University of Reading cookie policy

We use cookies on reading.ac.uk to improve your experience, monitor site performance and tailor content to you

Read our cookie policy to find out how to manage your cookie settings

Academic staff

Name Position Telephone Email
Dr Yaw Adjei-Amoako Teaching Fellow in Human Geography +44 (0)118 378 3263 yaw.adjei-amoako@reading.ac.uk
Dr Stuart Black Associate Professor in Environmental Radioactivity
School Director for Teaching and Learning
+44 (0)118 378 8646 s.black@reading.ac.uk
Professor Nicholas Branch Professor in Palaeoecology +44 (0)118 378 3266 n.p.branch@reading.ac.uk
Professor Joanna Clark Professor in Environmental Science +44 (0)118 378 6581 j.m.clark@reading.ac.uk
Professor Hannah Cloke Professor in Hydrology +44 (0)118 378 6974 h.l.cloke@reading.ac.uk
Professor Chris Collins Professor of Environmental Chemistry +44 (0)118 378 8910 c.d.collins@reading.ac.uk
Dr Udeme Dickson Lecturer in Environmental Chemistry u.j.dickson@reading.ac.uk
Dr Sylvie Dubuc Lecturer in Human Geography & Population Studies +44 (0)118 378 8657 s.dubuc@reading.ac.uk
Professor Ruth Evans Professor in Human Geography +44 (0)118 378 7755 r.evans@reading.ac.uk
Dr Rob Fry Lecturer in Geographical Systems +44 (0)118 3787972 r.j.fry@reading.ac.uk
Professor Hilary Geoghegan Professor of Geography +44 (0)118 378 8915 h.geoghegan@reading.ac.uk
Professor Mike Goodman Professor of Geography (Environment and Development) +44 (0)118 378 7686 m.k.goodman@reading.ac.uk
Dr Thomas Grisaffi Associate Professor in Human Geography (Environment and Development) +44 (0)118 378 7496 t.grisaffi@reading.ac.uk
Professor Sandy Harrison Professor in Global Palaeoclimates and Biogeochemical Cycles +44 (0)118 378 5258 s.p.harrison@reading.ac.uk
Professor Alan Howard Professor in Computational Geography +44 (0)118 378 8763 a.howard@reading.ac.uk
Dr Anna Jackman Lecturer in Human Geography +44 (0)118 378 3934 a.h.jackman@reading.ac.uk
Dr Sally Lloyd-Evans Associate Professor in Human Geography +44 (0)118 3785293 s.lloyd-evans@reading.ac.uk
Dr Alison MacLeod Associate Professor in Physical Geography +44 (0)118 378 7909 alison.macleod@reading.ac.uk
Professor Avril Maddrell Professor in Human Geography +44 (0)118 378 7756 avril.maddrell@reading.ac.uk
Professor Frank Mayle Professor in Tropical Palaeoecology +44 (0)118 378 6260 f.mayle@reading.ac.uk
Dr Hazel McGoff Associate Professor in Environmental Science
School Director of Academic Tutoring
+44 (0)118 378 6743 h.j.mcgoff@reading.ac.uk
Professor Steven Musson

Professor of Geography
Head of School

+44 (0)118 3786042 s.musson@reading.ac.uk
Dr Jess Neumann Lecturer in Geographic Information Systems (GIS) +44(0) 118 378 8912 j.l.neumann@reading.ac.uk
Dr Steve Robinson Associate Professor in Soil and Water Biogeochemistry +44 (0)118 378 6075 j.s.robinson@reading.ac.uk
Dr Shovonlal Roy Associate Professor +44 (0)118 378 8944 shovonlal.roy@reading.ac.uk
Professor Maria Shahgedanova Professor in Climate Science +44 (0)118 378 7745 m.shahgedanova@reading.ac.uk
Professor Liz Shaw Professor of Soil Microbiology and Biochemistry +44 (0)118 378 6971 e.j.shaw@reading.ac.uk
Dr Mike Simmonds Associate Professor in Physical Geography +44 (0)118 378 8853 m.j.simmonds@reading.ac.uk
Dr Tom Sizmur Associate Professor in Environmental Chemistry +44 (0)118 378 8913 t.sizmur@reading.ac.uk
Professor Anne Verhoef Professor of Soil Physics and Micrometeorology +44 (0)118 378 6074 a.verhoef@reading.ac.uk
Professor Andrew Wade Professor of Hydrology
Head of Department of Geography and Environmental Science
+44 (0)118 378 7315 a.j.wade@reading.ac.uk
Dr Kevin White Associate Professor in Environmental Remote Sensing +44 (0)118 378 7752 k.h.white@reading.ac.u
Dr Hong Yang Associate Professor in Environmental Science +44 (0)118 378 7750 h.yang4@reading.ac.uk

Research staff

Name Position Telephone Email
Dr Heou Maleki Badjana Postdoctoral Research Assistant in Hydrological Modelling +44 (0)118 378 3264 h.badjana@reading.ac.uk
Joanne Beales Landwise Research Project Administrator +44 (0)118 378 3289 j.n.beales@reading.ac.uk
P Bennett      
Dr Blessing Chidimuro
     
Sonia Duval Community Administrator, Whitley for Real Project +44 (0)118 3783271 s.duval@reading.ac.uk
H Griffith      
Dr Nathanael Harwood Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Plant Trait Modelling 
  n.d.harwood@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Danielle House Postdoctoral Research Assistant +44 (0)118 378 3275 d.r.house@reading.ac.uk
S Kassirer      
Dr Paul Lincoln Postdoctoral Research Assistant in Palaeofire p.lincoln@reading.ac.uk
Dr Will Maslanka Postdoctoral Research Assistant in Remote sensing +44 (0) 118 378 7285 will.maslanka@reading.ac.uk
Dr David Mason Senior Research Fellow +44 (0)118 378 8740 d.c.mason@reading.ac.uk
Dr Harry Pettit David Robins Research Fellow in Urban Geography h.g.pettit@reading.ac.uk
Rhona Phipps Project Manager +44 (0) 118 378 7356 r.a.phipps@reading.ac.uk
Dr Marco Raczka Postdoctoral Research Associate in Amazon Palaeoecology m.f.raczka@reading.ac.uk
Dr Eirini Saratsi Postdoctoral Research Assistant in Human Geography - Environment and Development +44 (0)118 378 6559 e.saratsi@reading.ac.uk
Gerard Stewart Communications Co-ordinator +44 (0)118 378 7902 g.w.stewart@reading.ac.uk
Joyce Ternenge Project Officer +44 (0)118 378 3268 j.d.ternenge@reading.ac.uk
Roberto Villegas-Diaz Scientific Programmer and Data Manager r.villegas-diaz@reading.ac.uk
Dr Azin Wright Postdoctoral Research Assistant +44 (0) 118 378 6557 azin.wright@reading.ac.uk
Dr Gabriel Yesuf Postdoctoral Research Assistant in Environmental Modelling. g.yesuf@reading.ac.uk
Dr Lorna Zischka Postdoctoral Research Assistant - Whitley for Real Project +44 (0) 118 378 3286 lorna.zischka@reading.ac.uk

Postgraduate research students

Name Email Project
Phillip Agredazywczuck p.a.agredazywczuk@pgr.reading.ac.uk Geochemical constraints on the hydrological restoration of groundwater-dependent wetlands in lowland catchments.
Henry Akinola h.akinola@pgr.reading.ac.uk Participatory Approach to Research Air Quality in Lagos State, Nigeria.
Paul Allen p.allen2@pgr.reading.ac.uk Reframing youth activism in a post pandemic community (with particular reference to the Whitley Young Researchers).
Dedy Antony d.antony@pgr.reading.ac.uk Factors affecting soil carbon storage at depth in agricultural systems in the UK.
Ellie Barbrook e.barbrook@pgr.reading.ac.uk Optimizing soil nitrogen (N) in babyleaf salad crops for sustainable crop production.
Selma Benyovszky s.benyovszky@pgr.reading.ac.uk Water-energy nexus in Algeria: the government water discourse and the role of the hydrocarbon sector.
Chloe Brimicombe c.r.brimicombe@pgr.reading.ac.uk Pan-African Heatwave Health Hazard Forecasting.
Merry Crowson m.r.d.crowson@pgr.reading.ac.uk Capitalising on the Big Data era: establishing a multi-source monitoring framework for England's natural capital assets and flows.
Esmeralda Cruz-Silva e.cruz-silva@pgr.reading.ac.uk Pollen-based reconstructions of the vegetation and climate of the circum-Mediterranean region during the Holocene.
Jeff Da Costa j.dacosta@pgr.reading.ac.uk The importance of nonlinearity in achieving climate resilience to hydrometeorological hazards.
Siobhan Dolan s.dolan@pgr.reading.ac.uk Landslide Early Warning Systems: A new approach to landslide EWS using global scale hydro-meteorological tools with a consideration of EWS introduction to post-colonial societies.
Nerea Ferrando n.ferrandojorge@pgr.reading.ac.uk Exploring the Role of Citizen Science for advances in Urban Soil Management and Inspiring Sustainable Action.
Elaine Halliday e.halliday@pgr.reading.ac.uk Evaluating the impact of woodland management and drinking water abstraction on groundwater fed wetlands.
Lottie Hawkins charlotte.hawkins@pgr.reading.ac.uk Exploring the role of biochar to increase the sustainability of UK farming businesses.
Joseph Hirst j.hirst@pgr.reading.ac.uk The domestication of Amazon rainforests by pre-Columbian societies.
Mohammad Badsha Hossain mohammadbadsha.hossain@pgr.reading.ac.uk Family planning in Bangladesh: implementation and health impact.
Sazzad Hossain mdsazzad.hossain@pgr.reading.ac.uk Extended-range hydro meteorological forecasting for improved flood early warning in Bangladesh.
Madison Johnson m.c.johnson@pgr.reading.ac.uk Safeguarding non-human heritage in the Anthropocene: an investigation of enthusiasm for rare heavy horse breeds.
David Kesner d.kesner@pgr.reading.ac.uk Understanding fire and vegetation feedbacks in response to environmental change during glacial and interglacial states.
Karolina Krupska k.u.krupska@pgr.reading.ac.uk Forecasting floods from intense rainfall and predicting their impact on bathing waters.
Clare Lewis clare.lewis@pgr.reading.ac.uk Meteosunamis in a changing climate: the future of coastal vulnerability and resilience.
Sabine Mayeux s.mayeux@pgr.reading.ac.uk Food Justice in the City: Austerity, Citizenship and Creative Urban Space.
Phiala Mehring phiala.mehring@pgr.reading.ac.uk Get your water out of my lounge: Understanding institutional constructions and public perceptions of flooding and flood risk management.
Faith Mitheu f.k.mitheu@pgr.reading.ac.uk A model for impact-based flood early warning in Uganda.
Alice Mpofu-Coles a.mpofu-coles@pgr.reading.ac.uk Identity, Transnationalism and Resilience Among the Young Zimbabwean Diaspora in UK.
Camilla Negri c.negri@pgr.reading.ac.uk Developing risk-based approaches to modelling phosphorus contamination in agricultural catchments.
Joy Ommer j.ommer@pgr.reading.ac.uk Reducing risk to hydrological extremes with Nature-based Solutions.
Henny Omosigho h.omosigho@pgr.reading.ac.uk How do earthworms and soil microbial communities interact to determine the fate of organic matter amendments to soil?
Daisy O'Neill d.oneill@pgr.reading.ac.uk Predicting the ecological and societal impacts of species on the move with climate change in the UK.
Sarah Parker s.parker@pgr.reading.ac.uk Reconstruction of monsoon dynamics during the late Quaternary using speleothem data and model simulations.
Roweena Patel r.patel@pgr.reading.ac.uk Energy transfer in marine ecosystems based on phytoplankton size structure from satellite remote sensing
Ayla Paul a.paul@pgr.reading.ac.uk Provenance, governance, and traceability of UK honey: combining stable isotope ratio mass spectrometry, trace element analysis and pollen identification.
Gabrielle Powell g.b.powell@pgr.reading.ac.uk Evaluating the multiple functions of woodlands for natural flood management (NFM).
David Richardson d.s.richardson@pgr.reading.ac.uk Verification and diagnostics of ensemble-based earth-system models.
Victoria Robinson v.a.robinson@pgr.reading.ac.uk Atomic Archaeology - Improving In-Situ Detection Methods for the Identification and Mapping of Sub-Surface Features.
Zarina Saidaliyeva z.saidaliyeva@pgr.reading.ac.uk Assessment of snow, glacier and permafrost melt contributions to runoff in the Tien Shan using isotopic analysis.
Nathan Salvidge n.salvidge@pgr.reading.ac.uk Precarious lifescapes and informality: a gendered and generational analysis of young informal workers in urban Tanzania.
Luke Sweeney l.sweeney@pgr.reading.ac.uk The Impact of Anthropogenic Land-use Changes on Fire Regimes During the Holocene.
Phillip Taiwo o.p.taiwo@pgr.reading.ac.uk Forecasting the influence of climate change on harmful algal growth through biogeochemical modelling.
Daniel Teeling d.l.a.teeling@pgr.reading.ac.uk Quantifying responses to abrupt climate change in the Andes, South America: Empirical data and model synergies.
Sarah Thoma s.e.thoma@pgr.reading.ac.uk Examining the relationship between environmental and societal change during the past 1000 years.
Rachael Thornley r.h.thornley@pgr.reading.ac.uk Using Sentinel satellite remote sensing data to monitor the state of grasslands across a range of management intensities.
Helen Titley h.a.titley@pgr.reading.ac.uk The predictability of fluvial flooding from tropical cyclones.
Mark Turner m.g.turner@pgr.reading.ac.uk Rapid climate change in the last glacial period: the evidence from pollen records.
Maureen Wanzala m.a.wanzala@pgr.reading.ac.uk Understanding the Mechanisms of Flood Modelling and Forecasting of Historical Events to Inform Flood Early Warning in Kenya.
Robyn Woronka r.woronka@pgr.reading.ac.uk A geographical 'sense of place' can be reflected in a film, but does it consider the audience's perception of the place and the reality for the local community?
Ervin Zsoter e.zsoter@pgr.reading.ac.uk Understanding global flood hazard climatology for improved early flood warning.

Emeritus, Honorary and Visiting Staff

Name Position Email
Professor Brian Alloway Emeritus Professor b.j.alloway@reading.ac.uk
Emeritus Professor Max Coleman Emeritus Professor m.l.coleman@reading.ac.uk
Professor Brian Goodall Emeritus Professor b.goodall@reading.ac.uk
Emeritus Professor Stephen Nortcliff Emeritus Professor s.nortcliff@reading.ac.uk
Professor Richard Skeffington Emeritus Professor r.a.skeffington@reading.ac.uk
Emeritus Professor Paul Whitehead Emeritus Professor p.g.whitehead@reading.ac.uk
Professor Alan Wild Emeritus Professor
Professor Peter Worsley Emeritus Professor p.worsley@reading.ac.uk
Professor Paul Bardos Visiting Professor r.p.bardos@reading.ac.uk
Professor Simon Dadson Visiting Professor
Professor Penny Hirsch Visiting Professor
Professor Jane McCarthy Visiting Professor
Professor Andy Moffat Visiting Professor a.j.moffat@reading.ac.uk
Professor Margaret Oliver Visiting Professor m.a.oliver@reading.ac.uk
Dr Sophie Bowlby Visiting Research fellow s.r.bowlby@reading.ac.uk
Dr Macarena Cardenas Visiting Research Fellow
Dr James Ormond Visiting Research Fellow
Athena SWAN Silver Award