Accessibility navigation

Celebrating Teaching and Learning 2019

Colour photogrpah of vice chancellor Robert Van der Noort and winners of 2019 teachign and learngin awards

On Wednesday 25 September, the 2019 Celebration of Teaching and Learning Success awards were held in the Meadow Suite, with awards presented to colleagues and students for their outstanding contributions to teaching and learning. The annual event is a valuable opportunity to recognise both individual and collaborative achievements, and demonstrate our institutional drive for innovation and excellence. They are co-ordinated by the University’s Centre for Quality Support and Development (CQSD).

This year, for the first time, a number of current and previous award winners spoke about the aspects of their work that led to them receiving their awards, and what winning had meant to them. The winners, spanning a number of categories, are detailed below, and also in our official event booklet.

National Teaching Fellowship Awards

The National Teaching Fellowship scheme, run by Advance HE, celebrates and rewards outstanding individual impact on teaching and learning across the country. National Teaching Fellows play a crucial role in enhancing teaching and learning within their institution, the higher education sector and further afield.

This year, we had the pleasure of congratulating Professor Yelena Kalyuzhnova (Henley Business School) and Dr Yota Dimitriadi (Institute of Education), who were both awarded National Teaching Fellowships, which are widely considered to be the most prestigious teaching awards in higher education. Please see our Staff Portal article and press release for further information on the achievements of our new NTFs.

University Teaching Fellowship Awards

The University Teaching Fellowship is a highly respected and competitive award for staff who demonstrate individual excellence and dedication to the development of teaching and learning within the University and beyond. The application process is rigorous, and many of the applications put forward this year were of an exceptionally high quality. 2019’s winners were:

  • Dr Carol Padgett (Henley Business School)
  • Amanda Millmore (Law)
  • Catherine Langran (Chemistry, Food and Pharmacy)
  • Clare McCullagh (Centre for Quality Support and Development)
  • Dr Nicola Abram (Literature and Languages)

Please see our Staff Portal article for further information on the achievements of our new UTFs.

University Collaborative Awards for outstanding contributions to teaching and learning 

The Teaching & Learning Collaborative awards is a highly competitive scheme that seeks to recognise and reward groups of staff who have made significant and ongoing contributions to the student learning experience. Core to these awards, is a clear demonstration of an integrated and collaborative approach to enhancing teaching and learning.

This year, Dr Madeleine Davies (English Literature), Professor Eric Kindel (Typography & Graphic Communication), Mr James Lloyd (Typography & Graphic Communication), Mr Geoff Wyeth (Typography & Graphic Communication) and Ms June Lin (Typography graduate; part 2 student at the time) were recognised with the Award for their project ‘Second Sight: The Margaret Atwood Learning Journals’.

The team of staff worked with students via the ‘Real Jobs’ scheme to edit and design a book, Second Sight: The Margaret Atwood Learning Journals, which showcases the work of 28 students. The book has led to a wide range of positive outcomes, including allowing students to demonstrate the quality of their writing to potential employers, and has generated interest from other institutions. Second Sight has also been praised by Margaret Atwood herself. Please see our Staff Portal article for further information about this Collaborative award.

Academic Practice Programme (APP) Award

The Academic Practice Programme (APP) is the institution’s Advance HE accredited taught development programme for lecturers and other colleagues who teach and support learning at the University of Reading. Each year in memory of Professor David Malvern, the David Malvern APP Prize is awarded.  Professor Malvern was the first Programme Director for the University’s Postgraduate Certificate in Academic Practice and his energy and passion for teaching and learning has left a lasting legacy at Reading through the APP. The David Malvern APP Prize is awarded to the participant who has achieved the highest standard across all of their assignments for each of the APP modules.

This year Dr Karl-Mikael Perfekt (Mathematics) and Dr Richard Blakemore (History) were both recognised with this Award.

Please join us in congratulating our 2019 winners!

Page navigation

Search Form

Main navigation