University of Reading cookie policy

We use cookies on reading.ac.uk to improve your experience, monitor site performance and tailor content to you

Read our cookie policy to find out how to manage your cookie settings

The University of Reading is delighted to be part of the Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC)-funded South, West and Wales Doctoral Training Partnership 2 (SWW2 DTP), a strong consortium of 10 leading universities (Aberystwyth, Bath, Bath Spa, Bristol, Cardiff, Cranfield, Exeter, Southampton and University of the West of England), an independent research organisation, and multiple arts, heritage, cultural and creative economy partners.

The AHRC SWW2 DTP funding allows for innovative doctoral support, including the development of broader skills such as partnership working and language skills, and experience in working outside academia through industry and international placements.

The funding also offers joint supervision of students, sharing of resources from universities across the consortium, further activities such as student events, placements, conferences and the fostering of peer support networks.

For entry in September 2022 at Reading, studentships can be in the following areas.


University of Reading department AHRC subject areas  Directors of postgraduate research studies 
Archaeology  Archaeology  Professor Roger Matthews (r.j.matthews@reading.ac.uk
Art 

Art

History of Art

Dr Pil Kollectiv (p.kollectiv@reading.ac.uk

Dr Galia Kollectiv (g.kollectiv@reading.ac.uk)

Classics  Classics  Professor Timothy Duff (t.e.duff@reading.ac.uk
English Language and Applied Linguistics & English Literature  English Language and Literature 

English Literature (Dept.): Professor Karin Lesnik-Oberstein (k.b.lesnik-oberstein@reading.ac.uk)

English Language and Applied Linguistics: Dr Parvenah Tavakoli (p.tavakoli@reading.ac.uk)

Film, Theatre and Television 

Film History, Theory and Criticism

Drama and Theatre Studies

Dr Alison Butler (a.j.butler@reading.ac.uk
Geography  Cultural Geography  Dr Anna Jackman (a.h.jackman@reading.ac.uk
History  History  Dr Rachel Foxley (r.h.foxley@reading.ac.uk
Law  Law and Legal Studies 

Dr Nora Honkala (n.a.honkala@reading.ac.uk)

Dr Therese Callus (m.c.callus@reading.ac.uk)

Languages and Cultures 

French Studies

German Studies

Italian Studies

Spanish and Latin American Studies

Dr Melani Schroeter (m.schroeter@reading.ac.uk
Philosophy 

Philosophy 

Political Philosophy

Dr Luke Elson (luke.elson@reading.ac.uk)
Politics and International Relations  Politics and International Relations  Professor Alan Cromartie (a.d.t.cromartie@reading.ac.uk
Typography  Typography  Professor Eric Kindel (e.t.kindel@reading.ac.uk

View our individual doctoral research areas to see the wide range of areas we offer.

How to apply for these studentships

1. Check your eligibility

UK/Republic of Ireland students who satisfy certain residency criteria (detailed in the eligibility guidelines) are eligible for awards covering fees at the UK/Republic of Ireland rate and provide a maintenance grant (stipend), the current (2021/22) level of which is £15,609 for full-time study.

Applications are open to UK and international applicants. AHRC funding covers tuition fees at the UK/Republic of Ireland rate; for international candidates offered a AHRC award, the difference between UK/Republic of Ireland and international fees will be covered by the University of Reading.

Students who have already commenced doctoral study may apply for funding for the remainder of their study, providing that, at the start of the AHRC award, they will have at least 50% of their period of study remaining (excluding the fourth "writing up" year (or part time equivalent).

 

2. Contact the relevant directors of postgraduate research studies

In order to enter this competition, it is important you make contact with the Director(s) of Postgraduate Research Studies for your area here at Reading. We recommend you do this as soon as possible. When making contact, you are advised to provide:

  • a brief summary of your proposed research (no longer than 500 words), indicating that you wish to apply to the AHRC SWW2 DTP
  • a short CV.

 

The director of postgraduate research studies for your field will then arrange for an appropriate supervisor to contact you. 

Note that you should not proceed to your final application until you have completed this step.

 

3. Apply via the DTP portal

In consultation with your supervisor, a full application for funding should be submitted by Monday, 24 January 2022.

Timeline for applications (SWW DTP)  
Full application system is live from Tuesday 30 November 2021   Apply on the SWW DTP website 
Make contact with subject lead at University of Reading  As soon as possible 
Final Deadline for Applications to the SWW DTP  Monday, 24 January 2022 

For further information and advice about these studentships, please contact the Graduate School by emailing doctoralstudentshipsofficer@reading.ac.uk.

 

Note on applications for other awards

Please note the application system for these studentships is external to the University of Reading and separate to the University's standard admission system. If you wish to apply for another studentship, you must ensure that you apply to the University in sufficient time to be considered for any such awards.