University of Reading cookie policy

We use cookies on reading.ac.uk to improve your experience, monitor site performance and tailor content to you

Read our cookie policy to find out how to manage your cookie settings

 

 

Senior leadership team

Name Leadership role Email

Carmel Houston-Price

Head of School hos-pcls@reading.ac.uk
Ingo Bojak Deputy Head of School i.bojak@reading.ac.uk
Rachel Pye Head of Psychology, University of Reading Malaysia rachel.pye@reading.edu.my
Alana James School Director of Teaching and Learning; School Director of Academic Tutoring  a.i.james@reading.ac.uk
Beth Law School Director of Teaching and Learning b.d.law@reading.ac.uk
Carien van Reekum Research Division Lead c.vanreekum@reading.ac.uk 
Claire Williams Research Division Lead claire.williams@reading.ac.uk
Katie Gray Director of Recruitment and Admissions  k.l.h.gray@reading.ac.uk
Barbara Evetts Director of Clinical Governance and Partnerships b.j.evetts@reading.ac.uk 
Gail Gilbert  Executive Admin Manager g.gilbert@reading.ac.uk

Psychology academic staff

Name Position Areas of expertise
Samrah Ahmed Lecturer   
Aman Asif-Malik  Lecturer in Psychology
Arlene Astell Professor in Neurodegenerative Disease   
Katie Barfoot  Lecturer in Cognitive Psychology Nutritional Psychology, cognition and mood, maternal mental health.
Philip Beaman
Professor of Experimental Psychology  Cognitive science, auditory cognition, human factors, working memory 
Lynne Bell  Teaching Fellow   
Ingo Bojak Professor  Computational neuroscience, data analysis and method development, neuroimaging, computational psychology  
Amanda Branson
Associate Professor Teaching and learning pedagogy, development of employability skills 
 Richard Carciofo   Foundation Lecturer in Psychology  
Bhismadev Chakrabarti
Professor in Neuroscience and Mental Health Empathy, autism, individual differences, mobile health technologies, social neuroscience 
 Stella Chan  Charlie Waller Chair in Evidence-Based Psychological Treatments  
Anastasia Christakou
Professor  Psychopathology and emotional disorders, affective neuroscience, personalised nutrition, motivation and behaviour change, perception and action, cognitive control, language and bilingualism 
 Zola Dean Lecturer in Individual Differences   
Judi Ellis Professor of Psychology   
Eva Feredoes Lecturer Human working memory, transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS), concurrent TMS-fMRI
David Field
Associate Professor  Basis of visual perception in the brain, influence of dietary factors on the brain and behaviour
Katherine Finlay Lecturer   
Jayne Freeman  Lecturer  Cognition and ageing, intention and action memory
Andrew Glennerster Professor of Visual Neuroscience  Perception and action, 3D vision 
Katie Gray
Associate Professor Visual perception, including faces, facial expressions, attention, awareness 
Anthony Haffey  Lecturer in Psychology
Kate Harvey Professor of Health Psychology Children's eating, family mealtimes, food insecurity, child and adolescent mental health 
Jonathan Hill Professor of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry   
Aileen Ho Professor Mental health in young and older adults: psychological intervention, cognitive training, functional rehabilitation and health-related quality of life in neurodegenarative disorders 
Juliane Honisch  Lecturer Affective neuroscience, perception and action
Carmel Houston-Price Professor of Language & Cognitive Development Language acquisition, especially vocabulary development; learning and the formation of preferences in childhood, especially food preferences
Alana James  Associate Professor Psychopathology and emotional disorders, educational psychology 
Paul Jenkins  Associate Professor Eating disorders, severe mental health, cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT)
Dan Jones  Lecturer Physiological illness and cognition, psychological wellbeing of clinical patients, neuropsychology, pedagogy in higher education 

Fiona Knott

Associate Professor Autism spectrum disorders, neurodevelopmental disabilities, including mental health, attitudes, employability 
Daniel Lamport
Associate Professor in Biological Psychology Nutritional neuroscience and metabolic influences on cognition 
Allán Laville  Associate Professor, Dean for Diversity and Inclusion  Diversity and inclusion
Beth Law  Associate Professor  
Fang Liu  Associate Professor Music, language, pitch, perception, production, autism, amusia, cognitive neuroscience 
 Davina Ledermann    Teaching Fellow  
Lorella Lepore  Lecturer  Automatic processes in stereotyping and prejudice, intergroup relations, social-psychological implications of Brexit and COVID-19 
Catherine Manning Lecturer Developmental psychology, autism, visual perception and development.
 Natalie Masento   Teaching Fellow  
Ciara McCabe  Professor Adolescent depression and anhedonia research using behavioural and neural measures
Rachel McCloy  Associate Professor Applied behavioural science, judgement and decision making 
Eugene McSorley  Associate Professor Perception and action 
Kou Murayama  Professor
Emma Pape  Lecturer in Social Psychology Intergroup relations and prejudice, prejudice reduction, imagery, imagined contact, media effect 
Rachel Pye  Associate Professor Reading development and dyslexia, including in multilingual populations
 Jessica Rae Lecturer in Social Psychology   
Patricia Riddell  Professor of Applied Neuroscience  
Etienne Roesch  Associate Professor Perception, attention, consciousness, emotion, Bayesian statistical methods, machine learning 
Peter Scarfe  Associate Professor Virtual reality, haptics robotics, perception and motor control, computational modelling 
Victoria Simcock  Lecturer in Psychology  
Sarah Snuggs  Lecturer in Psychology  
Teresa Tavassoli  Associate Professor Autism, sensory perception, developmental psychology 
Thalia Theodoraki  Lecturer in Developmental Psychology
Hannah Thompson
Lecturer in Cognitive Psychology Stroke, Executive Function, Memory and Neuropsychology
Carien Van Reekum  Professor of Psychology and Neuroscience  Emotion regulation, affective neuroscience, emotional disposition and wellbeing, emotion across the lifespan  
Julia Vogt  Associate Professor Self-regulation, motivation, emotion, emotion regulation, attention, social cognition, social psychology, health-related behaviours, prosocial behaviour, self-control 
Polly Waite
Associate Professor  Understanding and treatment of adolescent anxiety disorders 
 Netta Weinstein  Associate Professor Human motivation, wellbeing, prejudice & stigma, close relationships, emotion regulation, technology use, mental health, listening
Claire Williams Professor  Cannabinoids and behaviour, nutrition and cognition, epilepsy, reward, appetite, flavonoids
 Lydia Yee Lecturer in Biological Psychology   
Yue Yue  Foundation Lecturer in Psychology  

Clinical Language Sciences academic staff  

Name Position Areas of expertise
Fiona Baillie Lecturer in Speech & Language Therapy
Allie Biddle Lecturer in Speech & Language Therapy
Arpita Bose Associate Professor
Ian Cunnings Associate Professor in Psycholinguistics Psycholinguistics, multilingualism
Nika Dehghan Lecturer in Speech & Language Therapy
Carol Fairfield Associate Professor
Sara Fincham-Majumdar Lecturer in Speech & Language Therapy
Daniel Fryer Lecturer in Clinical Language Sciences
Melissa Loucas Lecturer in Speech & Language Therapy
Tom Loucas Associate Professor Early intervention for children with autism spectrum disorder, language and cognition in autism
Theo Marinis Professor of Multilingualism & Language Development Multilingualism, psycholinguistics, language impairment, morpho-syntax
Helen Marlow Lecturer in Speech & Language Therapy
Fatemeh Mollaei Lecturer in Acquired Disorders of Language/Communication   
Catherine Munro Lecturer in Speech & Language Therapy
Vishnu Nair Lecturer in Acquired Disorders of Language/Communication
 
Afshan O'Sullivan Lecturer in Speech & Language Therapy
Emma Pagnamenta Lecturer Developmental speech and language disorders, evidence-based practice, effectiveness of speech and language interventions
George Pontikas Lecturer in Clinical Language Sciences
Christos Pliatsikas Associate Professor Cognitive control, language and bilingualism, experience-based neuroplasticity
Katherine Pritchard Lecturer in Speech & Language Therapy
Theodora Read Lecturer in Speech & Language Therapy
Doug Saddy Professor Computational models of language processes, cognitive dynamics and control, language and bilingualism, clinical language sciences, artificial grammar learning
Ludovica Serratrice Professor of Bi-Multilingualism
Mirjana Sokolovic-Perovic Lecturer in Clinical Language Sciences
Vesna Stojanovik Professor Language in genetic disorders, language acquisition
David Ward Associate Professor Phonetic, linguistic, neurological and psychological underpinnings of developmental and acquired stammering (stuttering) and cluttering, management of stammering and cluttering through the lifespan

Charlie Waller Institute staff

Name Email
Fisayo Adunola Clinical Teaching Fellow
Faaizah Ahmed faaizah.ahmed@reading.ac.uk 
Phillippa Burton  phillippa.burton@reading.ac.uk 
Stella Chan Charlie Waller Chair in Evidence-Based Psychological Treatments 
 Ting Chiu  
Emma-Jayne Conway Lecturer in Clinical Psychology
Elizabeth Elliott  Lecturer in Clinical Psychology
Barbara Evetts  b.j.evetts@reading.ac.uk 
Lindsay George  l.george@reading.ac.uk 
Katharine Hindley  Lecturer in Clinical Psychology
Sue Howson  Lecturer in Clinical Psychology
James Kachellek Lecturer in Clinical Psychology
Jeevan Kang  j.k.kang@reading.ac.uk 
Michelle Lee  m.j.lee@reading.ac.uk 
Julia Limper-Menapace Clinical Teaching Fellow 
Hayley Marwood  h.marwood@reading.ac.uk 
Anjali Mehta  Lecturer in Clinical Psychology
Emily Nobes e.s.nobes@reading.ac.uk 
Nakita Oldacre Clinical Teaching Fellow
Sarah Roots  Clinical Teaching Fellow
Elliott Rose  Lecturer in Clinical Psychology
 Mallika Sharma  
Melissa Snaith m.h.snaith@reading.ac.uk 
Katy Snitter  k.s.snitter@reading.ac.uk 
Eleanor Vialls 

Lecturer in Clinical Psychology

Craig Ward  craig.ward@reading.ac.uk 
Charlene Wattley c.z.wattley@reading.ac.uk 
Hannah Vickery h.l.vickery@reading.ac.uk
Alison Wheeler Lecturer in Clinical Psychology
 Tamara Wiehe  Lecturer in Clinical Psychology
Claire Willis claire.willis@reading.ac.uk

Research staff

Name  Position Email 
Elena Anderloni  Honorary Researcher  e.anderloni@reading.ac.uk 
Kirsten Bailkoski  Research and Administration Assistant  k.bailkoski@reading.ac.uk 
Anamaria Bentea Honorary Researcher  a.bentea@reading.ac.uk 
Emily Breese Postdoctoral Research Assistant e.l.breese@reading.ac.uk
Raluca Briazu  Teaching Fellow r.briazu@reading.ac.uk 
Nichaela Broyden  Honorary Research Assistant  nichaela.broyden@reading.ac.uk 
Laura Burgess  Postdoctoral Research Fellow  laura.burgess@reading.ac.uk
Chloe Chessell  Honorary Researcher  chloe.chessell@reading.ac.uk 
Kirsten Corden  Research Assistant  k.corden@reading.ac.uk 
Emmanuel Daveau  Research Assistant  e.daveau@reading.ac.uk 
Joshua Denness  Research Associate  j.denness@reading.ac.uk 
Georgina Dodd  Postdoctoral Research Assistant  g.dodd@reading.ac.uk 
Ed Donnellan  Postdoctoral Research Assistant in Education and Data Science  e.a.donnellan@reading.ac.uk 
Evelyn Egger  Research Assistant  e.egger@reading.ac.uk 
Valentina Fanti  Honorary Research Associate  v.fanti@reading.ac.uk 
Katy Figus  Clinical Psychologist  k.figus@reading.ac.uk 
Lily Fitzgibbon  Postdoctoral Research Fellow  l.t.fitzgibbon@reading.ac.uk 
Kathryn Francis  Postdoctoral Research Fellow  kathryn.francis@reading.ac.uk 
Hiroki Fujita  Postdoctoral Research Assistant  h.fujita@pgr.reading.ac.uk 
Wiebke Gandhi  Postdoctoral Research Assistant  w.gandhi@reading.ac.uk 
Stuart Gilson  Research Assistant  s.j.gilson@reading.ac.uk 
Sarah Glyn  Research Assistant  s.glyn@pgr.reading.ac.uk 
Luise Gootjes-Dreesbach  Postdoctoral Research Assistant  dreesbach@reading.ac.uk 
Brynjar Halldorsson  Honorary Researcher  b.halldorsson@reading.ac.uk 
Rich Harrison Postdoctoral Research Assistant  rich.harrison@reading.ac.uk 
Nicholas Hedger  Postdoctoral Research Assistant  n.hedger@reading.ac.uk 
Susannah Hermaszewska  NIHR Pre-Doctoral Fellow  s.l.hermaszewska@reading.ac.uk 
Claire Hill  Clinical Psychologist, Postdoctoral Research Fellow  claire.hill@reading.ac.uk 
Johnny King-lam Lau  Postdoctoral Research Fellow  johnny.lau@reading.ac.uk 
Melissa Knight  Paediatric Speech and Language Therapist and Researcher  m.knight2@reading.ac.uk 
Vanessa Kurdi  Postdoctoral Research Fellow  v.kurdi@reading.ac.uk 
Pete Lawrence  Research Training Fellow  p.j.p.lawrence@reading.ac.uk 
Ying Lee Postdoctoral Research Fellow  ying.lee@reading.ac.uk 
Zoe Maiden  Honorary Clinical Psychology - Placement Student  z.maiden@reading.ac.uk 
Natalie Masento  Senior Research Fellow  n.a.masento@reading.ac.uk
Carolyn McNabb  Postdoctoral Research Fellow  c.b.mcnabb@reading.ac.uk 
Stefanie Meliss  Research Assistant  s.meliss@reading.ac.uk 
Ronan Miller  Postdoctoral Research Assistant  r.l.miller@reading.ac.uk
Jayne Morriss  Senior Postdoctoral Research Fellow  j.e.morriss@reading.ac.uk 
Daisuke Nakanaishi  Honorary Research Fellow  d.nakanaishi@reading.ac.uk 
Rachel Nesbit  Postdoctoral Research Fellow  r.j.nesbit@reading.ac.uk 
Rui Nouchi  Honorary Researcher  r.nouchi@reading.ac.uk 
Jia Hoong Ong  Marie Curie Fellow  jiahoong.ong@reading.ac.uk 
Monika Parkinson  Research Fellow  m.b.parkinson@reading.ac.uk 
Abhijeet Patra  Research Assistant  a.patr@reading.ac.uk 
Marta Puertollano  Honorary Researcher  m.puertollano@reading.ac.uk 
Jasmine Raw  Research Assistant  j.raw@reading.ac.uk 
Teresa Reardon
Honorary Researcher  t.reardon@reading.ac.uk 
Stella Rendall Postdoctoral Research Fellow  s.rendall@pgr.reading.ac.uk 
Gabriella Rossetti  Postdoctoral Research Fellow g.m.rossetti@reading.ac.uk
Francesco Saldarini  Research Assistant  f.saldarini3@reading.ac.uk 
Sarah Sampson  Research Assistant  s.l.sampson@reading.ac.uk 
Julie Skevik  Postdoctoral Research Assistant (RAIN Project)  julie.skevik@reading.ac.uk 
Aamir Sohail Research Assistant  a.sohail@reading.ac.uk
Aikaterini Spanou  Research Assistant  aikaternin.spanou@pgr.reading.ac.uk 
Maria-Elena Stefanou  Postdoctoral Research Fellow  m.e.stefanou@reading.ac.uk 
Nick Thompson  Postdoctoral Research Assistant  n.m.thompson@pgr.reading.ac.uk 
Raul Ungureanu  Research Assistant  r.r.ungureanu@reading.ac.uk 
Andreja Varjacic  Research Assistant  a.varjacic@pgr.reading.ac.uk 
Shannon Wake  Postdoctoral Research Fellow  shannon.wake@reading.ac.uk 
Elin Harding Williams  Postdoctoral Research Fellow  e.h.williams@reading.ac.uk 
Chen Zhao  Postdoctoral Research Assistant  c.zhao5@reading.ac.uk 

Emeritus/visiting professors

Name Position Email
Ellen Bialystok  Albert Wolters Distinguished Visiting Professor 2015   
Sonia Bishop  Visiting Professor   
Laurie Butler  Visiting Professor  l.t.butler@reading.ac.uk 
 Helen Dodd Visiting Professor   
Noam Chomsky  Albert Wolters Distinguished Visiting Professor 2017   
Peter Cooper

Emeritus Professor 

p.j.cooper@reading.ac.uk
Cathy Creswell  Visiting Professor  c.s.creswell@reading.ac.uk 
Daniel Dennett  Albert Wolters Distinguished Visiting Professor 2019   
Susan Edwards Emeritus Professor  s.i.edwards@reading.ac.uk
Tim Gill Visiting Research Fellow  
John Harris
Emeritus Professor  j.p.harris@reading.ac.uk
 Anna Horwood  Emeritus Professor  
Atul Kapila  Visiting Professor   
Mark Little  Visiting Professor   
Elizabeth Loftus  Albert Wolters Distinguished Visiting Professor 2018   
Frank McKenna 

Emeritus Professor

f.p.mckenna@reading.ac.uk 
Lotte Meteyard  Visiting Fellow  l.meteyard@reading.ac.uk 
Lynne Murray  Emeritus Professor lynne.murray@reading.ac.uk 
Laura Pass  Visiting Research Fellow  l.s.pass@reading.ac.uk 
Steven Pinker  Albert Wolters Distinguished Visiting Professor 2016  
Shirley Reynolds  Visiting Professor  s.a.reynolds@reading.ac.uk 
Michiko Sakaki 
Senior Visiting Research Fellow  m.sakaki@reading.ac.uk 
Tim Salomons  Senior Visiting Research Fellow  
 Graham Schafer Emeritus Fellow
 
Craig Steel  Visiting Professor  craig.steel@reading.ac.uk 
Yvonne Taylor  Visiting Professor   
David Warburton  Emeritus Professor  d.m.warburton@reading.ac.uk 
Tim Williams Senior Visiting Research Fellow  timothy.williams@reading.ac.uk 
Lucy Willetts  Visiting Professor   

Professional, administrative and technical support

Name Position Email
Sherifah Al-Katib  Placement Administrator - Speech & Language Therapy sherifah.al-katib@reading.ac.uk 
Melina Aston  Postgraduate Research Administrator m.aston@reading.ac.uk
Nicolo Biagi  Research Technician  n.biagi@pgr.reading.ac.uk  
Daniel Brady  Research Technician  d.brady@reading.ac.uk  
Lizzie Cairns  Student Support Coordinator - Support Centre l.cairns@reading.ac.uk 
Nic Davie  Executive Support Administrator - Centre for Autism nic.davie@reading.ac.uk 
Rachel Davies Research Technician  rachel.davies@reading.ac.uk 
Megha Dewli  School Global Recruitment Officer m.dewli@reading.ac.uk
Imogen Ducker Clinical Research Technician imogen.ducker@reading.ac.uk 
Louise Forrest  Executive Administration Officer - Student Experience l.a.forrest@reading.ac.uk 
Gail Gilbert  Executive Admin Manager g.gilbert@reading.ac.uk 
Carol Griggs  Executive Administration Officer - Student Experience / Executive Support Administrator - CWI c.j.griggs@reading.ac.uk
Gemma Knight Building Support Officer g.j.knight@reading.ac.uk
Julie Hankinson  Placement Administrator - Speech & Language Therapy j.hankinson@reading.ac.uk
Paul Heaton Specialist Teaching and Research Support Analyst p.m.heaton@reading.ac.uk 
Robin Hunter  Health & Safety Co-ordinator (SPCLS/APD)  r.d.hunter@reading.ac.uk 
Amy Lomas AnDY Clinic Manager a.r.lomas@reading.ac.uk
Emma Marshall  Receptionist emma.marshall@reading.ac.uk 
Ruth McAdam Executive Support Administrator r.c.mcadam@reading.ac.uk
Lee McDermott  Executive Administration Officer - Data Manager / Research  l.mcdermott@reading.ac.uk 
Eadaoin Connolly  Placement Coordinator - Undergraduate Psychology Programmes  e.connolly@reading.ac.uk
Raj Parmar  Executive Administration Officer - Recruitment & Admissions  r.parmar@reading.ac.uk
Emily Parsons  Programme Manager - Support Centre e.l.parsons@reading.ac.uk
Ray Percy  AnDY Clinic Director r.s.percy@reading.ac.uk
Rachel Sanders  Executive Support Administrator r.sanders2@reading.ac.uk
Shan Shen  MRI Operations Office  shan.shen@reading.ac.uk 
Jaswant Sidhu  Executive Administration Officer - Finance jaswant.sidhu@reading.ac.uk
Lucy Taylor  Trial Manager l.a.taylor@reading.ac.uk 
Holly Tricker  Clinical Research Technician  h.a.tricker@reading.ac.uk 
Kelly Watcham  Senior Programme Administrator - Support Centre  k.e.watcham@reading.ac.uk 
Liz White  Executive Support Administrator - Clinical e.m.white@reading.ac.uk 
Athena SWAN Silver Award