University of Reading cookie policy

We use cookies on reading.ac.uk to improve your experience, monitor site performance and tailor content to you

Read our cookie policy to find out how to manage your cookie settings

Academic staff

Name Position and responsibilities Research interests Email
Professor Emma Aston Professor of Classics
Research Division Lead
Greek religion
Mythology
Thessaly
Ethnos-identity
Animals in ancient thought
e.m.m.aston@reading.ac.uk
Mrs Jackie Baines Lecturer in Classics
Admissions Tutor
Languages Coordinator
Language Teachers'
CoP
Latin language j.baines@reading.ac.uk
Dr Oliver Baldwin British Academy Postdoctoral Fellow

o.a.baldwin@reading.ac.uk
Dr Signe Barfoed Research Council of Norway Postdoctoral Fellow Greek cult and religion
Ancient Greek pottery
Material culture
Aitolia
Ethnos-identity
Mythology
Memory and ritual
Museum studies
s.barfoed@reading.ac.uk
Professor David Carter Professor
Head of ISLI
Greek drama
Greek political thought
d.m.carter@reading.ac.uk
Professor Eleanor Dickey Professor of Classics
International Affairs (including OS students)
Greek and Latin languages
Linguistics
Literature
Ancient education
e.dickey@reading.ac.uk
Professor Timothy Duff Professor of Classics
Director of Postgraduate Research
Plutarch
Historiography
Biography
Greek prose literature
Greek history
t.e.duff@reading.ac.uk
Dr Andreas Gavrielatos

Lecturer in Classics
Library Liaison
Director of Postgraduate Taught Programmes

a.gavrielatos@reading.ac.uk
Professor Barbara Goff Professor of Classics
Co-Head of Department
Alumni
Dissertations Coordinator
Greek tragedy and reception
Postcolonial Classics
b.e.goff@reading.ac.uk
Dr Christa Gray

Lecturer in Classics
Department Director of Teaching and Learning

Latin prose narrative
Early Christianity
Ancient oratory and rhetoric

c.m.gray@reading.ac.uk
Ms. Doukissa Kamini Lecturer in Classics   doukissa.kamini@reading.ac.uk
Professor Rachel Mairs Professor of Classical and Near Eastern Studies
Exams Officer

(On Research Leave Autumn 2022)
Ethnic identity
Multilingualism
Hellenistic history
Graeco-Roman Egypt
Bactria
Papyrology
Epigraphy
r.mairs@reading.ac.uk
Dr Hana Navratilova Lecturer in Classics Historiography Epigraphy
Greco-Roman Egypt
‘Egyptomania’
History of Egyptology
hana.navratilova@reading.ac.uk
Dr Arietta Papaconstantinou Associate Professor of Classics
Departmental Director of Academic Tutoring
Late antiquity
Early Islam
Byzantium
Economy and society
Ancient multilingualism
Papyrology
Greek epigraphy
a.s.papaconstantinou@reading.ac.uk
Professor Ian Rutherford Professor of Classics
Unit of Assessment Lead
Anatolia
Egypt
Religion
Pilgrimage
Theoria
Transculturalism
Origins
Chorality
Greek song
i.c.rutherford@reading.ac.uk
Professor Amy C. Smith Professor of Classics
Co-Head of Department
Curator (Ure Museum)
Ancient art
Iconography
Material culture
Art and society
Greek vase painting
Museum studies
Digital Classics
a.c.smith@reading.ac.uk
 

Dr Dimitra Tzanidaki-Kreps

 

Visiting Fellow in Modern Greek in the Centre for Hellenic Studies

   

d.i.tzanidaki@reading.ac.uk

Professor Robert Wiƛniewski Leverhulme Visiting Professor 
r.k.wisniewski@reading.ac.uk

Associate Lecturers

Name Modules Email
Dr Estelle Baudou CL2AF - Ancient World on Film  
Summer Courts CL1RH - Roman History: The Rise and Fall of the Republic s.l.courts@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Ellie Goddard CL2DR - Ancient Drama e.f.goddard@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Edward Ross CL1L1 - Latin 1 e.a.s.ross@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Support staff

Name Position Email

Student Support ssc.hum@reading.ac.uk

Ure Museum

Name Position Email
Jayne Holly Assistant Curator ure.education@reading.ac.uk
jayne.holly@reading.ac.uk

Emeritus/honorary staff

Name Position Email
Professor Jane Gardner Professor Emeritus j.f.gardner@reading.ac.uk
Dr Jack Hanson Visiting Research Fellow j.w.hanson@reading.ac.uk
Professor Katherine Harloe Visiting Professor k.c.harloe@reading.ac.uk
Dr Gill Knight Honorary Fellow of the Classics Department g.r.knight@reading.ac.uk
Prof. Annalisa Marzano Visiting Professor  a.marzano@reading.ac.uk
Professor Matthew Nicholls Visiting Professor m.c.nicholls@reading.ac.uk
Professor Tessa Rajak Professor Emeritus t.rajak@reading.ac.uk
Dr Claudina Romero Visiting Research Fellow c.romeromayorga@reading.ac.uk