University of Reading cookie policy

We use cookies on to improve your experience, monitor site performance and tailor content to you.

Read our cookie policy to find out how to manage your cookie settings.

DAC list

DAC list and how to use it

All the countries on the DAC list are eligible for ODA funding. The DAC list is reviewed every three years. Countries that have exceeded the high-income threshold (Upper Middle Income Countries and Territories) for three consecutive years at the time of the review are removed (please look at the list for the income thresholds). The next review is scheduled for 2024.

When thinking about which country to work with, you should consider your current links and the research you are planning to undertake. This will give you the best chance of preparing a research proposal that meets the 'research excellence' criterion.

You should also avoid countries that are about to come out of the list as, once this happens, they will no longer be eligible. Countries which are possibly graduating are noted at the bottom of the DAC list:


DAC List for reporting on aid - 2023

DAC List for reporting on aid - 2022

DAC List for reporting on aid - 2021

DAC List for reporting on aid - 2020 

DAC List History