University of Reading cookie policy

We use cookies on to improve your experience, monitor site performance and tailor content to you.

Read our cookie policy to find out how to manage your cookie settings.

Soil Research Centre Staff

For enquiries please contact the SRC Director Prof. Chris Collins on 0118 3788910 or email

Our current staff members are listed below.

Image  Name  Position  Email address 
Professor Chris Collins Director of SRC and Professor of Environmental Chemistry
    Associate Professor
  Professor Martin Bell
Head of Department of Archaeology
  Dr Emily Black
Senior Research Scientist (NCAS-Climate)
  Dr Stuart Black
Associate Professor
  Dr Tijana Blanusa
RHS Fellow
    Head of School, SAGES/Senior Lecturer in Palaeoecology
  Dr Debbie Clifford
Technical Project Officer
  Professor Hannah Cloke
Associate Professor
    Professor of Global Food Security
  Professor Sue Grimmond
Professor of Urban Meteorology
  Professor John Hammond
Senior Research Fellow

  Professor Sandy Harrison
Professor in Global Palaeoclimates and Biogeochemical Cycles
    Academic, AMS Building, Director of Enterprise
  Professor Martin Lukac
Lecturer, School of Agriculture, Policy and Development
  Dr Wendy Matthews
  Professor Frank Mayle
Professor in Tropical Palaeoecology
  Dr Simon Mortimer Assistant Director of the Centre for Agri-Environmental Research
  Emeritus Professor Stephen Nortcliff
Emeritus Professor of Soil Science
  Professor Julian Park
Professor in Agricutural Systems and Education
  Dr Alejandra Perotti
Academic, Philip Lyle Building
  Professor Simon Potts
Professor of Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services
  Dr Tristan Quaife
Senior Research Fellow

Dr Steve Robinson

Senior Lecturer in Soil and Water Biogeochemistry
  Professor Liz Shaw
Associate Professor in Soil Microbiology
  Professor Mark Tibbett
Professor of Soil Ecology
  Professor Pier Luigi Vidale
Willis Professor of Climate System Science and Climate Hazards
  Professor Anne Verhoef
Professor of Soil Physics and Micrometeorology
  Professor Andrew Wade
Professor of Hydrology

Visiting Staff

Name Job title Email address
Professor Paul Bardos Visiting Professor
Professor Penny Hirsch Visiting Professor
Professor Andy Moffat Visiting Professor
Professor David Powlson Visiting Professor