University of Reading cookie policy

We use cookies on reading.ac.uk to improve your experience, monitor site performance and tailor content to you

Read our cookie policy to find out how to manage your cookie settings

Academic staff

Name Position and responsibilities Research interests Email
Dr Emma Aston Associate Professor
Greek religion
Mythology
Thessaly
Ethnos-identity
Animals in ancient thought
m.m.aston@reading.ac.uk
Mrs Jackie Baines Teaching Fellow
Admissions Tutor
Languages Coordinator
Language Teachers'
CoP
Latin language j.baines@reading.ac.uk
Dr Oliver Baldwin British Academy Postdoctoral Fellow

o.a.baldwin@reading.ac.uk
Dr Signe Barfoed Research Council of Norway Postdoctoral Fellow Greek cult and religion
Ancient Greek pottery
Material culture
Aitolia
Ethnos-identity
Mythology
Memory and ritual
Museum studies
s.barfoed@reading.ac.uk
Professor David Carter Professor
Head of ISLI
Greek drama
Greek political thought
d.m.carter@reading.ac.uk
Professor Eleanor Dickey Professor
International Affairs (including OS students)
Greek and Latin languages
Linguistics
Literature
Ancient education
e.dickey@reading.ac.uk
Professor Timothy Duff Professor
Director of Postgraduate Research
Plutarch
Historiography
Biography
Greek prose literature
Greek history
t.e.duff@reading.ac.uk
Dr Andreas Gavrielatos Teaching Fellow
Dissertations Coordinator
Library Liaison
a.gavrielatos@reading.ac.uk
Professor Barbara Goff Professor
Co-Head of Department
Department Director of Teaching and Learning
Alumni
Greek tragedy and reception
Postcolonial Classics
b.e.goff@reading.ac.uk
Dr Christa Gray Lecturer
Early Christian Latin c.m.gray@reading.ac.uk
Dr Jack Hanson British Academy Postdoctoral Fellow Urbanism, computational and quantitative approaches to the humanities and social sciences j.w.hanson@reading.ac.uk
Professor Katherine Harloe

Professor

Director of Taught Postgraduate Programmes

Reception studies
History of scholarship
Neoclassicism
Philhellenism
Political thought
k.c.harloe@reading.ac.uk
Professor Rachel Mairs Professor of Classical and Near Eastern Studies
Exams Officer
Ethnic identity
Multilingualism
Hellenistic history
Graeco-Roman Egypt
Bactria
Papyrology
Epigraphy
r.mairs@reading.ac.uk
Professor Annalisa Marzano Professor of Ancient History
Research Division Leader
Ancient economy
Trade
Roman villas
Roman aquaculture
Italic Hercules
a.marzano@reading.ac.uk
Dr Arietta Papaconstantinou Associate Professor
Departmental Director of Academic Tutoring
Late antiquity
Early Islam
Byzantium
Economy and society
Ancient multilingualism
Papyrology
Greek epigraphy
a.s.papaconstantinou@reading.ac.uk
Professor Ian Rutherford Professor
Unit of Assessment Lead
Anatolia
Egypt
Religion
Pilgrimage
Theoria
Transculturalism
Origins
Chorality
Greek song
i.c.rutherford@reading.ac.uk
Professor Amy C. Smith Professor
Co-Head of Department
Curator (Ure Museum)
Ancient art
Iconography
Material culture
Art and society
Greek vase painting
Museum studies
Digital Classics
a.c.smith@reading.ac.uk
Dr Dimitra Tzanidaki-Kreps Visiting Fellow in Modern Greek in the Centre for Hellenic Studies Modern and ancient Greek language and literature
Theatre and drama
d.i.tzanidaki@reading.ac.uk

Support staff

Name Position Email
Nathan Shaw and Ellie Biggs Student Support Co-Ordinator ssc.hum@reading.ac.uk

Ure Museum

Name Position Email
Jayne Holly Assistant Curator ure.education@reading.ac.uk
jayne.holly@reading.ac.uk
Claudina Romero Education Officer ure.education@reading.ac.uk
c.romeromayorga@reading.ac.uk

Emeritus/honorary staff

Name Position Email
Professor Jane Gardner Professor Emeritus j.f.gardner@reading.ac.uk
Dr Gill Knight Honorary Fellow of the Classics Department g.r.knight@reading.ac.uk
Professor Peter Kruschwitz Visiting Professor p.kruschwitz@reading.ac.uk
Professor Matthew Nicholls Visiting Professor m.c.nicholls@reading.ac.uk
Professor Tessa Rajak Professor Emeritus t.rajak@reading.ac.uk