University of Reading cookie policy

We use cookies on to improve your experience, monitor site performance and tailor content to you.

Read our cookie policy to find out how to manage your cookie settings.

School and Departmental Directors of Teaching and Learning (DTLs)


See Responsibilities of School Directors of Teaching and Learning for a full description of the role and responsibilities.

Termly meetings

All community of practice meetings must be booked through UoRLearn. Termly meetings are organised for the School and Department Directors for Teaching and Learning. The agenda for these meetings are discussed and agreed in advance by the Pro-Vice Chancellor for Teaching and Learning and the Teaching and Learning Deans. Meeting dates can be found on UoRLearn (link above). If you have any suggestions for future meetings please contact Joy Collier

Changes to SDTLs

If there are any changes to the details below then please email the CQSD mailbox: to let us know and we will update the information accordingly.

Current SDTLs

School and Director Email

School of Agriculture, Policy and Development - Dr Gillian Rose

  • DDTL for Undergraduates - Kate Johnson
  • DDTL for Postgraduates - Giuseppe Nocella;;

School of Archaeology, Geography and Environmental Sciences - Alison MacLeod 

  • Department of Archaeology - Professor Mary Lewis
  • Department of Geography and Environmental Science - Dr Jess Neumann;;

School of Arts and Communication Design - Dr Rob Banham

  • Department of Art - Julia Crabtree
  • Department of Film, Theatre & Television -  (Dr Lisa Woynarski -Currently on Research Leave) Adam O'Brien
  • Department of Typography & Graphic Communication - James Lloyd;;;;

School of Biological Sciences - Dr Andrew Bicknell;

School of the Built Environment - Dr Shabnam Kabiri;

School of Chemistry, Food and Pharmacy - Rav Savania 

  • Department of Chemistry - Candyce Clark
  • Department of Pharmacy - Dr John Brazier
  • Department of Food and Nutritional Sciences - Dr Afroditi Chatzifragkou;;;

School of Humanities - Dr Christa Gray 

  • Department of Classics - Dr  Christa Gray 
  • Department of History - Professor Matthew Worley;;

School of Law - Sharon Sinclair-Graham

Deputy - Annika Newnham

Deputy - Frances Hamilton;;;

School of Literature and Languages - Dott. Enza Siciliano Verruccio

  • Department of Languages and Cultures - Dr Veronica Heath 
  • Department of English Literature - Dr Mary Morrissey 
  • Department of English Language and Applied Linguistics (UG) - Dr Fraibert Aveledo
  • Department of English Language and Applied Linguistics (PGT) - Dr Christiana Themistocleous;;;;

School of Mathematical, Physical and Computational Sciences - Dr Calvin Smith

  • Departmental Director of Computer Science - Dr Lily Sun;;

School of Philosophy, Politics and Economics - Dr David Marshall

  • Department of Politics and International Relations - Dr Alice Baderin
  • Department of Economics - Dr Fangya Xu
  • Department of Philosophy - Dr Charlotte Newey;;;;

School of Psychology and Clinical Language Science - Dr Rachel Pye 

  • Psychology Undergraduate - Dr Amanda Branson 
  • Psychology Postgraduate - Paul Jenkins
  • Clinical Language Sciences - Carol Fairfield
  • Charlie Waller Institute - Dr Katherine Simons;;;;;

Institute of Education - Sarah Marston

  • Dr Yota Dimitriadi
  • Dr Maria Kambouri;;;

International Study and Language Institute (ISLI) - Dr Mark Peace

Academic Director (Teaching & Learning) NUIST - Reading Academy - Daniela Standen;;

University of Reading Malaysia - Academic Director (Teaching & Learning), - Anne Vergis;

Henley Business School (HBS) SDTL - Dr Jorn Van de Wetering

Henley Business School (HBS) Deputy SDTL - Professor Emese Lazar 

* Please note that in HBS the SDTL works in conjunction with a team of Director of Studies who take on duties at module level and Heads of Programme Areas who together with Programme Area Directors take programme level duties. List below.;;

CQSD Representative for the SDTL Community of Practice - Joy Collier;

Henley Business School - Directors of Studies

Henley Business School - Heads of Programme Areas

Henley Business School - Programme Area Directors




Things to do now
  • Contact the SDTL Community of Practice by email To contact SDTLs only, please use the email addresses provided on the left of the page.
  • If there are any changes to the list of "Current SDTLs", then please email the CQSD mailbox: to let us know the change and we will update our records accordingly.