University of Reading cookie policy

We use cookies on reading.ac.uk to improve your experience, monitor site performance and tailor content to you

Read our cookie policy to find out how to manage your cookie settings

Academic staff

Name Position, Role Contact details
Dr Christopher Austin John Templeton Foundation Postdoctoral Research Assistant c.austin@reading.ac.uk
Dr Michela Bariselli Lecturer in Philosophy
Foundation Year
Schools Liaison
Placement Year
Visiting Speakers / Philosophy Society (Autumn 2022)
michela.bariselli@reading.ac.uk
Professor Emma Borg

Professor of Philosophy
Director of the Centre for Cognition Research

e.g.n.borg@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 8324
Professor Maximilian De Gaynesford

Professor of Philosophy
Part 1 Coordinator
Part 3 Dissertation Coordinator 

r.m.degaynesford@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 6679
Dr Luke Elson

Associate Professor of Philosophy
Research Division Lead
REF Lead
Online - non-admissions

luke.elson@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 7329
Dr Jumbly Grindrod

Lecturer in Philosophy
Undergraduate Admissions Tutor
Part 3 Dissertation Coordinator (Summer 2023)

j.grindrod@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 6064
Dr Nat Hansen

Associate Professor of Philosophy
Visiting Speakers / Philosophy Society (Spring / Summer 2023)

n.d.hansen@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 6993
Dr George Mason 

Lecturer in Philosophy
Careers and Alumni
Study Abroad
Part 1 Coordinator (Summer 2023)

g.p.mason@reading.ac.uk
Dr Charlotte Newey

Lecturer in Philosophy
Department Director of Teaching and Learning

c.newey@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 8118
Professor David Oderberg

Professor of Philosophy
Head of Department
Learning Resources and IT

d.s.oderberg@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 5277
Professor John Preston

Professor of Philosophy
PP3ILM Coordinator (Summer 2023)

j.m.preston@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 7327
Petter Sandstad Marie Curie Postdoctoral Fellow p.sandstad@reading.ac.uk
Dr Severin Schroeder

Associate Professor of Philosophy
Director of Academic Tutoring

Assessment Officer
Part 2 Coordinator

j.schroeder@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 7333
Dr Shalini Sinha

Lecturer in Non-Western Philosophy

Currently on leave with all duties covered by Michela Bariselli

shalini.sinha@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 7368&
Professor Philip Stratton-Lake 

Professor of Philosophy
Director of PGR
MRes Coordinator
REAPP Coordinator 
PPE Coordinator 
Part 3 Coordinator 

p.j.stratton-lake@reading.ac.uk

+44 (0) 118 378 7562

 

Emeritus staff

Name Position Contact
Professor John Cottingham Professor Emeritus j.g.cottingham@reading.ac.uk
Professor Jonathan Dancy Professor Emeritus j.p.dancy@reading.ac.uk
Professor Brad Hooker Professor Emeritus b.w.hooker@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 6631
Mr Michael Proudfoot Honorary Fellow m.a.proudfoot@reading.ac.uk

Associate Lecturers

Name Modules Contact
James Hart PP3FAI - Fairness
PP2OID2 - Oppression, Inequality and the Enemies of Democracy 2
james.hart@pgr.reading.ac.uk 
Dannish Kashmiri PP1GJ - Global Justice
PP1RP - Radical Philosophy 
d.kashmiri@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Ronan O Maonaile PP2EA1 - Ethical Argument 1 - Philosophy and How to Live r.omaonaile2@pgr.reading.ac.uk
 Steven Wu PP1RA - Reason and Argument 
PP3MOA - The Morality of Abortion
stevendeon.wu@reading.ac.uk

Support and programme administration staff

Name Position Email  Phone
Naomi Emmerson UG & PGT philosophy-admin@reading.ac.uk

+44 (0)118 378 6257

Catherine O'Hare PGR c.l.o.hare@reading.ac.uk

+44 (0)118 378 5799