Skip to main content

Staff profiles – University of Reading

Show access keys
  • Exceptional knowledge and expertise

    Our staff cover an impressive range of political topics and issues

Staff profiles

Department of Politics and International Relations staff

Jump to:

For information on our PhD students, please visit our dedicated page.

Politics Academic Staff


Job Title



Dr Christoph Arndt

Lecturer in Comparative Politics

Junior Admissions Officer

+44 (0)118 378 8159
Dr Alice Baderin


Director of Undergraduate Studies

+44 (0)118 378 5639

Dr Andreas Behnke

Associate Professor

Study Abroad Co-ordinator

Director of Studies of the MA in International Security

+44 (0)118 378 7129

Dr Sarah von Billerbeck

Associate Professor in Politics and International Relations

Director of Postgraduate Taught Programmes

Co-Director, UN and Global Order Programme (UNGOP)

+44 (0)118 378 8517
Dr Martin Binder

Associate Professor in International Relations

Research Division Lead

+44 (0)118 378 6907
Dr Dawn Clarke  Teaching Fellow +44 (0)118 378 7124

Professor Alan Cromartie

Professor of the History of Political Thought

Postgraduate Research Director

+44 (0)118 378 6781

Dr Brian Feltham Lecturer in Political Theory +44 (0)118 378 7130
Dr Carl Gibson Teaching Fellow +44 (0)118 378 6362
Dr Kerry Goettlich

Lecturer in International Security

Research Seminar Organiser

Director of Studies for the MA in Strategic Studies

+44 (0)118 378 5065

Dr Jonathan Golub

Associate Professor 

Examinations Officer

+44 (0)118 378 7127

Professor Daphne Halikiopoulou

Professor of Comparative Politics

+44 (0)118 378 8519
Dr Corinne Heaven

REF Planning Officer

Postdoctoral Research Assistant

+44 (0)118 378 7058

Dr Christina Hellmich

Associate Professor

+44 (0)118 378 6216
Dr Georgina Holmes

Leverhulme Early Career Research Fellow

+44 (0)118 378 7058
Dr Adam Humphreys

Associate Professor

AHEP lead

+44 (0)118 378 6107
Dr Robert Jubb

Associate Professor

Departmental Director of Teaching and Learning

+44 (0)118 378 8500
Dr Younis Lahwej Teaching Fellow +44 (0)118 378 8159
Dr David Marshall

Associate Professor

School Director of Teaching and Learning

+44 (0)118 378 7369
Dr Graham O'Dwyer Teaching Fellow in Politics and International Relations +44 (0)118 378 8501
Dr Joseph O'Mahoney

Lecturer in Politics and International Relations

Director of Recruitment and Admissions

Admissions Tutor

+44 (0)118 378 7832
Dr Brandon Beomseob Park Lecturer in Comparative Politics +44 (0)118 378 3684
Dr Vladimir Rauta Lecturer in Politics & International Relations  +44 (0)118 378 8501
Dr Andrew Reid  Teaching Fellow in Political Theory
Dr Mark Shanahan Head of Department of Politics and International Relations +44 (0)118 378 8854

Dr Geoffrey Sloan

Associate Professor

+44 (0)118 378 7128

Dr Kenton White Teaching Fellow +44 (0)118 378 5152
Dr Matthew Whiting Lecturer in British and Comparative Politics

Professor Dominik Zaum

Professor of Governance, Conflict and Security

Pro-Vice Chancellor of Research and Innovation

+44 (0)118 378 6108

School staff

Name Job Title Telephone


Professor Uma Kambhampati Head of School +44 (0)118 378 5248
Dr David Marshall School Director of Teaching and Learning +44 (0)118 378 7369
Nicola Sandford Executive Administration Manager +44 (0)118 378 7361
Purnima Darji Placement Co-ordinator +44 (0)118 378 8230
Tina Bhati Placement Administrator +44 (0)118 378 6004
Vicki Matthews Executive Administration Officer +44 (0)118 378 8148

Sessional Staff

Name Email
Africa Bauza Garcia-Arcicollar
Jamie Draper
Dr Pierre Hausemer
Dr David Kelly
Livia Luzzato
Adam Pearce


Name Position
Ibrahim Aziz Academic Visitor
Fiona Almond Academic Visitor
Paul Baroni Visiting Research Fellow
Brian Burridge Visiting Professor
David Capewell Visiting Professor
Valerie Caton Visiting Fellow
Tony Coates Academic Visitor
Tim Cross Visiting Professor
Stephen Deakin Visiting Research Fellow
Thomas Edbrooke Visiting Research Fellow
Stephen Gardiner Visiting Professor
Colin Gray Emeritus Professor
Robert Hobbs Visiting Research Fellow
R J B Jones Emeritus Professor
Sir Oliver Letwin Visiting Professor
Stuart Mackie Visiting Research Fellow
Andrée- Anne Mélançon Visiting Research Fellow
Andrew Primmer Visiting Research Fellow
Malte Riemann Visiting Research Fellow
Norma Rossi Visiting Research Fellow
Rupert Smith Visiting Professor
Nigel Stafford Visiting Research Fellow
Laurence Thackwray Visiting Research Fellow
Max Thompson Visiting Research Fellow
Eugene Trivizas Academic Visitor
Peter Woodward Emeritus Professor
Robert Wilson Academic Visitor
Edmund York Visiting Research Fellow


We use Javascript to improve your experience on, but it looks like yours is turned off. Everything will still work, but it is even more beautiful with Javascript in action. Find out more about why and how to turn it back on here.
We also use cookies to improve your time on the site, for more information please see our cookie policy.

Back to top