University of Reading cookie policy

We use cookies on reading.ac.uk to improve your experience, monitor site performance and tailor content to you

Read our cookie policy to find out how to manage your cookie settings

Academic staff  

Name Position Telephone
Email
Dr Liz Barnes
Lecturer in Modern History             +44 (0) 118 378 7940 e.barnes@reading.ac.uk
Dr Richard Blakemore
 
Associate Professor in the History of the Atlantic World c1500-1800
Department Director of Postgraduate Research
+44 (0) 118 378 7736 r.blakemore@reading.ac.uk
Dr Benjamin Bland Leverhulme Early Career Fellow  

b.bland@reading.ac.uk

Dr Amie Bolissian Lecturer in History   a.bolissian2@reading.ac.uk
Dr Jeremy Burchardt Associate Professor in Rural History
Chair of Exam
 +44 (0) 118 378 7735 j.f.s.burchardt@reading.ac.uk  
Dr Apurba Chatterjee Wellcome Humanities and Social Science Postdoctoral Fellow   apurba-chatterjee@reading.ac.uk
Dr Rohan Deb Roy Associate Professor in South Asian History
Director of MA Programme
+44 (0) 118 378 5244  r.debroy@reading.ac.uk
Professor Joel Felix Professor of French History
Part 1 and 2 Exams 
Study Abroad Coordinator
 +44 (0) 118 378 7336 j.m.felix@reading.ac.uk
Dr Rachel Foxley Associate Professor of Early Modern History
Head of Department
 
+44 (0) 118 378 6005
r.h.foxley@reading.ac.uk
Professor Anne Lawrence-Mathers

Professor in Medieval History
Journeys Through History 2 Convenor
Foundation Year

+44 (0) 118 378 7659 a.e.mathers-lawrence@reading.ac.uk
Professor Patrick Major Professor of Modern History
School and Department Director of Academic Tutoring
+44 (0) 118 378 8143  p.major@reading.ac.uk
Dr Elizabeth Matthew Professor of Modern History
Journeys Through History 1 Convenor
Coordinator for the Joint Degrees and Part-Time Degree
+44 (0) 118 378 8410  e.a.e.matthew@reading.ac.uk
Dr Mara Oliva Associate Professor in US History
+44 (0) 118 378 8146 m.oliva@reading.ac.uk
Professor Helen Parish

Professor of Early Modern History
Head of School of Humanities

+44 (0) 118 378 8145 h.l.parish@reading.ac.uk
Dr Daniel Renshaw Lecturer in Modern History
Journeys Through History 1 Convenor 
+44 (0) 118 378 7343 d.g.renshaw@reading.ac.uk
Dr Dina Rezk Associate Professor  in Middle Eastern History

Outreach and Widening Participation 

 +44 (0) 118 378 8856

d.rezk@reading.ac.uk
Professor Rebecca Rist
Professor In Medieval History
Director of the Graduate Centre for Medieval Studies
+44 (0) 118 378 7337 r.a.c.rist@reading.ac.uk
Dr Ruth Salter Lecturer in Medieval History
RSO Convenor
Admissions Tutor  
 +44 (0) 118 378 7343 r.j.salter@reading.ac.uk
Dr Heike Schmidt Associate Professor in Modern African History
Director of Dissertations
 +44 (0) 118 378 6543 h.i.schmidt@reading.ac.uk
Professor David Stack
 

Professor of Modern History
School Director for Teaching and Learning 
 +44 (0) 118 378 8149 d.a.stack@reading.ac.uk
Dr Natalie Thomlinson Associate Professor of Modern British Cultural History (1800-2000)
Research Division Lead
Impact Lead
UoA Lead for REF
 +44 (0) 118 378 6549 n.thomlinson@reading.ac.uk
Dr Jacqui Turner
Associate Professor in Modern History
School Recruitment Director
+44 (0) 118 378 7317 e.j.turner@reading.ac.uk
Professor Emily West
Professor in American History
School Director of PGR
+44 (0) 118 378 5376 e.r.west@reading.ac.uk
Professor Kate Williams Professor in Public Engagement with History
 
Dr Beth Wilson
British Academy Postdoctoral Fellow

b.wilson2@reading.ac.uk
Professor Matthew Worley Professor of Modern British History
Department Director of Teaching and Learning
 +44 (0) 118 378 6582 m.worley@reading.ac.uk

Emeritus, honorary and visiting staff

Name Position Telephone Email
Professor Malcolm Barber Emeritus
  m.c.barber@reading.ac.uk
Professor Michael Biddiss Emeritus   m.d.biddiss@reading.ac.uk
Professor Richard Bosworth Emeritus   r.j.b.bosworth@reading.ac.uk
Professor Paul Davies Emeritus   p.davies@eading.ac.uk
Professor Lindy Grant Emeritus     l.m.grant@reading.ac.uk
Professor Ralph Houlbrooke Emeritus   r.a.houlbrooke@reading.ac.uk
Dr Simon Lee Emeritus    
Professor John Martin  Visiting   j.martin@reading.ac.uk 
Professor Donald Matthew Emeritus  

Dr Hannah Newton

Visiting  

h.c.newton@reading.ac.uk

Dr Frank Tallett Emeritus   f.tallett@reading.ac.uk

Associate Lecturers

Name Modules Email
Chessie Baldwin HS1JH1 - Journeys Through History 1: Power and People chessie.baldwin@reading.ac.uk
Caroline Bourne HS1JH1 - Journeys Through History 1: Power and People
HS1JH2 - Journeys Through History 2: Culture and Concepts
caroline.bourne@reading.ac.uk
Frances Cook HS1JH1 - Journeys Through History 1: Power and People
HS1JH2 - Journeys Through History 2: Culture and Concepts

f.cook@reading.ac.uk
Andy Ford HS1JH1 - Journeys Through History 1: Power and People
HS1JH2 - Journeys Through History 2: Culture and Concepts
andrew.ford@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Francoise Le Saux
Medieval Latin and Palaeography (GCMS) f.h.m.le-saux@reading.ac.uk
 Graham Moore HS1RSO - Research Skills and Opportunities in History g.moore@reading.ac.uk
 Abbie Tibbot  HS1RSO - Research Skills and Opportunities in History a.f.tibbott@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Postgraduate research courses

Name Position Telephone Email
Catherine O'Hare Postgraduate Research Administrator +44 (0) 118 378 5799 c.l.ohare@reading.ac.uk

Administrative staff

Name Position Telephone Email
Shima Matoury
UG Programme Administrator  +44 (0) 118 378 4592 vrs16h@reading.ac.uk
Julie Maskell UG Programme Administrator  +44 (0) 118 378 8362 vrs16h@reading.ac.uk
  Student Support Coordinator  +44 (0) 118378 4243  ssc.hum@reading.ac.uk