.uk

Dr Gabor Thomas

Associate Professor in Early Medieval Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 5449

gabor.thomas@reading.ac.uk

Research and enterprise staff

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Dr Rowena Banerjea

QUEST

+ 44 (0)118 378 7877

r.y.banerjea@reading.ac.uk

Dr Robert Batchelor

QUEST Director

+44 (0) 118 378 8941

c.r.batchelor@reading.ac.uk

Dr Sasa Caval

Marie Curie Researcher

+44 (0)118 378 6197

 

Mrs Jenni Eaton

Research Assistant

+44 (0)118 378 6762

j.e.eaton@reading.ac.uk

Ms Elaine Jamieson

Research Assistant

e.d.jamieson@reading.ac.uk

Dr Nathalie Marini

QUEST Project Manager

+44 (0)118 378 8945

n.a.marini@reading.ac.uk

Dr Darko Maricevic Islay Heritage Director of Archaeology   nj813990@reading.ac.uk

Mr Nick Pankhurst

Research Assistant

+ 44 (0)118 378 7316

n.a.pankhurst@reading.ac.uk

Dr Amy Richardson Senior Research Fellow +44 (0)118 378 8747 a.l.richardson@reading.ac.uk

Dr Sam Walsh

Research Assistant in Human Osteoarchaeology

s.l.walsh@reading.ac.uk

Dr Philippa Walton Post-Doctoral Research Assistant on Piercebridge project   p.j.walton@reading.ac.uk 

Mr Dan Wheeler

Research Assistant

+ 44 (0)118 378 7316

d.r.wheeler@reading.ac.uk

Kevin Williams

QUEST

+44 (0) 118 378 8945

kevin.williams@reading.ac.uk

Daniel Young

QUEST Project Manager

+44 (0)118 378 7978

d.s.young@reading.ac.uk

Postgraduate Research Students

Name

Email

 Project

Judith Arnett

j.c.arnett@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Age estimation and secular change: Developing criteria to aid in the identification of the child victims of Colombia's internal armed conflict. 

Jennifer Austen

j.austen@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Cribra orbitalia, Cribra Humeralis and Cribra Femoralis: understanding their aetiology.
Lisa Backhouse l.backhouse@pgr.reading.ac.uk Changing Social Relations and the Making of an Early Medieval Kingdom: People and Pottery in Anglo-Saxon Kent AD 450-850.

Lindsay Banfield

l.banfield@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Making flour the German way: imported lava quern stones in Roman Britain.

Alborz Bathaei Bozchelouei

s.a.bathaeibozchelouei@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Sustainable construction: Enhancing strength, durability and sustainability of earth construction through interdisciplinary analysis of historic buildings and biomimicry.
Matthew Bosomworth m.bosomworth@pgr.reading.ac.uk Early to Mid Holocene climate and its impact on the development of the Neolithic in Iraq and Iran.
Florencia Botta f.n.botta@pgr.reading.ac.uk Was childhood health declining in the period leading to the Black Death?
Lydia Bowler l.a.bowler@pgr.reading.ac.uk A critical evaluation of the influence of environmental and geological factors on the Late Bronze Age collapse in the Eastern Mediterranean.

Li-Chi Chiang

l.chiang@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Taiwanese shouldered axe - its function, usage and chronology.
Donna de Groene d.a.j.degroene@pgr.reading.ac.uk Animal ecology and management during the transition from mobile hunting-gathering to sedentary agriculture in the Eastern Fertile Crescent.
Sarah Downum s.downum@pgr.reading.ac.uk Visual Culture and 'decoration' in Iron Age Britain: seeing beyond metal.
Kate Dudgeon k.dudgeon@pgr.reading.ac.uk Archival approaches to environment and lifeways: investigating plant-use at Neolithic Abu Hureyra, Syria, 8800 - 6000 cal. BC

Jessie Feito

j.n.feito@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Detecting Regional Variation in the Roman Diet. 
Paul Flintoft p.e.flintoft@pgr.reading.ac.uk Archaeological Palaeoenvironmental Archives: challenges and potential

John Ford

j.c.ford@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Ringing the changes: the social significance of finger-rings in Roman Britain. 

Lee Grana Nicolaou

l.a.grananicolaou@pgr.reading.ac.uk

An interdisciplinary approach to study of Roman fishing industry.
Alessandro Guaggenti a.guaggenti@pgr.reading.ac.uk Multi-scalar Analysis of Early Built Environments in the Eastern Fertile Crescent.
Josie Handley  j.n.handley@pgr.reading.ac.uk Testing the resilience of agricultural systems to human activities and climate change in the Peruvian Andes.
Matthew Jacobson m.j.jacobson2@pgr.reading.ac.uk Climate change and socio-economic transformations in the Late Antiquity of the Middle East.

Elaine Jamieson

elaine.jamieson@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Memory, Mobility and the Perception of Place: a view of elite landscapes in Medieval England. 

Sarah Jones

s.l.jones@pgr.reading.ac.uk

The impact of climate variability on Bronze Age and Iron Age societies in the Middle East. 
Alesia Koush a.koush@pgr.reading.ac.uk Human rights implications of illicit trafficking in archaeological heritage: the case study of Iraq.
Scott Midgley s.d.midgley@pgr.reading.ac.uk Trace-element incorporation into stalagmite calcite as a paleo-volcanic record: a chemical perspective.

Sophia Mills

s.h.mills@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Ageing and the Aged: The Social and Physical Implications of Senescence AD 900 - 1550.
Thomas Mills t.k.mills@pgr.reading.ac.uk 'Be Thou Dead to the World, but Alive Unto God': Defining the Diagnosis and Evolution of Leprosy Using the Evidence of Child and Adult Skeletal Remains.
Andrea Mobbs a.m.mobbs@pgr.reading.ac.uk Transitions to adulthood in Anglo Saxon England, 5th - 10th century AD: an osteological and stable isotopic investigation into the timing of puberty and the impact of dietary stress.

Sam Nicholson

s.l.nicholson@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Going global: Palaeoclimate of Arabia and Human Evolution. 
 Murat Ozturan  m.ozturan@pgr.reading.ac.uk Differences in Flaking Technologies and Volume Management in Large Cutting Tools and Core & Flake Assemblages in Britain and North-West Europe in MIS 11 and 9.
Maria Rabbani maria.rabbani@pgr.reading.ac.uk Investigating human-environmental relationships in the Zagros region during the Late Glacial, and Early to Mid-Holocene period.
Mubariz Rabbani mubariz.rabbani@pgr.reading.ac.uk Ancient Beads: Investigating Trade, Technology, Adornment and Identity at Barikot (~4th Century - ~3rd Century AD).
Andrew Reynolds  a.c.reynolds@pgr.reading.ac.uk Late Bronze Age and Iron Age hoards in Wales and Marches: An investigation into patterns of selective and reflective deposition.
Arica Roberts arica.roberts@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Gender & Religion in Early Medieval Wales: The Archaeology of Religious Transformation in Wales c. 400-1200 CE.

Rebecca Scott rebecca.scott@pgr.reading.ac.uk Fire in the Lower Palaeolithic: Absence of evidence or evidence of absence?

Charlotte Scull

c.j.a.scull@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Foodways of religious women in Anglo-Saxon and Medieval England. 

Elspeth St John Brooks

e.s.john-brooks@pgr.reading.ac.uk Developing new approaches to human mobility and activity areas using geochemical patterns at British archaeological sites. 

Lise Tjellesen

l.w.tjellesen@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Decoding forgotten acoustic knowledge of Ancient Civilizations: sacred structures, symbolism and sound - the effect on mind and body. 
Krystyna Truscoe krystyna.truscoe@pgr.reading.ac.uk Late Iron Age territorial oppida in Southern Britain: a reinterpretation using new data collected from aerial photographs and lidar.
Adam Turner a.n.turner@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Mesolithic Artefacts and Use Wear in Wetlands.

Katy Whitaker

k.a.whitaker@pgr.reading.ac.uk

The role of sarsen stone in southern Britain. An archaeological and ethno-historical approach to an ancient industry.

Beatrice Widell

b.widell@pgr.reading.ac.uk

A Crimson Horizon - The Religious Landscapes of Warfare in Northern Britain, c.1050-1500.

 Deborah Young  d.j.young@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Material culture deposition at Early Neolithic burial monuments: understanding the earliest grave goods in Britain.

Emeritus, Honorary and Visiting Staff

Name

Position

Email

Professor John Allen

Emeritus Professor

j.r.l.allen@reading.ac.uk

Professor Grenville Astill Emeritus Professor g.g.astill@reading.ac.uk

Professor Richard Bradley

Emeritus Professor

r.j.bradley@reading.ac.uk

Professor Bob Chapman

Emeritus Professor

r.w.chapman@reading.ac.uk

Professor Clive McCann Emeritus Professor  

Professor Bill Finlayson 

Visiting Professor director@cbrl.org.uk
Dr Catherine Barnett Senior Visiting Research Fellow  
Dr Alex Smith Senior Visiting Research Fellow  

Dr Alex Brown

Visiting Research Fellow

alex.brown@reading.ac.uk

Dr Matt Canti

Visiting Research Fellow

m.g.canti@reading.ac.uk

Dr Sam Cook

Visiting Research Fellow

Dr Petra Dark

Visiting Research Fellow

s.p.dark@reading.ac.uk

Professor Dominik Fleitmann Professor of Palaeoclimate and Archaeology  d.fleitmann@reading.ac.uk
Dr Pascal Flohr Visiting Research Fellow  

Dr Jennifer Foster

Visiting Research Fellow

j.a.a.foster@reading.ac.uk

Dr Delphine Fremondeau Visiting Research Fellow   
Dr Aroa Garcia-Suarez Visiting Research Fellow  

Dr Chris Green

Visiting Research Fellow/QUEST

Dr Heinrich Härke

Visiting Research Fellow

h.g.h.harke@reading.ac.uk

Dr Kevin Hayward Visiting Research Fellow K.Hayward@reading.ac.uk

Mr Neil Holbrook

Visiting Research Fellow

Professor Michael Lewis Visiting Professor  mlewis@britishmuseum.org
Dr Lisa Lodwick Visiting Research Fellow  

Dr Louise Loe

Visiting Research Fellow

 Dr Sara Machin  Visiting Research Fellow  s.l.machin@reading.ac.uk

Dr David Mudd

Visiting Research Fellow

david.mudd@reading.ac.uk

Dr Anne Pirie

Visiting Research Fellow

Dr Marta Portillo Ramirez Visiting Research Fellow  

Dr Barney Sloane

Visiting Research Fellow

barney.sloane@english-heritage.org.uk

Dr Tom Walker

Visiting Research Fellow

Dr Phillipa Walton

Visiting Research Fellow

Philippa.Walton@reading.ac.uk

Dr Peter Warry

Visiting Research Fellow

 

We use Javascript to improve your experience on reading.ac.uk, but it looks like yours is turned off. Everything will still work, but it is even more beautiful with Javascript in action. Find out more about why and how to turn it back on here.
We also use cookies to improve your time on the site, for more information please see our cookie policy.

Back to top