University of Reading cookie policy

We use cookies on to improve your experience, monitor site performance and tailor content to you

Read our cookie policy to find out how to manage your cookie settings

The School of Mathematical, Physical and Computational Sciences (SMPCS) is home to three Departments within the University of Reading – Mathematics and Statistics, Meteorology, and Computer Science.

This coming together of three disciplines makes us one of the largest and most successful clusters of mathematical and computational sciences departments in the UK. We are home to more than 300 staff: including over 90 core academic staff and over 100 research staff; and more than 1000 students across our undergraduate, master's and PhD programmes. 


We are well known as a globally-important centre for research in weather and climate, and have world-leading research strengths across all of our disciplines. We have annual research income in excess of £12 million and active partnerships with organisations such as the Met Office, ECMWF, Imperial College and the NERC national centres for Atmospheric Science and Earth Observation.

We are home to the Walker Institute, the University of Reading’s interdisciplinary climate research institute. It is one of eight regional hubs around the world that has been appointed by the World Climate Research Programme to work on its “My Climate Risk” activities.” Join the Institute's interdisciplinary community by emailing, and find out more about our interdisciplinary training arm, the Walker Academy.

Overseas travel - information for staff and students

Teaching and learning

We are proud of our record in teaching and learning across our undergraduate, master's and PhD programmes, delivering challenging, rewarding, relevant and attractive programmes of study in a supportive environment. We have a clear focus on student achievement and employability, we embrace new modes of delivery and seek to provide the best approaches to enhancing our students' experiences. This is underpinned by a firm commitment to valuing, supporting and developing all staff engaged in teaching and learning.

School Executive Board

Head of School: Professor Andrew Charlton-Perez

School Director of Teaching and Learning: Dr Calvin J Smith

School Director of Academic Tutoring: Dr Nikos Katzourakis

School Director of Wellbeing, Inclusion, Diversity and Equality: Dr Fazil Baksh

School Executive Administration Manager: Sukhi Sanghera

Head of the Department of Mathematics and Statistics: Professor Jani Virtanen

Head of the Department of Meteorology (Academic Staff and External Affairs): Professor David Brayshaw

Head of the Department of Meteorology (Finance and Support Staff): Professor Joy Singarayer

Meteorology, NCAS: Professor Len Shaffrey

Head of the Department of Computer Science: Professor Shuang-Hua Yang

Director of the Walker Institute: Professor Rosalind Cornforth

RDL 2023: Professor Emily Black

Human Resources Partner: Rachel Thorns

Finance Business Partner: Anne-Marie West

Executive Support Office to HoS (Secretary): Debbie Turner

Terms of Reference

• To discuss key issues, short-term or strategic, of broad relevance to the School

• To discuss and agree policy at a School level

• To provide a forum for discussion of School plans, including rolling School operating plans

• To provide advice and feedback to the Head of School, including advice and feedback in relation to interactions with University Senior management and externally

• To provide a forum to encourage and enable communication across the School, to encourage joined-up working, and to encourage a wider appreciation of issues, goals, and activities across the components of the School.

Department of Mathematics and Statistics

Develop your mathematics knowledge, pursue your interests and gain vital skills for your future career with our varied and challenging degrees.

Department of Meteorology

Develop and apply your mathematical and scientific skills to environmental issues of global importance. You'll learn from internationally renowned staff with a wide variety of expertise.

Department of Computer Science

Study computer science at Reading for the chance to connect with top technology companies and enhance your employability.

Wellbeing, equality and diversity

We strive to cultivate an open, interactive and friendly working environment. We are delighted to have been recognised with an Athena SWAN Silver award for our commitment to proactive gender-neutral employment practice, and ensure we have strong support for those with disabilities and flexible working arrangements throughout our departments.

Managing stress

In SMPCS we are committed to protecting the health, safety and welfare of our employees. We recognise that workplace stress is a health and safety issue and acknowledge the importance of identifying and reducing workplace stress.

Work with us

See current job opportunities at the University of Reading.