University of Reading cookie policy

We use cookies on to improve your experience, monitor site performance and tailor content to you

Read our cookie policy to find out how to manage your cookie settings

Academic staff

Name Position, Role Contact details
Dr Christopher Austin John Templeton Foundation Postdoctoral Research Assistant
Dr Michela Bariselli Lecturer in Philosophy
Study Abroad Officer
Schools Liaison
Placement Year
Visiting Speakers / Philosophy Society (Autumn 2022)
+44 (0) 118 378 7368
Professor Maximilian De Gaynesford

Professor of Philosophy
Part 1 Coordinator
Part 3 Dissertation Coordinator
+44 (0) 118 378 6679
Dr Luke Elson

Associate Professor of Philosophy
Research Division Lead
REF Lead
Online - non-admissions
+44 (0) 118 378 7329
Dr Jumbly Grindrod

Lecturer in Philosophy
Undergraduate Admissions Tutor
Part 3 Dissertation Coordinator (Summer 2023)
+44 (0) 118 378 6064
Dr Nat Hansen

Associate Professor of Philosophy
Visiting Speakers / Philosophy Society (Spring / Summer 2023)
+44 (0) 118 378 6993
Dr George Mason 

Lecturer in Philosophy
Careers and Alumni
Study Abroad
Part 1 Coordinator (Summer 2023)
Dr Charlotte Newey

Lecturer in Philosophy
Department Director of Teaching and Learning
+44 (0) 118 378 8118
Professor David Oderberg

Professor of Philosophy
Director of Postgraduate Research Studies (PhD)
Learning Resources and IT
+44 (0) 118 378 5277
Professor John Preston

Professor of Philosophy
PP3ILM Coordinator (Summer 2023)
+44 (0) 118 378 7327
Petter Sandstad Marie Curie Postdoctoral Fellow
Dr Severin Schroeder

Associate Professor of Philosophy
Head of Department
Director of Academic Tutoring

Assessment Officer
Part 2 Coordinator
+44 (0) 118 378 7333
 Dr Walter Veit  Lecturer in Philosophy
MA by Research Philosophy Coordinator
PPE Coordinator



Emeritus staff

Name Position Contact
Professor John Cottingham Professor Emeritus
Professor Jonathan Dancy Professor Emeritus
Professor Brad Hooker Professor Emeritus
Mr Michael Proudfoot Honorary Fellow

School Staff 

Name Position Contact
 Professor Uma Kambhampati Head of School
Nicola Humphrey Executive Administration Manager
Rachel Tregidgo  Executive Administration Assistant
 Vicki Matthews Executive Administration Officer

 Katie Searle

Executive Administration Officer
 Purnima Darji Placement Coordinator
 Tina Bhati  Placement Administrator


Support and programme administration staff

Name Position Email  Phone
Naomi Emmerson
Rachel Dimes
Undergraduate and Masters

+44 (0)118 378 6257

Catherine O'Hare Postgraduate Research Studies (PhD)

+44 (0)118 378 5799