University of Reading cookie policy

We use cookies on reading.ac.uk to improve your experience, monitor site performance and tailor content to you

Read our cookie policy to find out how to manage your cookie settings

Here you'll find information about our current PhD students and the research projects they're working on.

Kwabena Ackon

Main interest: macroeconomics 

Supervisors: Dr Stefania Lovo and Professor Marina Della Giusta 

Year joined: 2020 

k.m.ackon@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Baker Audeh

Supervisors: Dr Hussein Hassan and Professor Anupam Nanda (external) 

Year joined: 2020 

b.a.s.audeh@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Jisan Afrin

Research cluster: Development Economics

Main interest: Gender Relations

Supervisors: Professor Uma Kambhampati and Dr Sam Rawlings

Year joined: 2017

j.afrin@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Noof Alfehaidi

Supervisors: Dr Hussein Hassan and Professor James Reade 

Year joined: 2020 

n.s.alfehaidi@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Ruqayya Aljifri

Main interest: Financial Economics 

Supervisors: Dr Simon Burke and Professor James Reade 

Year joined: 2018 

r.m.a.aljifri@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Salman Ebrahim Almutawa

Research cluster: Development Economics

Main interest: International Economics

Supervisors: Dr Hussein Hassan and Dr Stefania Lovo

Year joined: 2020

s.e.a.almutawa@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Personal website

Alanood Duhaim Alotaibi

Research cluster: Business Economics and Finance

Main interest: Macroeconomics

Supervisors: Dr Simon Burke and Professor James Reade

Year joined: 2019

a.d.m.alotaibi@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Reema Altheyab

Research cluster: Business Economics and Finance

Main interest: Entrepreneurship

Supervisors: Professor Mark Casson and Professor Simonetta Longhi

Year joined: 2018

r.a.m.altheyab@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Meshael Batarfi

Research cluster: Sports Economics 

Main interest: Development Economics 

Supervisors: Professor James Reade, Dr Minyan Zhu and Professor Mark Casson 

Year joined: 2018 

m.a.m.batarfi@pgr.reading.ac.uk 

Personal website

Anisa Butt

Research cluster: Labour and Household Economics 

Main interest: Economic Inequalities 

Supervisors: Professor Giovanni Razzu, Dr Sarah Jewell and Professor Simonetta Longhi 

Year joined: 2016 

a.k.butt2@pgr.reading.ac.uk 

Personal website

Jim Chen

Research cluster: Business Economics and Finance 

Main interest: Labour Economics 

Supervisors: Dr Vivien Burrows and Dr Sarah Jewell 

j.j.chen@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Grivas Shimonde Chiyabao

Research cluster: Development Economics 

Main interest: Foreign Direct Investment 

Supervisors: Professor Mark Casson and Dr Carl Singleton 

Year joined: 2018 

g.s.chiyaba@pgr.reading.ac.uk 

Personal website

James Christian

Supervisors: Professor James Reade and Dr Carl Singleton 

Year joined: 2020 

j.l.christian@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Andrew Clark

Research cluster: Business Economics and Finance 

Main interest: Monetary Economics 

Supervisors: Dr Alexander Mihailov and Professor James Reade 

Year joined: 2018 

andrew.clark@pgr.reading.ac.uk 

Personal website

Nurjihan Idris

Research cluster: Labour and Household Economics 

Main interest: Labour Economics 

Supervisors: Dr Sarah Jewell and Professor Simonetta Longhi 

Year joined: 2014 

mg819350@reading.ac.uk 

Personal website

Abdulaleem Isaika

Main interest: Fiscal Policy 

Supervisors: Dr Alexander Mihailov and Professor Giovanni Razzu 

Year joined: 2019 

a.m.isiaka@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Muayad Ismail

Main interest: International Macroeconomics 

Supervisors: Professor James Reade and Dr Joo Young Jeon 

Year joined: 2018 

m.ismail@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Sonia Jan Alam

Research cluster: Development Economics 

Main interest: Environmental Economics 

Supervisors: Professor Uma Kambhampati and Dr Neha Hui 

Year joined: 2019 

sonia2@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Minko Markovski

Supervisors: Dr Alexander Mihailov and Dr Hussein Hassan 

Year joined: 2020 

m.t.markovski@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Suraj Mattai

Research cluster: Business Economics and Finance

Main interest: Econometrics

Supervisors: Dr Carl Singleton and Dr Stephen Kastoryano

Year joined: 2020

s.r.mattai@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Bushan Mohan

Research cluster: Development Economics

Main interest: Economics of Education

Supervisors: Professor Uma Kambhampati and Dr Sarah Jewell

Year joined: 2018 (Part-Time)

b.mohan@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Lillian Mookodi

Supervisors: Professor Giovanni Razzu and Professor Simonetta Longhi 

Year joined: 2020 

l.mookodi@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Winnie Muangi

Research cluster: Behavioural Economics

Main interest: Applied Microeconomics

Supervisors: Dr Steven Bosworth and Dr Sophie Clot

Year joined: 2020

w.c.muangi@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Caterina Muratori

Supervisors: Professor Marina Della Giusta and Professor Maria Laura Di Tommaso (external) 

Year joined: 2020 

c.muratori@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Willie Nakunyada

Research cluster: Development Economics

Main interest: Banking and Finance

Supervisors: Dr Stefania Lovo and Dr Minyan Zhu

Year joined: 2019

w.nakunyada@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Kaelo Mpho Ntwaepel

Main interest: Monetary Policy 

Supervisors: Dr Alexander Mihailov and Dr Mark Guzman 

Year joined: 2020 

k.m.ntwaepelo@pgr.reading.ac.uk 

Personal website

Stephen Opata

Main interest: Time Series Econometrics 

Supervisors: Professor James Reade and Dr Simon Burke 

Year joined: 2018 

s.k.opata@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Wei-Fong Pan

Research cluster: Labour and Household Economics

Main interest: Labour Economics

Supervisors: Dr Simon Burke, Dr Shixuan Wang and Professor James Reade

Year joined: 2019

wei-fong.pan@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Personal website

Philip Ramirez

Research cluster: Sports Economics

Main interest: Sports Economics

Supervisors: Professor James Reade and Dr Carl Singleton

Year joined: 2019

p.ramirez@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Richa Saun

Research cluster: Labour and Household Economics

Supervisors: Professor Marina Della Giusta and Professor Simonetta Longhi

richa.saun@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Personal website

Hafsa Shoukat

Research cluster: Development Economics

Main interest: Defense Economics

Supervisors: Professor James Reade and Dr Joo Young Jeon

Year joined: 2017

h.shoukat@pgr.reading.ac.uk

David Spiller

Supervisors: Professor Ken Dark and Professor Mark Casson 

Year joined: 2020 

d.m.spiller@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Anurag Srivastava

Research cluster: Behavioural Economics

Main interest: Applied Microeconomics

Supervisors: Professor Uma Kambhampati and Dr Vivien Burrows

Year joined: 2015

a.srivastava@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Personal website

Adesola Sunmoni

Research cluster: Labour and Household Economics

Main interest: Economics of Migration

Supervisors: Dr Stefania Lovo and Professor Simonetta Longhi

Year joined: 2018

a.o.sunmoni@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Personal website

Elly Twineyo Kamungisha

Research cluster: Development Economics

Main interest: Corruption and Firm Growth

Supervisors: Dr Sam Rawlings and Dr Stefania Lovo

Year joined: 2019

e.r.k.twineyo@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Zain Ul-Abadin

Research cluster: Development Economics

Main interest: Applied Microeconomics

Supervisors: Professor Uma Kambhampati and Dr Sarah Jewell

Year joined: 2016

z.ul-abadin@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Jemma Underdown

Main interest: Societal Change

Supervisors: Professor Ken Dark and Professor Mark Casson

j.m.g.underdown@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Ifeatu Uzodinma

Research cluster: Behavioural Economics

Main interest: Psychology of Poverty

Supervisors: Dr Sophie Clot and Dr Steven Bosworth

Year joined: 2019

i.u.uzodinma@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Zhe Wang

Research cluster: Labour and Household Economics

Main interest: Monetary Policy

Supervisors: Dr Alexander Mihailov and Professor Giovanni Razzu

Year joined: 2017

zhe.wang@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Personal website

Duo Xu

Research cluster: Business Economics and Finance

Main interest: Monetary Economics

Supervisors: Dr Alexander Mihailov and Professor James Reade

duo.xu@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Personal website

Matthew Yeo

Research cluster: Sports Economics

Main interest: Political Economics

Supervisors: Professor James Reade, Dr Tho Pham and Dr David Marshall

Year joined: 2019

m.j.yeo@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Anna Zabrodzka

Research cluster: Development Economics

Main interest: Economic Growth Policies

Supervisors: Andi Nygaard (external) and Professor Giovanni Razzu

Year joined: 2016

qj902409@reading.ac.uk

Personal website