Accessibility navigation

Celebrating Teaching and Learning 2018

Colour group photograph of award recipients

The 2018 Celebration of Teaching and Learning Success awards were held towards the end of September, with awards presented to colleagues for their outstanding contributions to teaching and learning. The annual awards recognise individual and team efforts and are co-ordinated by the University’s Centre for Quality Support and Development (CQSD).

University Teaching Fellowship Scheme (UTFS)

The UTFS is a prestigious and competitive award conferred on an individual who has demonstrated individual excellence and contributed to the development of teaching and learning within the University and beyond. The winners are:

Prof Jane Setter, Director of Academic Tutoring, Literature and Language

Dr Kim Shahabudin, Study Adviser, Study Advice and Maths Support

Dr Natasha Barrett, Lecturer, Biological Sciences

Vicki Holmes, Head of Technology Enhanced Learning, Centre for Quality Support and Development

John Slaght, TEEP Coordinator, International Study and Language Institute

Dr Gillian Rose, BSc Director, School of Agriculture, Policy and Development

Dr Rob Hosfield, Associate Professor, Archaeology, Geography and Environmental Sciences

Dr Steve Musson, Head of the Department of Geography and Environmental Science, Archaeology, Geography and Environmental Sciences

Dr Maria Danos, Lecturer, Institute of Education

Dr Jeanne-Louise Moys, Programme Director for MA Creative Enterprise, Typography and Graphic Communication

University collaborative awards for outstanding contributions to teaching and learning 

This is a highly competitive scheme that recognises and rewards select groups of staff who have made significant and ongoing contributions to the student learning experience and who have also demonstrated an integrated team approach to enhancing teaching and learning. This year, three teams have been recognised with this award.

New module in BA in Children’s Development and Learning (BACDL)

Dr Maria Danos, Ms Jo Elsey, Mrs Caroline Guard, Mrs Hilary Harris, Dr Geoff Taggart (all Institute of Education) and Dr Kamilah Jooganah (Centre for Quality Support & Development).  The team’s aim was to develop and finalise a new module for BACDL in close partnership with students. The new module will replace two existing modules from the 2018-19 academic year, aiming to reduce overall assessment at the BACDL programme level – a need which was identified during a recent Curriculum Review Exercise.

Partnered celebration of ‘Vote 100’

Dr Madeleine Davies (English Literature), Dr Jacqui Turner (History) and Mr Guy Baxter (University Museums and Special Collections Services).

In celebration of ‘Vote 100’, the ‘Feminism 100’ event series was jointly organised by the School of Languages and Literature and the School of Humanities and ran over the spring term 2018. The series of events produced three significant achievements; it stimulated a creative and innovative collaboration between departments, schools and centres, cultivated a close partnership between staff and students from History, Classics and Literature, and showcased the value of student engagement activity and of work placement modules. The collaboration is a shining example of what we are most proud of at Reading – our students and our teaching and learning partnerships.

Launch of ‘Study Smart’

Mrs Sonia Hood, Dr Michelle Reid, Dr Kim Shahabudin (all Study Advice & Maths Support), Mrs Nicky Mcgirr, Dr Matthew Nicholls, Ms Anastasia Rattigan, Ms Yen Tu (all Centre for Quality Support & Development) and Dr Paddy Woodman (Student Services).

‘Study Smart’ is an online course aimed at supporting new Reading undergraduates in their transition to university. It features three weeks of interactive content, including video, discussions, articles and exercises, and covers key aspects of university study (such as critical thinking and communication). The course was collaboratively developed by the Study Advice and Open Online Course (OOC) teams, with strategic support from the Directors of Widening Participation and Student Access, and of Open Online Courses.

Speaking of this year’s awards, Professor Gavin Brooks, Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Teaching and Learning, said:

“Recognising and rewarding the outstanding contributions of colleagues to teaching and learning are key elements of the University’s T&L Strategy and are fundamental to the fulfilment of our vision.

I am delighted for this opportunity to congratulate the award winners and pay tribute to their exceptional contribution of the very best in teaching and learning practice and the impact they have had on our students’ experience and the wider T&L community.”


Page navigation

Search Form

Main navigation