University of Reading cookie policy

We use cookies on reading.ac.uk to improve your experience, monitor site performance and tailor content to you

Read our cookie policy to find out how to manage your cookie settings

If you’d like to make a general enquiry, please email us at computerscience@reading.ac.uk or ask us a question using our online form.

Head of Department

Name Position Telephone Email
Professor Shuang-Hua Yang Head of Department +44 (0) 118 378 4835 shuang-hua.yang@reading.ac.uk

Administrative staff

Name Position Telephone Email
Pauline Wayman
Executive Support Officer +44 (0) 118 378 6603 p.wayman@reading.ac.uk
Tim Poulter
Executive Support Administrator +44 (0) 118 378 5030 t.j.poulter@reading.ac.uk

Academic staff

Name Position Telephone Email
Professor Atta Badii

Professor of Secure Pervasive Technologies,         
and Research Group Leader, Cyber-Physical and Embedded Data Intelligence

+44 (0) 118 378 7842 atta.badii@reading.ac.uk
Professor James Ferryman

Professor of Computational Vision,
and Research Group Leader, Computational Vision Group

+44 (0) 118 378 6697 j.m.ferryman@reading.ac.uk
Professor Xia Hong Professor of Computer Science,
and PGR Programme Director
+44 (0) 118 378 8222 x.hong@reading.ac.uk
Dr Todd Jones Lecturer in Computer Science,
and IT Infrastructure Coordinator
+44 (0) 118 378 3187 t.r.jones@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Yevgeniya Kovalchuk Associate Professor of Computer Science,
and Chair of Student Staff Partnership Groups
  y.kovalchuk@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Ka Man Lam Lecturer in Computer Science,
and PGT Programme Director
  carmen.lam@reading.ac.uk 
Professor Bryan Lawrence Professor of Weather and Climate Computing,
and Research Group Leader, Advanced Computing for Environmental Science 
+44 (0) 118 378 6507 b.n.lawrence@reading.ac.uk
Dr Martin Lester Lecturer in Computer Science,
and Admissions Tutor
+44 (0) 118 378 7634 m.lester@reading.ac.uk
Dr Christopher Maynard Associate Professor of Computer Science +44 (0) 118 378 8211 c.m.maynard@reading.ac.uk
Professor Richard Mitchell Professor of Cybernetics,
and Examinations Officer,
and School Director of Technology Enhanced Learning
+44 (0) 118 378 6790 r.j.mitchell@reading.ac.uk
Dr Varun Ojha Lecturer in Computer Science,
and UG Degree Project Coordinator
+44 (0) 118 378 8609 v.k.ojha@reading.ac.uk
Dr Pat Parslow Lecturer in Computer Science,
and Deputy School Director of Academic Tutoring
+44 (0) 118 378 6423 p.parslow@reading.ac.uk
Dr Luis Patino Lecturer in Computer Science    j.l.patinovilchis@reading.ac.uk
Miguel Sanchez Razo Lecturer in Computer Science +44 (0) 118 378 6544 m.sanchezrazo@reading.ac.uk

Dr Lily Sun

Associate Professor of Computer Science,
and UG Programme Director
 +44 (0) 118 378 8604  lily.sun@reading.ac.uk
Dr Hong Wei Associate Professor of Computer Science,
and Internationalisation and Study Abroad Coordinator
+44 (0) 118 378 8608 h.wei@reading.ac.uk
Dr Frederick Stahl Visiting Member of Academic Staff   f.t.stahl@reading.ac.uk

Visiting Fellow

Name Position Email
Dr William Flannery Visiting Fellow w.flannery@reading.ac.uk

Affiliated academics

Name Position Email
Shirley Williams Professor Emerita, National Teaching Fellow shirley.williams@reading.ac.uk

Research staff

Name Position Email
Dr Lulu Chen Postdoctoral Research Assistant l.chen@reading.ac.uk
Dr Luciana Pedro Postdoctoral Research Assistant l.r.pedro@reading.ac.uk
Srivenkata Srikanth Research Assistant (AI Software Engineering & Data Science)
s.srikanth@reading.ac.uk
Akhil Vadlakonda  Research Assistant (AI Software Engineering & Data Science)  a.vadlakonda@reading.ac.uk
Jonathan Boyle Technical Assistant j.n.boyle@reading.ac.uk

Athena SWAN Silver Award