Skip to main content

PhD Researcher of the Year Award – University of Reading

Show access keys
  • Celebrating Excellence

    A hub for world-class research

PhD Researcher of the Year Award

Celebrating excellence in PhD research at Reading

About the scheme

The Graduate School PhD Researcher of the Year Award has been established to enable the University of Reading to celebrate excellence in doctoral research. This honour will be awarded once a year to an outstanding PhD student.

The winner will receive an award of £250.

Eligibility - who can be nominated?

Third year and fourth year full-time students, or fourth / fifth/ sixth year part-time students who are studying for a PhD at the time of the call.

All nominees must meet the following criteria:


  • Demonstrated academic excellence
  • Shown good progress
  • Ability to communicate research clearly to a non-specialist academic audience
  • Potential to be successful in future career

Desirable (in addition to meeting the essential criteria, the candidates should also show evidence of some of the following):

  • Has published one or two outputs
  • Has presented at one or more external meetings
  • Has engaged with wider audiences
  • Has contributed to the School and/or wider University

PhD Researcher of the Year Award 2018

Christoph Kent from the Department of Meteorology was the winner of the PhD Researcher of the Year Award 2018. Christoph's area of research is urban meteorology - the study of the physical, chemical and biological interaction between the atmosphere and the built environment. His PhD aims to improve the understanding of the aerodynamic properties (or roughness) of urban surfaces, for the purpose of wind-speed estimation. Accurate estimations of wind speed are of interest to meteorologists and engineers for applications ranging from dispersal of pollutants to wind loading on buildings.

Christoph Kent, PhD Researcher of the Year 2018, talking about his research and time at Reading.

PhD Researcher of the Year Award 2017

Max Brookman-Byrne from the School of Law was the winner of the PhD Researcher of the Year Award 2017. Max's ESRC-funded doctoral research investigated the lawfulness of the use of armed drones against armed groups in various regions of the world. Max is now a lecturer in Law at the University of Lincoln.

Max Brookman-Byrne, PhD Researcher of the Year 2017, talking about his doctoral research and time at Reading.


PhD ReSearcher of the Year Award 2016

Faith Orchard at conference

In 2016 the PhD Researcher of the Year Award was won by Faith Orchard from the School of Psychology and Clinical Language Sciences. Faith's doctoral research focused on depression in adolescents and how it can differ from depression in adults. Faith specifically looked at the cognitive characteristics of depression in teenagers. Her doctorate was supervised by Professor Shirley Reynolds.

From her PhD Faith has submitted five publications for peer review. Two are published, two are being revised, and one is under review. During the course of her doctoral studies, Faith has presented at a number of national and international conferences.

In additional to her doctoral research, Faith has also taught undergraduate seminars and lectures and supported BSc and MSc research projects within the School of Psychology & Clinical Language Sciences.

PhD Researcher of the Year Finalists 2016
PhD Researcher of the Year Award 2016 Research Theme Finalists. From L-R: Vaibhav Singh, Joanna Baker, Luke Bell, Faith Orchard, Lisa Schopohl.

PhD Researcher of the Year Award - Research Theme Finalists

Environment Joanna Baker, School of Biological Sciences
Food Luke Bell, School of Food, Pharmacy & Chemistry
Health Faith Orchard, School of Psychology & Clinical Language Sciences (winner)
Heritage & Creativity Vaibhav Singh, School of Arts and Communication Design
Prosperity & Resilience Lisa Schopohl, ICMA Centre, Henley Business School


PhD Researcher of the Year Award 2015

In 2015 the PhD Researcher of the Year Award was jointly awarded to two PhD researchers: Adeyinka Adewale, Leadership, Organisations and Behaviour, Henley Business School and Graeme Marlton, Department of Meteorology, School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences.

Adeyinka Adewale
Leadership, Organisations and Behaviour
Henley Business School

Adeyinka Adewale's doctoral research examines the interaction between corporate bureaucracies and individual moral identity in explaining moral behaviour. Adeyinka's work aims to make a contribution by investigating the interactions between corporate bureaucracies, often theorised as the most limiting contextual element to employee moral agency and a relatively new theoretical approach, the individual's moral identity, to provide a more nuanced understanding of moral decision making within organisations. Adeyinka's doctoral research has been supervised by Dr Kleio Akrivou and Dr Evelyn Fenton.

In addition to his doctoral studies, Adeyinka has contributed to undergraduate and postgraduate teaching within the Henley Business School, is currently a reviewer of theJournal of Managerial Psychology and serves as a member of the Think-Tank for the Africa Diaspora Academic Network.

Graeme Marlton
Department of Meteorology
Faculty of Science

Graeme Marlton's doctoral research investigates atmospheric turbulence and hopes to improve our understanding of it. To achieve this, Graeme has flown accelerometers on approximately 70 standard weather balloons during the course of his PhD, funded by a £50k grant from the Royal Society. When a weather balloon encounters turbulence, it agitates an accelerometer, allowing observations of turbulence to be made. The aim of Graeme's project is to use these unique observations to improve turbulence forecasts and make flights safer and more comfortable for everyone. Graeme's doctoral research has been supervised by Professor Giles Harrison, Dr Paul Williams and Dr Keri Nicoll.

During the course of his doctoral studies Graeme has co-authored two peer-reviewed papers on new measurement techniques within hazardous weather, both published in the leading international journal Review of Scientific Instruments.


PhD Researcher of the Year Award 2015 - Faculty finalists

Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Science

Kristina West
Henley Business School

Adeyinka Adewale (joint winner)

Faculty of Life Sciences

Rui Catarino

Faculty of Science

Graeme Marlton (joint winner)


We use Javascript to improve your experience on, but it looks like yours is turned off. Everything will still work, but it is even more beautiful with Javascript in action. Find out more about why and how to turn it back on here.
We also use cookies to improve your time on the site, for more information please see our cookie policy.

Back to top