University of Reading cookie policy

We use cookies on reading.ac.uk to improve your experience, monitor site performance and tailor content to you

Read our cookie policy to find out how to manage your cookie settings

 

Academic staff  

Name Position Telephone
Email
Dr Liz Barnes
Lecturer in Modern History             +44 (0) 118 378 7940 e.barnes@reading.ac.uk
Dr Richard Blakemore
 
Associate Professor in the History of the Atlantic World c1500-1800
Department Director of Teaching and Learning
+44 (0) 118 378 7736  r.blakemore@reading.ac.uk
Dr Jeremy Burchardt Associate Professor in Rural History
Chair of Exam
 +44 (0) 118 378 7735 j.f.s.burchardt@reading.ac.uk  
Dr Apurba Chatterjee Wellcome Humanities and Social Science Postdoctoral Fellow    apurba-chatterjee@reading.ac.uk
Dr Rohan Deb Roy Associate Professor in South Asian History
Study Abroad Coordinator
Director of MA Programme
+44 (0) 118 378 5244   r.debroy@reading.ac.uk
Professor Joel Felix Professor of French History
Head of Department
Part 1 and 2 Exams 
 +44 (0) 118 378 7336  j.m.felix@reading.ac.uk
Dr Rachel Foxley Associate Professor of Early Modern History
Director of Postgraduate Research
 
+44 (0) 118 378 6005
r.h.foxley@reading.ac.uk
Professor Anne Lawrence-Mathers Professor in Medieval History
Journeys Through History Two Convenor         Foundation Year - History
+44 (0) 118 378 7659 a.e.mathers-lawrence@reading.ac.uk
Professor Patrick Major Professor of Modern History
School and Department Director of Academic Tutoring
+44 (0) 118 378 8143  p.major@reading.ac.uk
Dr Elizabeth Matthew Lecturer in Medieval History
Journeys One Convenor
Coordinator for the Joint Degrees and Part-Time Degree
+44 (0) 118 378 8410   e.a.e.matthew@reading.ac.uk
Dr Mara Oliva Associate Professor in History

On family leave for the academic year 2021-22
+44 (0) 118 378 8146  m.oliva@reading.ac.uk
Professor Helen Parish Head of School of Humanities

Professor of Early Modern History

+44 (0) 118 378 8145  h.l.parish@reading.ac.uk
Dr Robert Pee Lecturer in History    r-pee@reading.ac.uk
Dr Daniel Renshaw Lecturer in Modern History
Journeys 1 Convenor 
+44 (0) 118 378 7343 d.g.renshaw@reading.ac.uk
Dr Dina Rezk Associate Professor  in Middle Eastern History

Outreach and Widening Participation 

 +44 (0) 118 378 8856  d.rezk@reading.ac.uk
Professor Rebecca Rist
Professor In Medieval History
Director of the Graduate Centre for Medieval Studies
+44 (0) 118 378 7337  r.a.c.rist@reading.ac.uk
Dr Ruth Salter Lecturer in Medical History (Medieval)
RSO Convenor
Admissions Tutor  
 +44 (0) 118 378 7343  r.j.salter@reading.ac.uk
Dr Heike Schmidt Associate Professor in Modern African History
Dissertation Module Convenor
 +44 (0) 118 378 6543  h.i.schmidt@reading.ac.uk
Professor David Stack
 

Professor of Modern History
School Director for Teaching and Learning 
 +44 (0) 118 378 8149  d.a.stack@reading.ac.uk
Dr Natalie Thomlinson Associate Professor of Modern British Cultural History (1800-2000)
 +44 (0) 118 378 6549 n.thomlinson@reading.ac.uk
Dr Jacqui Turner
Associate Professor in Modern History
School Recruitment Director
+44 (0) 118 378 7317 e.j.turner@reading.ac.uk
Professor Emily West
Professor in American History
Research Division Leader
+44 (0) 118 378 5376 e.r.west@reading.ac.uk
Professor Kate Williams Professor in Public Engagement with History
 
Dr Beth Wilson
British Academy Postdoctoral Fellow

b.wilson2@reading.ac.uk
Professor Matthew Worley Professor of Modern British History
Research Impact lead
UoA lead for REF
 +44 (0) 118 378 6582 m.worley@reading.ac.uk

Emeritus, honorary and visiting staff

Name Position Telephone Email
Professor Malcolm Barber Emeritus
  m.c.barber@reading.ac.uk
Professor Michael Biddiss Emeritus   m.d.biddiss@reading.ac.uk
Professor Richard Bosworth Emeritus   r.j.b.bosworth@reading.ac.uk
Professor Paul Davies Emeritus   p.davies@eading.ac.uk
Professor Lindy Grant Emeritus     l.m.grant@reading.ac.uk
Professor Ralph Houlbrooke Emeritus     r.a.houlbrooke@reading.ac.uk
Dr Simon Lee Emeritus    
Professor Donald Matthew Emeritus  
Dr Hannah Newton
Visiting    h.c.newton@reading.ac.uk
Dr Frank Tallett Emeritus    f.tallett@reading.ac.uk

Postgraduate research courses

Name Position Telephone Email
Catherine O'Hare Postgraduate Research Administrator +44 (0) 118 378 5799 c.l.ohare@reading.ac.uk

Administrative staff

Name Position Telephone Email
Camilla Khayat
UG Programme Administrator  +44 (0) 118 378 6330 history-admin@reading.ac.uk
Julie Maskell UG Programme Administrator  +44 (0) 118 378 8362 history-admin@reading.ac.uk
Nathan Shaw Student Support Coordinator  +44 (0) 118378 4243  ssc.hum@reading.ac.uk