Skip to main content

Meet the team – University of Reading

Show access keys
  • Academic excellence

    directly informs teaching

Meet the team

These lists will give you an idea of the interest areas and roles of the staff within the department. For a more detailed view of each staff member you can visit their individual profile pages by clicking on their name.

Academic

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Dott. Rita Balestrini

Teaching Fellow

Italian Studies

+44 (0) 118 378 6280

r.balestrini@reading.ac.uk

Fliss Becker

Sessional Tutor

British Sign Language

+44 (0) 118 378 7729

felicity.becker@reading.ac.uk

Dr Chiara Ciarlo

Teaching Fellow

Italian Studies

+44(0) 0118 378 6980

c.ciarlo@reading.ac.uk

Dr Chiara Cirillo

Director of IWLP

+44 118 378 8885

c.cirillo@reading.ac.uk

Virginia Dimitroff

Teaching Fellow

Spanish Language

+44 (0) 118 378 7729

v.g.dimitroff@reading.ac.uk

Professor Timothy Duff

Professor

Classics and Modern Greek

 +44 (0) 118 378 7938  t.e.duff@reading.ac.uk

Ilan Dwek

Teaching Fellow

British Sign Language

+44 (0) 118 378 7729

i.g.dwek@reading.ac.uk

Dr Cherilyn Elston

Lecturer

Latin American Cultural Studies

+44 (0) 118 378 7325

c.elston@reading.ac.uk

Dr Federico Faloppa

Associate Professor

Italian Studies

+44 (0) 118 378 6503

f.faloppa@reading.ac.uk

Ms Claudia Francois

Teaching Fellow

French Studies

+44 (0) 118 378 8126

c.francois@reading.ac.uk

Mr Oscar Garcia Garcia

Teaching Fellow

Spanish Studies

+44 (0) 118 378 7650

o.garciagarcia@reading.ac.uk

Dr Marjorie Gehrhardt

Lecturer

French Studies

+44(0) 118 378 8120

m.i.s.gehrhardt@reading.ac.uk

Hannah Hayes

Teaching Fellow

Chinese Language

+44 (0) 118 378 8375

h.hayes@reading.ac.uk

Dr Veronica Heath

Lecturer

French Studies

+44 (0) 118 378 8332

v.heath@reading.ac.uk

Dr Sophie Heywood

Associate Professor

French Studies

+44(0) 118 378 7322

s.l.heywood@reading.ac.uk

Kazumi Hiramatsu-Kidd

Lecturer/Co-ordinator

Japanese Language

tbc

k.hiramatsu-kidd@reading.ac.uk

Ichiko Howells

Sessional Tutor

Japanese Language

+44 (0) 118 378 7729

i.c.howells@reading.ac.uk

M.A. Regine Klimpfinger

Teaching Fellow

German Studies

+44 (0) 118 378 7946

r.klimpfinger@reading.ac.uk

Mag.Elisabeth Koenigshofer

Teaching Fellow

German Studies

+44(0) 118 378 8330

e.koenigshofer@reading.ac.uk

Professor Parvathi Kumaraswami

Professor

Spanish Studies

+44 (0) 118 378 6304

p.kumaraswami@reading.ac.uk

Dr Daniela La Penna

Head of Department

Italian Studies

+44 (0) 118 378 6502

d.lapenna@reading.ac.uk

Younis Lahwej

Teaching Fellow

Arabic Language

+44 (0) 118 378 8375

y.a.lahwej@reading.ac.uk

Dr Denisse Lazo-González

Teaching Fellow

Spanish Language

+44 (0) 118 378 8375

d.lazo-gonzalez@reading.ac.uk

Dr Athena S. Leoussi

Director

European Studies

+44 (0) 118 378 6083

a.s.leoussi@reading.ac.uk

Cong Xia Li

Lecturer/Co-ordinator

Chinese Language

+44 (0) 118 378 6295

congxia.li@reading.ac.uk

Mr Raul Marchena Magadan

Teaching Fellow

Spanish Studies

+44 (0) 118 378 6364

r.marchenamagadan@reading.ac.uk

Ugo Marsili

Teaching Fellow

Italian and Spanish Language

+44 (0) 118 378 7319

u.marsili@reading.ac.uk

Dr Catriona McAllister

Lecturer

Spanish Studies

+44(0) 118 378 8331

c.mcallister@reading.ac.uk

Dr John McKeane

Lecturer

French Studies

+44 (0) 118 378 7320

j.mckeane@reading.ac.uk

Nigora Nasirova

Teaching Fellow

Russian Language

+44 (0)118 378 7729

n.nasirova@reading.ac.uk

Anne Nobio

Teaching Fellow

French Language

+44 (0)118 378 7729

a.nobio@reading.ac.uk

Dr Marine Orain

Teaching Fellow

French Studies

+44(0) 118 378 7952

m.orain@reading.ac.uk

Asako Partington

Lecturer/Co-ordinator

Japanese Language

+44 (0)118 378 5043

a.partington@reading.ac.uk

Dr Lidija Pasuljevic Shimwell

Teaching Fellow

French Language

+44 (0)118 378 8375

l.pasuljevicshimwell@reading.ac.uk

Dr Sophie Payne

Teaching Fellow

German Language

+44 (0)118 378 7729

s.l.payne@reading.ac.uk

Dr Ellen Pilsworth

Lecturer

German Studies

+44(0) 118 378 8126

e.m.pilsworth@reading.ac.uk

Dr Melani Schroeter

Associate Professor

German Studies

+44 (0) 118 378 6384

m.schroeter@reading.ac.uk

Dott. Enza Siciliano Verruccio

Associate Professor

Italian Studies

+44 (0) 118 378 5242

e.sicilianoverruccio@reading.ac.uk

Suzanne Smith

Sessional Tutor

British Sign Language

+44 (0) 118 378 7729

suzanne.smith@reading.ac.uk

Wendy Smith

Lecturer/Coordinator

German Language

+44 (0)118 378 5043

w.l.smith2@reading.ac.uk

Dr Marta Simó Comas

Lecturer

Spanish Studies

+44 (0) 118 378 8404

m.simo-comas@reading.ac.uk

Yuko Tochii

Sessional Tutor

Japanese Language

+44 (0) 118 378 7729

y.tochii@reading.ac.uk

Dr Dimitra Tzanidaki-Kreps

Teaching Fellow

Classics and Modern Greek Language

 +44 (0) 118 378 8420  d.tzanidaki-kreps@reading.ac.uk

Professor Julia Waters

Professor

French Studies

+44 (0) 118 378 7305

j.waters@reading.ac.uk

Dr Ute Wolfel

Associate Professor

German Studies

+44 (0) 118 378 8422

u.wolfel@reading.ac.uk

Emeritus Professors

Name

Position

Email

Professor Andrew Knapp

Emeritus Professor

European Studies

a.f.knapp@reading.ac.uk

 

Emeritus Professor David Robey

 Emeritus Professor

Italian Studies

d.j.b.robey@reading.ac.uk
Emeritus Professor John Sandford  Emeritus Professor

German Studies

 j.sandford@reading.ac.uk

 Administrators

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Rachel Wood IWLP Programme Administrator  +44 (0) 118 378 7318  r.m.wood@reading.ac.uk
Sarah Lodge Year Abroad Administrator   +44 (0) 118 378 6551

 s.e.lodge@reading.ac.uk

 

We use Javascript to improve your experience on reading.ac.uk, but it looks like yours is turned off. Everything will still work, but it is even more beautiful with Javascript in action. Find out more about why and how to turn it back on here.
We also use cookies to improve your time on the site, for more information please see our cookie policy.

Back to top