University of Reading cookie policy

We use cookies on reading.ac.uk to improve your experience, monitor site performance and tailor content to you

Read our cookie policy to find out how to manage your cookie settings

Aerial view of five students at a table
Here you'll find information about our current PhD students and the research projects they're working on.

Charalampos Papathanasiou

Title of thesis: Empathy in the ancient novel: strategies on shaping morals

Supervisors: Professor Ian Rutherford and Dr Christa Gray

Year joined: 2021

c.papathanasiou@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Sorian Verterius

Title of thesis: Pinning down language learning in ancient education

Supervisors: Professor  Eleanor Dickey and Professor Suzanne Graham

Year joined: 2021

s.s.verterius@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Eleanor Goddard

Title of thesis: The ‘daughters’ of Hecuba (Andromache, Cassandra and Polyxena) in Euripides’ Trojan cycle and their receptions in the ‘golden’ and ‘silver’ ages of Latin literature

Supervisors: Professor Barbara Goff and Dr Christa Gray

Year joined: 2020

e.f.goddard@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Edward Ross

Title of thesis: A crucible of religious interchange: understanding the evolving spirituality of the Hellenistic Far East

Supervisors: Professor Rachel Mairs and Professor Ian Rutherford

Year joined: 2020

e.a.s.ross@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Meryt Ramble-Wallace

Title of thesis: Middle voice: media tantum, verbal categorisation, and the evolution of ancient Greek thought

Supervisors: Professor Eleanor Dickey and Professor Ian Rutherford

Year joined: 2020

m.ramble-wallace@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Personal webpage

Cheryl Gupta

Title of thesis: The symbolism of the defeated bull in ancient Greek mythology

Supervisors: Dr Emma Aston and Professor Ian Rutherford

Year joined: 2019

c.gupta@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Becca Grose

Title of thesis: Changing presentations of virtue in the region of Burgundian hegemony: epigraphic evidence from the IV-VII centuries AD 

Supervisors: Dr Arietta Papaconstantinou and Dr Richard Flower

Year joined: 2017

r.c.grose@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Doukissa Kamini

Title of thesis: Killing in the name of power: political interpretations and intra-familial violence in the story of Orestes

Supervisors: Professor Barbara Goff and Professor David Carter

Year joined: 2017

d.kamini@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Personal webpage

Jessica Feito

Title of thesis: Regional variation in diet and crop choices: a comparison of Roman Italy and the Near East

Supervisors: Professor Annalisa Marzano and Dr Gundula Müldner

Year joined: 2016

j.n.feito@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Personal webpage

Rosanagh Mack

Title of thesis: The role of the horse on Thessalian coinage 479-320 BC

Supervisors: Dr Emma Aston and Professor Rachel Mairs

Year joined: 2016

r.m.b.mack@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Personal webpage