Accessibility navigation

University Awards for Outstanding Contributions to Teaching and Learning (Collaborative) 2015

Teaching and Learning Awards 2015

L-R Dr Elizabeth McCrum, Dr Rebecca Harris, Dr Elizabeth Matthew

Professor Gavin Brooks, Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Teaching and Learning, is delighted to announce the three recipients of the 2015 University Collaborative Awards for Outstanding Contributions to Teaching and Learning.  This is a highly competitive scheme that recognises and rewards select groups of staff that have made significant and ongoing contributions to the student learning experience and also who have demonstrated an integrated team approach to enhance teaching and learning.  

15 applications were submitted for the 2015 Scheme and the Collaborative Awards Panel were delighted with the very high standard of proposals this year.  Three cross-disciplinary teams have been selected for a 2015 University Collaborative Award as follows:


For the development of the module History Education, enabling Part 3 History students to reflect on and develop their interest in postgraduate careers in teaching: 

Dr Elizabeth Matthew, History

Dr Elizabeth McCrum, Faculty of Science

Dr Rebecca Harris, Institute of Education


For pioneering interdisciplinary teaching through the development of Science in Culture, a module designed for students on Biology, History and English Literature degree programmes:

Dr John Holmes, English Literature          

Prof Nick Battey, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology                               

Prof David Stack, History                           

Dr Keith Chappell, School of Biological Sciences 

Dr Steve Ansell, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology                    

Dr Andrew Mangham, English Literature


For their collaborative approach to the development of subject-specific English skills for Chemistry 3+1 students:

Mr Stephen Thomas, International Study and Language Institute

Dr Elizabeth Page, Chemistry       

Mr Aaron Woodcock, International Study and Language Institute                  

Mr Bruce Howell, International Study and Language Institute                         

Dr Peiyi Li, Chemistry                                            

Each team will receive an award of £3,000.  An awards ceremony will take place later in the year to formally recognise and celebrate the winners' achievements.



Page navigation

Search Form

Main navigation