University of Reading cookie policy

We use cookies on reading.ac.uk to improve your experience, monitor site performance and tailor content to you

Read our cookie policy to find out how to manage your cookie settings

School directors of postgraduate research studies have a key role within the Schools in which they operate. While the exact nature of this role depends on the context of the School, they oversee a range of areas relevant to doctoral students, including recruitment and admissions, induction and training and the monitoring of progress.

The core elements of the role are set out in the School directors of postgraduate research studies: generic job description (PDF, 0.04 MB)

Our briefing document for new directors of postgraduate research studies (PDF, 0.2 MB) contains useful information on the main tasks of the role.

In some Schools, elements of the role are handled at a departmental level.

 

Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Science

Arts and Communication Design:  Professor Lisa Purse (l.v.purse@reading.ac.uk)

 

Institute of Education: Professor Naomi Flynn (n.flynn@reading.ac.uk); EdD (Director of Programme) Dr Karen Jones (karen.jones@reading.ac.uk)

 

Humanities: Professor Emily West (e.r.west@reading.ac.uk)

 

Law: Professor Grace James (c.g.james@reading.ac.uk); Dr Yong Han (yong.han@reading.ac.uk)       

 

Literature and Languages: Associate Professor Mark Nixon (m.nixon@reading.ac.uk)

 

Politics, Economics and International Relations:  Dr Stefania Lovo (s.lovo@reading.ac.uk)

 

Henley Business School

Director of Postgraduate Research Studies: Professor Davide Castellani (davide.castellani@henley.ac.uk)

 

Business Informatics, Systems and Accounting: Dr Stephen Gulliver (s.r.gulliver@henley.ac.uk); Dr Ronita Ram (ronita.ram@henley.ac.uk)

 

International Business and Strategy: Dr Peder Greve (peder.greve@henley.ac.uk)

 

ICMA: Professor Charles Sutcliffe (c.sutcliffe@icmacentre.ac.uk)

 

Leadership, Organisation and Behaviour: Professor Benjamin Laker (benjamin.laker@henley.ac.uk) 

 

Marketing and Reputation: Dr Rodrigo Perez Vega (r.perezvega@henley.ac.uk)

 

Real Estate and Planning: Professor Pat McAllister (pgr.admin@henley.ac.uk)

 

DBA (Director of Programme): Professor Liang Han (liang.han@henley.ac.uk)

 

Life Sciences

Agriculture, Policy and Development: Professor Martin Lukac (m.lukac@reading.ac.uk)

 

Biological Sciences: Dr Faustina Hwang (f.hwang@reading.ac.uk)

 

Chemistry Food and Pharmacy: Dr Paz Vaqueiro (p.vaqueiro@reading.ac.uk)

 

Psychology and Clinical Language Sciences: Dr Julia Vogt (j.vogt@reading.ac.uk); Professor Arlene Astell (a.astell@reading.ac.uk)

 

Science

Built Environment: (Construction Management and Architecture): Dr Florence Phua  (f.phua@reading.ac.uk); Dr Penelope Plaza (p.plaza@reading.ac.uk) – Admissions 

 

Archaeology, Geography and Environmental Science: Professor Steve Mithen (s.j.mithen@reading.ac.uk)

 

Mathematical, Physical and Computational Sciences: Professor Jani Virtanen (j.a.virtanen@reading.ac.uk