University of Reading cookie policy

We use cookies on reading.ac.uk to improve your experience, monitor site performance and tailor content to you

Read our cookie policy to find out how to manage your cookie settings

The Child Development Group is a diverse group of researchers in the School of Psychology & Clinical Language Sciences at the University of Reading. We conduct research on the development of cognition, perception, and emotion from infancy to adolescence.

We study children's development to answer questions such as:

  • How does development occur generally?
  • And how might development differ from child to child?

 

Our research covers many areas. Current interests include topics such as:

  • sensory development, including how children perceive the world around them
  • language development – how first words are learned, bilingualism and how such learning can be supported
  • neurodevelopmental conditions such as Down's Syndrome, autistic spectrum conditions and developmental language disorder
  • neurocognitive and socioemotional development – such as how to measure intellectual development
  • healthy eating habits in children, for example, the influence of nutrition on cognition in development.

Read the latest Child Development Group newsletter

Contribute to child development research

Our work is greatly assisted by the large number of volunteer families who help us with our work and to whom we are most grateful.

If you would be interested in hearing more about our ongoing studies and potentially participating in research with your child, you can enrol your child for our child development database.

The Child Development team

Anastasia Christakou 

Email: a.christakou@reading.ac.uk

 

Anna Horwood 

Email: a.m.horwood@reading.ac.uk

 

Bhismadev Chakrabarti

Email: b.chakrabarti@reading.ac.uk

 

Carmel Houston-Price

Email: c.houston-price@reading.ac.uk

See & Eat Food Choice Study

 

Ciara McCabe

Email: c.mccabe@reading.ac.uk

 

Debra Page

Email: debra.page@pgr.reading.ac.uk

 

Emily Wright

Email: e.s.wright@pgr.reading.ac.uk

 

Emma Pagnamenta

Email: e.pagnamenta@reading.ac.uk

 

Dr Fang Liu

Email: f.liu@reading.ac.uk

 

George Pontikas

Email: g.pontikas@reading.ac.uk

 

Graham Schafer

Email: g.w.schafer@reading.ac.uk

 

Helen Dodd

Email: h.f.dodd@reading.ac.uk

 

Kate Harvey

Email: k.n.harvey@reading.ac.uk


Lily Fitzgibbon

Email: l.t.fitzgibbon@reading.ac.uk

 

Ludovica Serratrice

Email: l.serratrice@reading.ac.uk

 

Mirjana Sokolovic-Perovic

Email: m.sokolovic@reading.ac.uk

 

Professor Patricia Riddell

Email: p.m.riddell@reading.ac.uk

 

Tamara Schmidt

Email: t.schmidt@pgr.reading.ac.uk

 

Teresa Tavassoli

Email: t.tavassoli@reading.ac.uk

 

Vesna Stojanovik

Email: v.stojanovik@reading.ac.uk

 

Zoe Ryan

Email: z.j.ryan@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Athena SWAN Bronze Award logo