University of Reading cookie policy

We use cookies on reading.ac.uk to improve your experience, monitor site performance and tailor content to you

Read our cookie policy to find out how to manage your cookie settings

Academic staff

Name Position, Role Contact details
Dr Christopher Austin John Templeton Foundation Postdoctoral Research Assistant c.austin@reading.ac.uk
Dr Michela Bariselli Lecturer in Philosophy
Foundation Year
Schools Liaison
Placement Year
michela.bariselli@reading.ac.uk
Professor Emma Borg

Professor of Philosophy
co-director of the Centre for Cognition Research

e.g.n.borg@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 8324
Professor Maximilian De Gaynesford

Professor of Philosophy
Part 1 Coordinator
Part 3 Dissertation Coordinator 

r.m.degaynesford@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 6679
Dr Luke Elson

Lecturer in Philosophy
Director of Postgraduate Research Studies Coordinator
REAPP (Reading Ethics and Political Philosophy)
PPE Coordinator
Online - non-admissions

luke.elson@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 7329
Dr Jumbly Grindrod

Lecturer in Philosophy
Part 1 Coordinator
Undergraduate Admissions Tutor
Part 3 Dissertation Coordinator (Summer 2023)

j.grindrod@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 6064
Dr Nat Hansen

Associate Professor of Philosophy
Visiting Speakers
Philosophy Society
Co-director, Reading Centre for Cognition Research

n.d.hansen@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 6993
Dr George Mason 

Lecturer in Philosophy
Careers and Alumni

g.p.mason@reading.ac.uk
Dr Charlotte Newey

Lecturer in Philosophy
Department Director of Teaching and Learning
Study Abroad

c.newey@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 8118
Professor David Oderberg

Professor of Philosophy
Head of Department
Learning Resources and IT

d.s.oderberg@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 5277
Professor John Preston

Professor of Philosophy
PP3ILM Coordinator

j.m.preston@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 7327
Petter Sandstad Marie Curie Postdoctoral Fellow p.sandstad@reading.ac.uk
Dr Severin Schroeder

Associate Professor of Philosophy
Director of Academic Tutoring

Assessment Officer
Part 2 Coordinator

j.schroeder@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 7333
Dr Shalini Sinha

Lecturer in Non-Western Philosophy
Foundation Year
Schools Liaison
Placement Year
Careers

Currently on leave with all duties covered by Michela Bariselli

shalini.sinha@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 7368&
Professor Philip Stratton-Lake

Professor of Philosophy
Research Division Lead
REF Lead
MRes Coordinator

p.j.stratton-lake@reading.ac.uk

+44 (0) 118 378 7562

 

Emeritus staff

Name Position Contact
Professor John Cottingham Professor Emeritus j.g.cottingham@reading.ac.uk
Professor Jonathan Dancy Professor Emeritus j.p.dancy@reading.ac.uk
Professor Brad Hooker Professor Emeritus b.w.hooker@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 6631
Mr Michael Proudfoot Honorary Fellow m.a.proudfoot@reading.ac.uk

Support and programme administration staff

Name Position Email  Phone
Naomi Emmerson UG & PGT philosophy-admin@reading.ac.uk

+44 (0)118 378 6257

Catherine O'Hare PGR c.l.o.hare@reading.ac.uk

+44 (0)118 378 5799