Accessibility navigation

Congratulations to our 2014 National Teaching Fellowship nominees

National Teaching Fellowship nominees 2014

Dr Matthew Nicholls, Professor Jane Setter and Professor Matthew Almond

Congratulations to Dr Matthew Nicholls (Classics), Professor Jane Setter (English Language and Applied Linguistics) and Professor Matthew Almond (Chemistry), who have been chosen to represent the University as nominees in this year's National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS).

Run by the Higher Education Academy (HEA), the NTFS aims to raise the profile of learning and teaching, recognise and celebrate individuals who make an outstanding impact on the student learning experience and provide a national focus for institutional teaching and learning practices.

Each year, up to 55 awards of £10,000 are made to recognise individual excellence, their intention being to support the Fellows' professional development in teaching and learning pedagogy.

Reading's nominees were chosen by the University's NTFS Selection Panel on the basis of their outstanding contribution to teaching and learning and ongoing commitment to developing and sharing best practice, both for internal and external audiences.

Colleagues were invited to draft an ‘expression of interest' for the NTFS, which was then reviewed by a panel, chaired by Professor Gavin Brooks. Colleagues who expressed an interest in this scheme, but who were not selected as this year's NTFS nominees, will be offered tailored, teaching and learning developmental support from Centre for Quality Support and Development.

The winners of the 2014 NTFS will be decided by 12 June 2014. For further information about the scheme visit the HEA website.

Dr Anne Crook received a National Teaching Fellowship for 2013.

Page navigation

Search Form

Main navigation