University of Reading cookie policy

We use cookies on reading.ac.uk to improve your experience, monitor site performance and tailor content to you

Read our cookie policy to find out how to manage your cookie settings

Academic staff

Name Position Telephone Email
Dr Yaw Adjei-Amoako Lecturer in Human Geography +44 (0)118 378 3263 yaw.adjei-amoako@reading.ac.uk
Dr Stuart Black

Associate Professor in Environmental Radioactivity

School Director of Laboratories and Field Equipment

+44 (0)118 378 8646 s.black@reading.ac.uk
Dr Sophie Blackburn Lecturer in Human Geography   s.e.blackburn@reading.ac.uk
Professor Nicholas Branch

Professor in Palaeoecology

Head of Department of Geography and Environmental Science (Job Share)

+44 (0)118 378 3266 n.p.branch@reading.ac.uk
Professor Hannah Cloke Professor in Hydrology +44 (0)118 378 6974 h.l.cloke@reading.ac.uk
Professor Chris Collins Professor of Environmental Chemistry +44 (0)118 378 8910 c.d.collins@reading.ac.uk
Dr Jonathan Dale Lecturer in Physical Geography  +44 (0)118 378 4837 j.j.dale@reading.ac.uk
Dr Udeme Dickson Lecturer in Environmental Chemistry u.j.dickson@reading.ac.uk
Siobhan Dolan Lecturer in Physical Geography
   
Professor Ruth Evans Professor in Human Geography +44 (0)118 378 7755 r.evans@reading.ac.uk
Dr Rob Fry Lecturer in Geographical Systems +44 (0)118 3787972 r.j.fry@reading.ac.uk
Professor Hilary Geoghegan

Professor of Geography

Head of Department of Geography and Environmental Science (Job Share)

+44 (0)118 378 8915 h.geoghegan@reading.ac.uk
Professor Mike Goodman Professor of Geography (Environment and Development) +44 (0)118 378 7686 m.k.goodman@reading.ac.uk
Professor Sandy Harrison Professor in Global Palaeoclimates and Biogeochemical Cycles +44 (0)118 378 5258 s.p.harrison@reading.ac.uk
Professor Alan Howard Professor of Geography and Higher Education +44 (0)118 378 8763 a.howard@reading.ac.uk
Dr Anna Jackman Lecturer in Human Geography +44 (0)118 378 3934 a.h.jackman@reading.ac.uk
Dr Sally Lloyd-Evans Associate Professor in Human Geography +44 (0)118 3785293 s.lloyd-evans@reading.ac.uk
Dr Alison MacLeod

Associate Professor in Physical Geography

School Director of Teaching and Learning

+44 (0)118 378 7909 alison.macleod@reading.ac.uk
Professor Avril Maddrell Professor in Human Geography +44 (0)118 378 7756 avril.maddrell@reading.ac.uk
Professor Frank Mayle Professor in Tropical Palaeoecology +44 (0)118 378 6260 f.mayle@reading.ac.uk
Dr Hazel McGoff Associate Professor in Environmental Science
School Director of Academic Tutoring
+44 (0)118 378 6743 h.j.mcgoff@reading.ac.uk
Professor Steven Musson

Professor of Geography
Head of School

+44 (0)118 3786042 s.musson@reading.ac.uk
Dr Jess Neumann Associate Professor +44(0) 118 378 8912 j.l.neumann@reading.ac.uk
Jim Ormond Lecturer in Corporate Social Responsibility   j.k.ormond@reading.ac.uk
Dr Steve Robinson Associate Professor in Soil and Water Biogeochemistry +44 (0)118 378 6075 j.s.robinson@reading.ac.uk
Dr Shovonlal Roy Associate Professor +44 (0)118 378 8944 shovonlal.roy@reading.ac.uk
Professor Maria Shahgedanova Professor in Climate Science +44 (0)118 378 7745 m.shahgedanova@reading.ac.uk
Professor Liz Shaw Professor of Soil Microbiology and Biochemistry +44 (0)118 378 6971 e.j.shaw@reading.ac.uk
Dr Nathan Salvidge

Lecturer in Human Geography

  nathan.salvidge@reading.ac.uk
Dr Mike Simmonds Senior Project Manager QUEST +44 (0)118 378 8853 m.j.simmonds@reading.ac.uk
Professor Tom Sizmur Professor in Environmental Chemistry +44 (0)118 378 8913 t.sizmur@reading.ac.uk
Professor Anne Verhoef Professor of Soil Physics and Micrometeorology +44 (0)118 378 6074 a.verhoef@reading.ac.uk
Professor Andrew Wade Professor of Hydrology
+44 (0)118 378 7315 a.j.wade@reading.ac.uk
Professor Hong Yang Professor in Environmental Science +44 (0)118 378 7750 h.yang4@reading.ac.uk

Research staff

Name Position Telephone Email
Daniel Adigun Scientific Programmer and Data Manager   d.o.adigun@reading.ac.uk
Dr Trisha Bennett Community Liaison Officer   trisha.bennett@reading.ac.uk
Matthew Burrows Policy Communications Manager   m.j.burrows@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Blessing Chidimuro
Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Isotope Ecology/Archaeology   b.chidimuro@reading.ac.uk
Dr Selva Dhandapani Postdoctoral Research Associate in Soil Biogeochemistry  +44 (0)118 378 4727 s.dhandapani@reading.ac.uk
Sonia Duval Community Administrator, Whitley for Real Project +44 (0)118 3783271 s.duval@reading.ac.uk
Helen Griffith Postdoctoral Research Assistant Global Floods Modeller   helen.griffith@reading.ac.uk
Sacha Guirgis Whitley Community Technician - FoodSEqual   sacha.guirgis@reading.ac.uk
Dr Gavkhar Mamadjanova Research Fellow   g.mamadjanova@reading.ac.uk
Dr William Mills Postdoctoral Research Assistant   w.f.mills@reading.ac.uk
 Alice Mpofu-Coles Research Assistant   alice.mpofu-coles@reading.ac.uk
Dr Esther Oenga PDRA Participatory Action Research (PAR)
Geography & Environmental Science
  e.k.oenga@reading.ac.uk
Rhona Phipps Project Manager +44 (0) 118 378 3389 r.a.phipps@reading.ac.uk
Dr Marco Raczka Postdoctoral Research Associate in Amazon Palaeoecology m.f.raczka@reading.ac.uk
Dr Eirini Saratsi Postdoctoral Research Assistant in Human Geography - Environment and Development +44 (0)118 378 6559 e.saratsi@reading.ac.uk
Paarbrahm Singh Research Assistant   p.p.singh@reading.ac.uk
Georgina Tang Research Assistant in Plant Dynamics and Migration   georgina.tang@reading.ac.uk
Joyce Ternenge Project Officer +44 (0)118 378 3268 j.d.ternenge@reading.ac.uk
Dr Gabriel Yesuf Postdoctoral Research Assistant in Environmental Modelling. g.yesuf@reading.ac.uk
Dr Lorna Zischka Postdoctoral Research Assistant - Whitley for Real Project +44 (0) 118 378 3286 lorna.zischka@reading.ac.uk

Postgraduate research students

Name Email Project
Phillip Agredazywczuk p.a.agredazywczuk@pgr.reading.ac.uk Geochemical constraints on the hydrological restoration of groundwater-dependent wetlands in lowland catchments.
Henry Akinola h.akinola@pgr.reading.ac.uk Participatory Approach to Research Air Quality in Lagos State, Nigeria.
Paul Allen p.allen2@pgr.reading.ac.uk Reframing youth activism in a post pandemic community (with particular reference to the Whitley Young Researchers).
Ellie Barbrook e.barbrook@pgr.reading.ac.uk Optimizing soil nitrogen (N) in babyleaf salad crops for sustainable crop production.
Aslihan Benlioglu a.benlioglu@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Microplastic Pollution in Soil.

Selma Benyovszky s.benyovszky@pgr.reading.ac.uk Water-energy nexus in Algeria: the government water discourse and the role of the hydrocarbon sector.
Chloe Brimicombe c.r.brimicombe@pgr.reading.ac.uk Too Hot to Handle: The Global Impact of Extreme Heat.
Luci Corbett l.j.corbett@pgr.reading.ac.uk Acute Oak Decline (AOD): Detecting and understanding thresholds and feedback through soil microbial process indicators.
Merry Crowson m.r.d.crowson@pgr.reading.ac.uk Capitalising on the Big Data era: establishing a multi-source monitoring framework for England's natural capital assets and flows.
Esmeralda Cruz-Silva e.cruz-silva@pgr.reading.ac.uk Pollen-based reconstructions of the vegetation and climate of the circum-Mediterranean region during the Holocene.
Jeff Da Costa j.dacosta@pgr.reading.ac.uk The importance of nonlinearity in achieving climate resilience to hydrometeorological hazards.
Siobhan Dolan s.dolan@pgr.reading.ac.uk Landslide Early Warning Systems: A new approach to landslide EWS using global scale hydro-meteorological tools with a consideration of EWS introduction to post-colonial societies.
Nerea Ferrando n.ferrandojorge@pgr.reading.ac.uk Exploring the Role of Citizen Science for advances in Urban Soil Management and Inspiring Sustainable Action.
Elaine Halliday e.halliday@pgr.reading.ac.uk Evaluating the impact of woodland management and drinking water abstraction on groundwater fed wetlands.
Lottie Hawkins charlotte.hawkins@pgr.reading.ac.uk Exploring the role of biochar to increase the sustainability of UK farming businesses.
Joseph Hirst j.hirst@pgr.reading.ac.uk The domestication of Amazon rainforests by pre-Columbian societies.
Mohammad Badsha Hossain mohammadbadsha.hossain@pgr.reading.ac.uk Family planning in Bangladesh: implementation and health impact.
Sazzad Hossain mdsazzad.hossain@pgr.reading.ac.uk Extended-range hydro meteorological forecasting for improved flood early warning in Bangladesh.
Madison Johnson m.c.johnson@pgr.reading.ac.uk Safeguarding non-human heritage in the Anthropocene: an investigation of enthusiasm for rare heavy horse breeds.
Theodore Keeping t.r.keeping@pgr.reading.ac.uk Nowcasting the Risk of Wildfire
David Kesner d.kesner@pgr.reading.ac.uk Understanding fire and vegetation feedbacks in response to environmental change during glacial and interglacial states.
Karolina Krupska k.u.krupska@pgr.reading.ac.uk Forecasting floods from intense rainfall and predicting their impact on bathing waters.
Clare Lewis clare.lewis@pgr.reading.ac.uk Meteosunamis in a changing climate: the future of coastal vulnerability and resilience.
Hanqing Lin hanqing.lin@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Effect of heavy metals on carbon source utilization and DNA of soil microorganisms.
Sabine Mayeux s.mayeux@pgr.reading.ac.uk Food Justice in the City: Austerity, Citizenship and Creative Urban Space.
Gaia Mortier g.mortier@pgr.reading.ac.uk

A Day in the Lice: Recreating Past Human and Animal Life Histories Using Arthropod Ectoparasites in Museum and Archaeological Collections.

 Andra Serban a.serban@pgr.reading.ac.uk Evaluating the ability of human communities and environmental systems to adapt and recover to Late Holocene climate change in the Peruvian Andes.
 Saule Suleimenova s.suleimenova@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Modelling soybean yield response to the projected climate scenarios in south-eastern Kazakhstan.

Phiala Mehring phiala.mehring@pgr.reading.ac.uk Get your water out of my lounge: Understanding institutional constructions and public perceptions of flooding and flood risk management.
Faith Mitheu f.k.mitheu@pgr.reading.ac.uk A model for impact-based flood early warning in Uganda.
Camilla Negri c.negri@pgr.reading.ac.uk Developing risk-based approaches to modelling phosphorus contamination in agricultural catchments.
Joy Ommer j.ommer@pgr.reading.ac.uk Reducing risk to hydrological extremes with Nature-based Solutions.
Daisy O'Neill d.oneill@pgr.reading.ac.uk Predicting the ecological and societal impacts of species on the move with climate change in the UK.
Roweena Patel r.patel@pgr.reading.ac.uk Energy transfer in marine ecosystems based on phytoplankton size structure from satellite remote sensing
Ayla Paul a.paul@pgr.reading.ac.uk Provenance, governance, and traceability of UK honey: combining stable isotope ratio mass spectrometry, trace element analysis and pollen identification.
Gabrielle Powell g.b.powell@pgr.reading.ac.uk Evaluating the multiple functions of woodlands for natural flood management (NFM).
David Richardson d.s.richardson@pgr.reading.ac.uk Verification and diagnostics of ensemble-based earth-system models.
Victoria Robinson v.a.robinson@pgr.reading.ac.uk Atomic Archaeology - Improving In-Situ Detection Methods for the Identification and Mapping of Sub-Surface Features.
Zarina Saidaliyeva z.saidaliyeva@pgr.reading.ac.uk Assessment of snow, glacier and permafrost melt contributions to runoff in the Tien Shan using isotopic analysis.
 Yicheng Shen yicheng.shen@pgr.reading.ac.uk Optimality approaches linking fire-related plant traits and ecosystem responses to climate change.
Luke Sweeney l.sweeney@pgr.reading.ac.uk The Impact of Anthropogenic Land-use Changes on Fire Regimes During the Holocene.
Phillip Taiwo o.p.taiwo@pgr.reading.ac.uk Forecasting the influence of climate change on harmful algal growth through biogeochemical modelling.
Daniel Teeling d.l.a.teeling@pgr.reading.ac.uk Quantifying responses to abrupt climate change in the Andes, South America: Empirical data and model synergies.
Rachael Thornley r.h.thornley@pgr.reading.ac.uk Using Sentinel satellite remote sensing data to monitor the state of grasslands across a range of management intensities.
Helen Titley h.a.titley@pgr.reading.ac.uk The predictability of fluvial flooding from tropical cyclones.
Mark Turner m.g.turner@pgr.reading.ac.uk Rapid climate change in the last glacial period: the evidence from pollen records.
Jessica Underwood j.c.j.underwood@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Using simple spectral technology to engage farmers in building soil health to enhance environmental outcomes.

Maureen Wanzala m.a.wanzala@pgr.reading.ac.uk Understanding the Mechanisms of Flood Modelling and Forecasting of Historical Events to Inform Flood Early Warning in Kenya.
Robyn Woronka r.woronka@pgr.reading.ac.uk A geographical 'sense of place' can be reflected in a film, but does it consider the audience's perception of the place and the reality for the local community?
Ervin Zsoter e.zsoter@pgr.reading.ac.uk Understanding global flood hazard climatology for improved early flood warning.

Emeritus, Honorary and Visiting Staff

Name Position Email
Professor Brian Alloway Emeritus Professor b.j.alloway@reading.ac.uk
Professor Paul Bardos Visiting Professor r.p.bardos@reading.ac.uk
Dr Sophie Bowlby Visiting research Fellow s.bowlby@reading.ac.uk
Emeritus Professor Max Coleman Emeritus Professor m.l.coleman@reading.ac.uk
Professor Simon Dadson Visiting Professor  
Professor Brian Goodall Emeritus Professor b.goodall@reading.ac.uk
Professor Penny Hirsch Visiting Professor  
Professor Jane McCarthy Visiting Professor  
Professor Andy Moffat Visiting Professor a.j.moffat@reading.ac.uk
Emeritus Professor Stephen Nortcliff Emeritus Professor s.nortcliff@reading.ac.uk
Professor Margaret Oliver Emeritus Professor m.a.oliver@reading.ac.uk
Professor Richard Skeffington Emeritus Professor r.a.skeffington@reading.ac.uk
Emeritus Professor Paul Whitehead Emeritus Professor p.g.whitehead@reading.ac.uk
Professor Alan Wild Emeritus Professor
Professor Peter Worsley Emeritus Professor p.worsley@reading.ac.uk
Athena SWAN Silver Award