University of Reading cookie policy

We use cookies on reading.ac.uk to improve your experience, monitor site performance and tailor content to you

Read our cookie policy to find out how to manage your cookie settings

Key contacts

Name Position Telephone Email
Professor Daniela La Penna  Head of Department +44 (0) 118 3786502  d.lapenna@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Chiara Cirillo  Director of the Institution-Wide Language Programme   +44 (0) 118 378 8885  c.cirillo@reading.ac.uk  
Dr Sophie Heywood  Departmental Director of Admissions  +44(0) 118 378 7322 s.l.heywood@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Catriona McAllister Departmental Director of Teaching and Learning  +44(0) 118 378 8331  c.mcallister@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Melani Schroeter  Director of Postgraduate Research and Admissions  +44 (0)118 378 6384  m.schroeter@reading.ac.uk 
Rachel Wood  IWLP Programme Administrator  +44 (0) 118 378 7318  r.m.wood@reading.ac.uk 
Sarah Lodge  Year Abroad Administrator  +44 (0) 118 378 6551  s.e.lodge@reading.ac.uk 

 

Academic staff

Name Position Telephone Email
Dott. Rita Balestrini
Lecturer, Italian
+44 (0)118 378 6280
r.balestrini@reading.ac.uk 
Celine Biart  Lecturer, French
+44 (0)118 378 3731  c.biart@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Alice Christensen  Lecturer, German
+44 (0)118 3783641  a.r.christensen@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Chiara Ciarlo  Lecturer, Italian
+44(0)118 378 6980
c.ciarlo@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Chiara Cirillo  Director of the Institution-Wide Language Programme (IWLP)  +44 118 378 8885 c.cirillo@reading.ac.uk 
Angela Mira Conejero  Lecturer, Spanish  +44(0)118 378 3695
a.miraconejero@reading.ac.uk 
Virginia Dimitroff  Lecturer, Spanish
+44 (0)118 378 3198 v.g.dimitroff@reading.ac.uk 
Professor Timothy Duff  Professor, Greek  +44 (0)118 3787938  t.e.duff@reading.ac.uk 
Ilan Dwek
Lecturer, British Sign Language   NA i.g.dwek@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Cherilyn Elston  Lecturer, Latin American Cultural Studies +44 (0) 118 3787325  c.elston@reading.ac.uk 
Professor Federico Faloppa
Professor, Italian
+44 (0) 118 3786503  f.faloppa@reading.ac.uk
Oscar Garcia Garcia  Lecturer, Spanish +44 (0) 118 378 7650  o.garciagarcia@reading.ac.uk
Dr Marjorie Gehrhardt
Associate Professor, French  +44(0) 118 378 8120 m.i.s.gehrhardt@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Camila Gonzalez Ortiz  Lecturer, Latin American Studies
+44(0) 118 378 3642
c.y.gonzalezortiz@reading.ac.uk
Souheila Haimiche
Associate Lecturer, French
  s.haimiche@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Veronica Heath Lecturer, French
+44 (0) 118 3788332  v.heath@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Sophie Heywood

Departmental Director of Admissions

Associate Professor, French

+44(0) 118 378 7322
s.l.heywood@reading.ac.uk 
Wendy Hillier
Lecturer, German +44 (0)118 378 5043  w.l.hillier@reading.ac.uk
Kazumi Hiramatsu-Kidd
Lecturer, Japanese
+44(0) 118 378 6425
k.hiramatsu-kidd@reading.ac.uk
Dr Maria Laura Iasci Lettrice di ruolo, Italian Studies  +44(0) 118 378 4624 m.iasci@reading.ac.uk
M.A. Regine Klimpfinger
Lecturer, German +44 (0) 118 3787946  r.klimpfinger@reading.ac.uk 
Professor Daniela La Penna 

Head of Department

Professor, Italian

+44 (0) 118 3786502
d.lapenna@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Younis Lahwej
Lecturer, Arabic              +44 (0) 118378 8125  y.a.lahwej@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Denisse Lazo Gonzalez
Lecturer, Spanish  +44 (0) 118378 3197  d.lazo-gonzalez@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Athena S. Leoussi
Associate Professor +44 (0) 118 3786083
a.s.leoussi@reading.ac.uk 
Cong Xia Li  Lecturer, Chinese
+44 (0) 118 378 6295  congxia.li@reading.ac.uk
Mr Raúl Marchena Magadán Lecturer, Spanish  +44 (0) 118 3786364  r.marchenamagadan@reading.ac.uk 
Ugo Marsili
Lecturer, Italian and Spanish  +44 (0) 118 3787319  u.marsili@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Catriona McAllister

Departmental Director of Teaching and Learning

Lecturer, Latin American Cultural Studies

+44(0) 118 378 8331
c.mcallister@reading.ac.uk
Robert McCluskey  Lecturer, British Sign Language   NA r.j.mccluskey@reading.ac.uk
Dr John McKeane
Lecturer, French
+44 (0) 118 3787320  j.mckeane@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Nigora Nasirova  Teaching Fellow, Russian
+44 (0)118 378 3206
n.nasirova@reading.ac.uk 
Anne Nobio Lecturer, French
+44 (0)118 378 5276  a.nobio@reading.ac.uk
Dr Marine Orain  Lecturer, French
+44(0) 118 378 7952
m.orain@reading.ac.uk
Asako Partington  Lecturer, Japanese  +44 (0)118 378 3201  a.partington@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Lidija Pasuljevic Shimwell  Lecturer, French  +44 (0)118 378 8125  l.pasuljevicshimwell@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Sophie Payne  Lecturer, German  +44 (0)118 378 3203  s.l.payne@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Ellen Pilsworth  Lecturer, German +44(0) 118 378 8126  e.m.pilsworth@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Claire A. Ross  Lecturer, German  +44 (0) 118 378 3205  c.a.ross@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Melani Schroeter  Associate Professor, German  +44 (0)118 378 6384 m.schroeter@reading.ac.uk 
Dott. Enza Siciliano Verruccio  Associate Professor, Italian  +44 (0) 118 3785242  e.sicilianoverruccio@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Marta Simó Comas  Lecturer, Spanish  +44 (0) 118 3788404 

m.simo-comas@reading.ac.uk

Dr Fabio Simonetti  Associate Lecturer, Italian  +44 (0) 118 3784187  fabio.simonetti@reading.ac.uk 
Suzanne Smith  Lecturer, British Sign Language   NA suzanne.smith@reading.ac.uk 
Yuko Tochii  Lecturer, Japanese  +44 (0) 118 3783199  y.tochii@reading.ac.uk 
Orane Touzet Associate Lecturer, French  TBC o.touzet@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Dimitra Tzanidaki-Kreps  Lecturer, Classics and Modern Greek  +44 (0)118 3788420  d.tzanidaki-kreps@reading.ac.uk 
Professor Julia Waters  Professor, French  +44 (0) 118 3787305  j.waters@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Ute Wolfel  Associate Professor, German  +44 (0) 118 3788422  u.wolfel@reading.ac.uk 

Emeritus professors

Name Position Email
Emeritus Professor Andrew Knapp   Emeritus Professor, European Studies
a.f.knapp@reading.ac.uk 
Emeritus Professor James Knowlson Emeritus Professor, French Studies

j.r.knowlson@reading.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor Françoise Le Saux

Emeritus Professor, French Studies 

f.h.m.le-saux@reading.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor Giulio C Lepschy Emeritus Professor, Italian Studies 
Emeritus Professor David Robey  Emeritus Professor, Italian Studies   d.j.b.robey@reading.ac.uk
Emeritus Professor John Sandford  Emeritus Professor, German Studies  j.e.sandford@reading.ac.uk 
Emeritus Professor Hugo Tucker  Emeritus Professor, French Studies (Established Chair) g.h.tucker@reading.ac.uk 

Visiting research staff

Name Position
Professor Zygmunt BaraƄski
Visiting Research Professor in Dante Studies
Professor Özlem Berk Albachten
Visiting Research Fellow in Turkish and Translation Studies
Dr Gianfranco Conti  Visiting Research Fellow in Language Pedagogy 
Professor Catherine Léglu  Visiting Research Professor in French Medieval Studies 
Dr Charles L. Leavitt IV  Visiting Research Fellow in Italian Studies 
Professor Alison E. Martin  Visiting Research Fellow in German and Translation Studies 
Dr Paola Nasti Visiting Research Fellow in Dante Studies 
Dr Nina Rolland Visiting Research Fellow in French Studies
Dr Shirley Vinall Visiting Research Fellow in Italian Studies