Skip to main content

Meet the team – University of Reading

Show access keys
  • Academic excellence

    directly informs teaching

Meet the team

These lists will give you an idea of the interest areas and roles of the staff within the department. For a more detailed view of each staff member you can visit their individual profile pages by clicking on their name.

Academic

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Dott. Rita Balestrini

Lecturer

Italian Studies

+44 (0)118 378 6280

r.balestrini@reading.ac.uk

Felicity Becker

Lecturer

British Sign Language

+44 (0)118 378 7148

felicity.becker@reading.ac.uk

Celine Biart

Lecturer

French Studies

+44 (0)118 378 3731

 c.biart@reading.ac.uk

 

Dott. ssa Francesca Brunotti Lettrice di ruolo, Italian Studies  +44 (0)118 378 8086  f.brunotti@reading.ac.uk
Dr Alice Christensen

Lecturer

German Studies

 +44 (0)118 3783641

 a.r.christensen@reading.ac.uk

 

Dr Chiara Ciarlo

Lecturer

Italian Studies

+44(0)118 378 6980

c.ciarlo@reading.ac.uk

Dr Chiara Cirillo

Director of IWLP

+44 118 378 8885

c.cirillo@reading.ac.uk

Angela Mira Conejero

Lecturer

Spanish Language

 +44(0)118 378 3695

a.miraconejero@reading.ac.uk

 

Virginia Dimitroff

Teaching Fellow

Spanish Language

+44 (0)118 378 3198

v.g.dimitroff@reading.ac.uk

Professor Timothy Duff

Professor

Classics and Modern Greek

 +44 (0)118 3787938  t.e.duff@reading.ac.uk

Ilan Dwek

Lecturer

British Sign Language

NA

i.g.dwek@reading.ac.uk

Dr Cherilyn Elston

Lecturer

Latin American Cultural Studies

+44 (0) 118 3787325

c.elston@reading.ac.uk

Professor Federico Faloppa

Associate Professor

Italian Studies

+44 (0) 118 3786503

f.faloppa@reading.ac.uk

Mr Oscar Garcia Garcia

Lecturer

Spanish Studies

+44 (0) 118 378 7650

o.garciagarcia@reading.ac.uk

Dr Marjorie Gehrhardt

Associate Professor

French Studies

+44(0) 118 378 8120

m.i.s.gehrhardt@reading.ac.uk

Dr Camila Gonzalez Ortiz

Lecturer 

Latin American Studies

+44(0) 118 378 3642

 c.y.gonzalezortiz@reading.ac.uk

 

Dr Veronica Heath

Lecturer

French Studies

+44 (0) 118 3788332

v.heath@reading.ac.uk

Dr Sophie Heywood

Associate Professor

French Studies

+44(0) 118 378 7322

s.l.heywood@reading.ac.uk

Wendy Hillier

 

Lecturer/Coordinator

German Language

 +44 (0)118 378 5043

w.l.hillier@reading.ac.uk

Kazumi Hiramatsu-Kidd

Lecturer/Co-ordinator

Japanese Language

+44(0) 118 378 6425

k.hiramatsu-kidd@reading.ac.uk

M.A. Regine Klimpfinger

 

Lecturer

German Studies

+44 (0) 118 3787946

r.klimpfinger@reading.ac.uk

Professor Daniela La Penna

Head of Department

Italian Studies

+44 (0) 118 3786502

d.lapenna@reading.ac.uk

Dr Younis Lahwej

Lecturer

Arabic Language

+44 (0) 118378 8125

y.a.lahwej@reading.ac.uk

Dr Denisse Lazo-González

Lecturer

Spanish Language

+44 (0) 118378 3197

d.lazo-gonzalez@reading.ac.uk

Dr Athena S. Leoussi

Director

European Studies

+44 (0) 118 3786083

a.s.leoussi@reading.ac.uk

Cong Xia Li

Lecturer/Co-ordinator

Chinese Language

+44 (0) 118 378 6295

congxia.li@reading.ac.uk

Mr Raul Marchena Magadan

Lecturer

Spanish Studies

+44 (0) 118 3786364

r.marchenamagadan@reading.ac.uk

Ugo Marsili

Lecturer

Italian and Spanish Language

+44 (0) 118 3787319

u.marsili@reading.ac.uk

Dr Catriona McAllister

Lecturer

Spanish Studies

+44(0) 118 378 8331

c.mcallister@reading.ac.uk

Robert McCluskey

Lecturer

British Sign Language

 NA 

 r.j.mccluskey@reading.ac.uk

 

Dr John McKeane

Lecturer

French Studies

+44 (0) 118 3787320

j.mckeane@reading.ac.uk

Nigora Nasirova

Lecturer

Russian Language

+44 (0)118 378 3206

n.nasirova@reading.ac.uk

Anne Nobio

Lecturer

French Language

+44 (0)118 378 5276

a.nobio@reading.ac.uk

Dr Marine Orain

Lecturer

French Studies

+44(0) 118 378 7952

m.orain@reading.ac.uk

Asako Partington

Lecturer/Co-ordinator

Japanese Language

+44 (0)118 378 5043

a.partington@reading.ac.uk

Dr Lidija Pasuljevic Shimwell

Lecturer

French Language

+44 (0)118 378 8125

l.pasuljevicshimwell@reading.ac.uk

Dr Sophie Payne

Lecturer

German Language

+44 (0)118 378 3203

s.l.payne@reading.ac.uk

Dr Ellen Pilsworth

Lecturer

German Studies

 

+44(0) 118 378 8126

e.m.pilsworth@reading.ac.uk

Dr Claire Ross

Lecturer

German Studies

+44 (0) 118 378 3205

c.a.ross@reading.ac.uk

Dr Melani Schroeter

Associate Professor

German Studies

 +44 (0)118 378 6384

 m.schroeter@reading.ac.uk

 

Dott. Enza Siciliano Verruccio

Associate Professor

Italian Studies

+44 (0) 118 3785242

e.sicilianoverruccio@reading.ac.uk

Suzanne Smith

Lecturer

British Sign Language

NA 

suzanne.smith@reading.ac.uk

Dr Marta Simó Comas

Lecturer

Spanish Studies

+44 (0) 118 3788404

m.simo-comas@reading.ac.uk

Yuko Tochii

Lecturer

Japanese Language

+44 (0) 118 3783199

y.tochii@reading.ac.uk

Dr Dimitra Tzanidaki-Kreps

Lecturer

Classics and Modern Greek Language

 +44 (0)118 3788420  d.tzanidaki-kreps@reading.ac.uk

Professor Julia Waters

Professor

French Studies

+44 (0) 118 3787305

j.waters@reading.ac.uk

Dr Ute Wolfel

Associate Professor

German Studies

+44 (0) 118 3788422

u.wolfel@reading.ac.uk

Emeritus Professors

Name

Position

Email

Emeritus Professor Andrew Knapp

Emeritus Professor

European Studies

a.f.knapp@reading.ac.uk

 

Emeritus Professor David Robey

 Emeritus Professor

Italian Studies

d.j.b.robey@reading.ac.uk
Emeritus Professor John Sandford  Emeritus Professor

German Studies

j.e.sandford@reading.ac.uk

 

 

Emeritus Professor Hugo Tucker

Emeritus Professor

 French Studies

(Established Chair)

 g.h.tucker@reading.ac.uk

Administrators

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Rachel Wood IWLP Programme Administrator  +44 (0) 118 378 7318  r.m.wood@reading.ac.uk
Sarah Lodge Year Abroad Administrator   +44 (0) 118 378 6551

 s.e.lodge@reading.ac.uk

 

We use Javascript to improve your experience on reading.ac.uk, but it looks like yours is turned off. Everything will still work, but it is even more beautiful with Javascript in action. Find out more about why and how to turn it back on here.
We also use cookies to improve your time on the site, for more information please see our cookie policy.

Back to top