Press Releases

Summer Honorary Degree Ceremonies – University of Reading

Release Date : 06 July 2004

The Chief Executive of the British Library, the Chairman of Classic FM and of the Dixons Group and a leading scientist from the Rutherford-Appleton Laboratory will receive Honorary Degrees from the University at the July Graduation ceremonies in the Great Hall, London Road. Thursday 8 July: 12 noon Sir John Collins is a Reading graduate and is currently Chairman of the Dixons Group and a former Chairman both of National Power and of Shell UK. Professor Richard Ellis, Head of the School of Agriculture, Policy and Development will present Sir John for the degree of Doctor of Science. Friday 9 July: 12.15 Professor Gerhard Materlik is Chief Executive of the Diamond Synchrotron Radiation Source at the Rutherford-Appleton Laboratory, Oxfordshire and a Visiting Professor at the University. Professor Materlik will be presented for the honorary degree of Doctor of Science by Professor Geoffrey Mitchell, Professor of Polymer Physics in the School of Mathematics, Meteorology and Physics. 2.45 Newbury-based Sir Peter Michael, Chairman of Classic FM radio and an entrepreneur of distinction will be presented for the Honorary Degree of Doctor of Laws by Professor Jim Pemberton, Head of the University's Business School, at the 2.45 pm ceremony. Saturday 10 July : 12.15 Reading graduate Ms Lynne Brindley is a leading expert on knowledge management in higher education and is currently Chief Executive of the British Library. She will be presented for the honorary degree of Doctor of Letters by Mrs Annette Haworth, Director of Information Services. For further details and to arrange photographs please contact Sue Rayner or Carol Derham on 0118 378 8004/5 Fax 0118 378 5431; e-mail


Search Form

Main navigation