University of Reading cookie policy

We use cookies on reading.ac.uk to improve your experience, monitor site performance and tailor content to you.

Read our cookie policy to find out how to manage your cookie settings.

School and Departmental Directors of Teaching and Learning (DTLs)

Overview

See Responsibilities of School Directors of Teaching and Learning for a full description of the role and responsibilities.

Termly meetings

All community of practice meetings must be booked through UoRLearn. Termly meetings are organised for the School and Department Directors for Teaching and Learning. The agenda for these meetings are discussed and agreed in advance by the Pro-Vice Chancellor for Teaching and Learning and the Teaching and Learning Deans. Meeting dates can be found on UoRLearn (link above). If you have any suggestions for future meetings please contact Joy Collier j.collier@reading.ac.uk

Current SDTLs

School and Director Email

School of Agriculture, Policy and Development - Dr Gillian Rose

g.rose@reading.ac.uk;

School of Archaeology, Geography and Environmental Sciences - Dr Stuart Black

  • Department of Archaeology - Professor Duncan Garrow (from September 2021)
  • Department of Geography and Environmental Science - Dr Alison MacLeod

s.black@reading.ac.uk;

d.j.garrow@reading.ac.uk;

alison.macleod@reading.ac.uk;

School of Arts and Communication Design - Dr Rob Banham

  • Department of Art - Dr Florian Roithmayr
  • Department of Film, Theatre & Television - Dr Lisa Woynarski
  • Department of Typography & Graphic Communication - Dr Matthew Lickiss

r.e.banham@reading.ac.uk;

f.roithmayr@reading.ac.uk;

l.woynarski@reading.ac.uk;

m.lickiss@reading.ac.uk;

School of Biological Sciences - Dr Andrew Bicknell

a.b.bicknell@reading.ac.uk;

School of the Built Environment - Dr Tabarak Ballal

t.ballal@reading.ac.uk;

School of Chemistry, Food and Pharmacy - Catherine Langran

  • Department of Chemistry - Please direct any queries to Catherine Langran
  • Department of Pharmacy - Rav Savania
  • Department of Food and Nutritional Sciences - Dr Afroditi Chatzifragkou

c.a.langran@reading.ac.uk;

r.savania@reading.ac.uk;

a.chatzifragkou@reading.ac.uk;

School of Humanities - Professor David Stack

  • Department of Classics - Dr Christa Gray
  • Department of History - Dr Richard Blakemore
  • Department of Philosophy - Dr Charlotte Newey (from 15th September 2021. (Until 14th September 2021: Professor Max De Gaynesford )

d.a.stack@reading.ac.uk;

c.m.gray@reading.ac.uk;

r.blakemore@reading.ac.uk;

c.newey@reading.ac.uk;

r.m.degaynesford@reading.ac.uk;

School of Law - Sharon Sinclair-Graham

Deputy - Annika Newnham

Deputy - Frances Hamilton

sharon.sinclair-graham@reading.ac.uk;

a.newnham@reading.ac.uk;

f.r.hamilton@reading.ac.uk;

School of Literature and Languages - Dott. Enza Siciliano Verruccio

  • Department of Languages and Cultures - Dr Catriona McAllister
  • Department of English Literature - Dr Mary Morrissey
  • Department of English Language and Applied Linguistics - Dr Erhan Aslan

e.sicilianoverruccio@reading.ac.uk;

c.mcallister@reading.ac.uk;

m.e.morrissey@reading.ac.uk;

erhan.aslan@reading.ac.uk;

School of Mathematical, Physical and Computational Sciences - Dr Calvin Smith,

calvin.smith@reading.ac.uk;

School of Politics, Economics and International Relations - Dr David Marshall

  • Department of Politics and International Relations - Dr Rob Jubb
  • Department of Economics - Dr Nigel Wadeson

d.j.marshall@reading.ac.uk;

r.s.d.jubb@reading.ac.uk;

n.s.wadeson@reading.ac.uk;

School of Psychology and Clinical Language Science - Dr Rachel Pye (also covering for Beth Law until January 2022), Dr Alana James.

  • Psychology Undergraduate - Dr Amanda Branson (Dr Juliane Honisch from January 2022)
  • Psychology Postgraduate - Professor Kate Harvey
  • Clinical Language Sciences - Carol Fairfield
  • Charlie Waller Institute - Dr Hannah Whitney

rachel.pye@reading.edu.my;

a.i.james@reading.ac.uk;

j.j.honisch@reading.ac.uk;

a.branson@reading.ac.uk;

k.n.harvey@reading.ac.uk;

c.a.fairfield@reading.ac.uk;

h.l.whitney@reading.ac.uk;

Institute of Education - Sarah Marston

  • Dr Yota Dimitriadi
  • Dr Maria Kambouri

s.m.marston@reading.ac.uk;

y.dimitriadi@reading.ac.uk;

m.kambouri@reading.ac.uk;

International Study and Language Institute (ISLI) - Daniela Standen

d.standen@reading.ac.uk;

University of Reading Malaysia - Academic Director (Teaching & Learning), Associate Professor Anne Vergis

a.vergis@reading.edu.my;

Henley Business School (HBS) - Dr Lucy Newton

Deputy SDTL Dr Rhianydd Dow

* Please note that in HBS the SDTL works in conjunction with a team of Director of Studies who take on duties at module level and Heads of Programme Areas who together with Programme Area Directors take programme level duties. List below.

l.a.newton@henley.ac.uk;

rhianydd.dow@henley.ac.uk;

CQSD Representative for the SDTL Community of Practice - Joy Collier j.collier@reading.ac.uk;

Henley Business School - Directors of Studies

Henley Business School - Heads of Programme Areas

Henley Business School - Programme Area Directors

Things to do now

Contact the SDTL Community of Practice by email cqsd-dtls@lists.reading.ac.uk. To contact SDTLs only, please use the email addresses provided on the left of the page.