Skip to main content

Our staff – University of Reading

Show access keys
  • A friendly, inclusive community

    We're ready to work with you

Our staff

​Department of Philosophy staff

Academic staff

Name Position, Role  Contact Details
Professor Emma Borg Professor
Director of the Centre for Cognition Research

e.g.n.borg@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 8324

Professor Maximilian De Gaynesford Professor
Director of Teaching and Learning

r.m.degaynesford@reading.ac.uk 
+44 (0) 118 378 6679

Dr Luke Elson

Lecturer
Director of Postgraduate Research Studies Coordinator
REAPP (Reading Ethics and Political Philosophy)
Part 3 Co-Ordinator

luke.elson@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 7329

Dr Jumbly Grindrod

Lecturer
Visiting speakers
Philosophy Society
Part 1 co-ordinator
Part 3 Dissertation co-ordinator

j.grindrod@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 6064

Dr Nat Hansen

Associate Professor
Social media, online development

n.d.hansen@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 6993

Dr Charlotte Newey

Lecturer
Undergraduate Admissions
PPE Co-ordinator

c.newey@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 8118

Professor David Oderberg Professor
Head of Department

d.s.oderberg@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 5277

Professor John Preston

Professor
China Liaison

j.m.preston@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 7327

Dr Severin Schroeder Associate Professor
Assessment Officer
Part 2 Co-ordinator

s.j.schroeder@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 7333

Dr Shalini Sinha

Lecturer in Non-Western Philosophy
Schools liaison
Careers and alumni
Placement Year
Senior Tutor

shalini.sinha@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 7368

Professor Philip Stratton-Lake

Professor
Research Division Lead
REF Lead
MRes Co-ordinator

p.j.stratton-lake@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 7562

EMERITUS academic STAFF

Name Position Contact
Professor John Cottingham Professor Emeritus j.g.cottingham@reading.ac.uk
Professor Jonathan Dancy Professor Emeritus j.p.dancy@reading.ac.uk
Professor Brad Hooker

Professor Emeritus

b.w.hooker@reading.ac.uk
+44 (0) 118 378 6631
Mr Michael Proudfoot Honorary Fellow m.a.proudfoot@reading.ac.uk

Support and programme administration

Name Position Telephone Email
Naomi Emmerson UG & PGT +44 (0) 118 378 6257 philosophy-admin@reading.ac.uk 
Karin Mundt  UG & PGT +44 (0) 118 378 5648 philosophy-admin@reading.ac.uk 
Catherine O'Hare PGR +44 (0) 118 378 5799 c.l.o.hare@reading.ac.uk
www.reading.ac.uk/history

We use Javascript to improve your experience on reading.ac.uk, but it looks like yours is turned off. Everything will still work, but it is even more beautiful with Javascript in action. Find out more about why and how to turn it back on here.
We also use cookies to improve your time on the site, for more information please see our cookie policy.

Back to top