University of Reading cookie policy

We use cookies on reading.ac.uk to improve your experience, monitor site performance and tailor content to you

Read our cookie policy to find out how to manage your cookie settings

If you’d like to make a general enquiry, please email us at computerscience@reading.ac.uk or ask us a question using our online form.

Head of Department

Name Position Telephone Email
Dr Lily Sun Head of Department and UG Programme Director +44 (0) 118 378 8604 lily.sun@reading.ac.uk

Administrative staff

Name Position Telephone Email
Pauline Wayman
Executive Support Officer +44 (0) 118 378 6603 p.wayman@reading.ac.uk
Tim Poulter
Executive Support Administrator +44 (0) 118 378 5030 t.j.poulter@reading.ac.uk

Academic staff

Name Position Telephone Email
 Dr Muntasir Al-Asfoor Associate Lecturer    m.al-asfoor@reading.ac.uk
Professor Atta Badii Professor in Secure Pervasive Technologies +44 (0) 118 378 7842 atta.badii@reading.ac.uk
Professor James Ferryman Professor of Computational Vision +44 (0) 118 378 6697 j.m.ferryman@reading.ac.uk
Professor Xia Hong Professor of Computational Intelligence and Postgraduate Research Programme Director +44 (0) 118 378 8222 x.hong@reading.ac.uk
Dr Yevgeniya Kovalchuk Associate Professor in Computer Science
  y.kovalchuk@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Kamen Lam Lecturer in Computer Science and PGT Programme Director   carmen.lam@reading.ac.uk 
Professor Bryan Lawrence Professor of Weather and Climate Computing and Director of Models and Data – National Centre for Atmospheric Science (NCAS) +44 (0) 118 378 6507 b.n.lawrence@reading.ac.uk
Dr Martin Lester Lecturer in Computer Science and Undergraduate Admissions Tutor +44 (0) 118 378 7634 m.lester@reading.ac.uk
Dr ASM Ashraf Mahmud  Associate Lecturer
  a.mahmud@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Christopher Maynard Associate Professor in Computer Science (University of Reading) and High Performance Computing Specialist (Met Office, Exeter) +44 (0) 118 378 8211 c.m.maynard@reading.ac.uk
Professor Richard Mitchell Professor of Cybernetics +44 (0) 118 378 6790 r.j.mitchell@reading.ac.uk
Dr Varun Ojha Lecturer in Computer Science +44 (0) 118 378 8609 v.k.ojha@reading.ac.uk
Dr Pat Parslow Lecturer in Computer Science +44 (0) 118 378 6423 p.parslow@reading.ac.uk
Miguel Sanchez Razo Lecturer in Computer Science +44 (0) 118 378 6544 m.sanchezrazo@reading.ac.uk
Dr Hong Wei Associate Professor in Computer Science +44 (0) 118 378 8608 h.wei@reading.ac.uk
Dr Frederick Stahl Visiting Member of Academic Staff   f.t.stahl@reading.ac.uk

Visiting Fellow

Name Position Email
Dr William Flannery Visiting Fellow w.flannery@reading.ac.uk

Affiliated academics

Name Position Email
Shirley Williams Professor Emerita, National Teaching Fellow shirley.williams@reading.ac.uk

Research staff

Name Position Email
Dr Luis Patino Postdoctoral Research Assistant j.l.patinovilchis@reading.ac.uk
Dr Lulu Chen Postdoctoral Research Assistant l.chen@reading.ac.uk
Dr Luciana Pedro Postdoctoral Research Assistant l.r.pedro@reading.ac.uk
Elliot Jordan Research Assistant

elliotjacob.jordan@reading.ac.uk

Srivenkata Srikanth Research Assistant (AI Software Engineering & Data Science)
s.srikanth@reading.ac.uk
Akhil Vadlakonda  Research Assistant (AI Software Engineering & Data Science)  a.vadlakonda@reading.ac.uk
Zehao Liu Research Assistant  zehao.liu@reading.ac.uk
Ali Varzandian  Research Assistant ali.varzandian@reading.ac.uk
Maheshkumar Sundaram Research Assistant m.sundaram@reading.ac.uk
Jonathan Boyle Technical Assistant j.n.boyle@reading.ac.uk

Athena SWAN Silver Award