University of Reading cookie policy

We use cookies on reading.ac.uk to improve your experience, monitor site performance and tailor content to you

Read our cookie policy to find out how to manage your cookie settings

Head of School: Professor Richard Frazier

Heads of Department

Name Position Phone number and room Email 
Dr John McKendrick Head of Chemistry

0118 378 8246

Chemistry G17

j.e.mckendrick@reading.ac.uk 
Professor Colette Fagan  Head of Food and Nutritional Sciences 

0118 378 5363 

Harry Nusten 2-41

c.c.fagan@reading.ac.uk 
Professor Katrina Bicknell
Head of Reading School of Pharmacy 

0118 378 7032

Harry Nursten 1-01

k.bicknell@reading.ac.uk 

Directors

Name Position Phone number and room Email 
Dr Mark Dallas
School Director of Outreach 

0118 378 5203

Hopkins 107

m.dallas@reading.ac.uk 
Catherine Langran
School Director of Teaching and Learning 

0118 378 7017

JJ Thomson 139

c.a.langran@reading.ac.uk 
Professor Helen Osborn
SCFP Athena SWAN Lead 

0118 378 7338 

Chemistry 111 

h.m.i.osborn@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Paz Vaqueiro  School Director of Postgraduate Research 

0118 378 6363

Chemistry 106

p.vaqueiro@reading.ac.uk 

Research division leads

Name Position Phone number and room Email 
Dr Angela Bithell
Research Division Lead, Pharmacy

0118 378 6570

Hopkins 105

a.bithell@reading.ac.uk
Dr Francesca Greco Research Division Lead, Pharmacy 

0118 378 8244

Chemistry 115

f.greco@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Marie Lewis
Research Division Lead, Food and Nutritional Sciences

0118 378 8708

Harry Nursten 3-27

marie.lewis@reading.ac.uk 
Professor Anthony Powell Research Division Lead, Chemistry

0118 378 6585

Chemistry G17

a.v.powell@reading.ac.uk 

Heath and safety

Name Position Phone number and room Email 
Steve Ablett
Health & Safety Manager Harry Nursten 2-36  s.t.ablett@reading.ac.uk

Managers

Name Position Phone number and room Email 
Kevin Flint
Technical Manager (Pharmacy)

0118 378 6345

Hopkins G01

k.m.flint@reading.ac.uk
Dr Olga Khutoryanskaya
Technical Manager (Chemistry)  

0118 378 6106

Harry Nursten 3-03

o.khutoryanskaya@reading.ac.uk  
James Magee Technical Services Cluster Manager

0118 378 8729

Harry Nursten 2-35

j.magee@reading.ac.uk 
Andy Whittam
Technical Manager - Operations  

0118 378 6065

Chemistry LG12

a.w.whittam@reading.ac.uk 
Paul Willis  Head of Safety and Stores Operations 

0118 378 6776 

Chemistry LG12

p.h.willis@reading.ac.uk 

Executive support

Name Position Phone number and room Email 
Kate Benyon

Executive Administration Manager

Head of School Office

0118 378 8703 

Harry Nursten 2-39

k.l.benyon@reading.ac.uk 
Loray Blake
Finance Administrator 

0118 378 6727

Harry Nursten 2-37

l.j.blake@reading.ac.uk 
Cathy Crips

Executive Support Officer, AFTP

0118 378 8722

Harry Nursten 2-37

c.crips@reading.ac.uk 
Charlotte Harman

Executive Support Officer for Admissions and Outreach

School Admissions, Outreach, Teaching & Learning

0118 378 8718 

Harry Nursten 2-47

c.r.harman@reading.ac.uk 
Barbara Parr 

Executive Support Officer: 

School Research Division Leads & Impact Leads
School Ethics Administrator 
School Health & Safety Committee
Chemistry Research Committee 

 0118 378 8453

Chemistry G30

b.l.parr@reading.ac.uk 
Michelle Phillips  Executive Support Officer, Food & Nutritional Sciences 

0118 378 8716

Harry Nursten 2-42 

m.a.phillips@reading.ac.uk 
Sandra Whitaker  Executive Administrative Officer, Reading School of Pharmacy 

0118 378 4637 

Harry Nursten 1-04

s.e.whitaker@reading.ac.uk 

Teaching and learning

Name Position Phone number and room Email 
Amer Abou Daoud
Programme Administrator, Pharmacy (MPharm Parts 1-4)
JJT Support Centre  pharm-tlsupport@reading.ac.uk 
Zoe Denly
Senior Programme Administrator 

JJT Support Centre

z.c.denly@reading.ac.uk 
Alexis Fisher

Programme Administrator, Physician Associate programme, MPAS programme (Parts 3 & 4)

0118 378 8574

JJT Support Centre

physicianassociate@reading.ac.uk  
Suzi Hamblin

Programme Administrator: 

Foundation programmes (modules CH0CHE and PM0PHS)
MSc in Chemical Research
MSc in Pharmacy Research
Food PG programmes
Pharmacology programme
MPAS programme (Parts 1 & 2)

JJT Support Centre 

chem-tlsupport@reading.ac.uk

food-tlsupport@reading.ac.uk

pharm-tlsupport@reading.ac.uk 

Harriet Hardwick  Programme Administrator, CIPPET programmes  JJT Support Centre   cippet-students@reading.ac.uk  
Tom Head  Student Advice and Support Manager 

0118 378 4978 

JJT Support Centre

t.w.head@reading.ac.uk 
  Programme Administrator, Chemistry UG and MChem programmes

0118 378 4082 

JJT Support Centre

chem-tlsupport@reading.ac.uk 
Marina Sims  Programme Administrator, Food UG programmes 

0118 378 4636 

JJT Support Centre

food-tlsupport@reading.ac.uk 
Sophie Tilling  Student Support Coordinator 

0118 378 4101 

JJT Support Centre

ssc.cfp@reading.ac.uk  
Rhian Walker  Programme Manager, SCFP & SAGES 

0118 378 7827

JJT Support Centre

r.s.walker@reading.ac.uk 
Amy Walton  Student Support Coordinator 

0118 378 4101

JJT Support Centre

ssc.cfp@reading.ac.uk 

Finance office

Name Position Phone number and room Email 
Nyasha Mundiripo
Transactions Administrator

0118 378 8701 

Harry Nursten 2-36

n.mundiripo@reading.ac.uk 

Placements

Name Position Phone number and room Email 
Erma Akulli
Placements Coordinator for Pharmacy & Chemistry

0118 378 4702 

JJT Support Centre

e.akulli@reading.ac.uk

Postgraduate administrators

Name Position Phone number and room Email 
Melina Aston
Postgraduate Research Administrator (Pharmacy)

0118 378 4132 

Old Whiteknights House F05

m.aston@reading.ac.uk 
Isaac Wilks
Postgraduate Research Administrator (Chemistry and Food) 

0118 378 4159

Old Whiteknights House  F-06 & Harry Nursten 2-22

i.m.j.wilks@reading.ac.uk 

Analytical and research services

Name Position Phone number and room Email 
Andy Dodson
Mass Spectrometry Specialist

0118 378 6027-5360 

Harry Nursten 4-22/21

a.t.dodson@reading.ac.uk 
Hong Lin
Research Technician 

0118 378 7033

Hopkins 202

h.lin@reading.ac.uk 
Bindukala Radha 
Research Technician

0118 378 7713

Harry Nursten 4-16

b.radha@reading.ac.uk 
Nick Spencer
Specialist CAF Technician

0118 378 5195 

Chemistry LG68

n.j.spencer@reading.ac.uk 

Maintenance and support

Name Position Phone number and room Email 
Mike Charij
School Workshop Technician

0118 378 6066

Chemistry LG13

m.p.charij@reading.ac.uk  
Surya Devkota
Support Technician 

0118 931 8704

Food Processing Hall, Level 1

s.devkota@reading.ac.uk 
Sue Mouring
General Support

0118 378 8704

Harry Nursten 1-33

s.j.mouring@reading.ac.uk 
Andy Whittam
Head of Maintenance Services

0118 378 6065 

07715804092

Chemistry LG12

a.w.whittam@reading.ac.uk 
Gary Yeo  IT/Electronics Technician 

0118 378 7731 

Chemistry LG13

g.f.yeo@reading.ac.uk 

Stores

Name Position Phone number and room Email 
Paul Willis
Stores Manager

0118 378 6776 

Chemistry LG11 

p.h.willis@reading.ac.uk  
Philip Mason
School Stores Technician 

0118 378 6785

Chemistry Stores

yg906654@reading.ac.uk 

Teaching support

Name Position Phone number and room Email 
Graham Bradbury
Chemistry Technician

0118 378 7440

Chemistry 127

g.s.bradbury@reading.ac.uk
Chris Bussey
Food Process & Manufacturing

0118 378 8704

Harry Nursten 1-09A

c.c.bussey@reading.ac.uk
Li ly Ge
Food Microbiology & Biotechnology

0118 378 6106

Harry Nursten 3-05

l.ge@reading.ac.uk 
Ellen Hackl
Teaching Technician (Food) 

0118 378 8505

Harry Nursten (Annex) 1-40

e.hackl@reading.ac.uk 
Cattleya Leksmono  Teaching Technician, Pharmacology & Therapeutics 

0118 378 8505 

Harry Nursten 1-40

c.s.leksmono@reading.ac.uk 
Manik Puranik  Teaching Technician  

0118 378 8704 

Harry Nursten 1-09A 

m.p.puranik@reading.ac.uk  
Mark McClemont  Glass Blower 

0118 378 7433 

Chemistry LG1

m.a.mcclemont@reading.ac.uk  
Dr Muhammad Yaqoob  Teaching Technical Specialist
(Chemistry) 

0118 378 7440 

Chemistry Teaching Labs

m.yaqoob@reading.ac.uk  
Athena SWAN Silver Award