Accessibility navigation

RUSU Excellence Awards 2021 winners

Prizes and Awards logo

The RUSU Excellence Awards recognise colleagues who display excellent and innovative teaching practice, awarding those who students believe have gone above and beyond expectations, tirelessly working to improve the delivery of their teaching and learning experience. 

This year saw a record number of 519 nominations for the annual student-led RUSU Excellence Awards 2021; the highest number of nominations the current Representation Team has ever seen. After such a difficult year, the Rep Team, alongside RUSU Education Officer George Ingram, decided to increase the number of awards to 20. RUSU thoroughly enjoyed reading the anonymous submissions on all of the wonderful things students had to say about staff and finding out about all of the innovative ways staff have been helping their students.

“Allie is the glue holding together the Speech and Language Therapy department. She works endlessly, to support us with a smile and huge amount of knowledge, and strives to help us. She has gone above and beyond, securing us placements needed to graduate, always makes time to meet us and explains theoretical and clinical aspects incredibly well. I would not have made it through this degree without her, she's inspirational.”

- Nomination for Allie Biddle, winner of the Teaching Excellence Award for Psychology & Clinical Language Sciences.

Congratulations to all the winners!



Academic Tutor Excellence Award Dr. Mara Oliva

Dr. Mara Oliva

Diverse and Inclusive Teaching Excellence Award

Marc Jacobs

Support Staff Excellence Award Chris Bonham

Chris Bonham

Teaching Excellence Award for Agriculture, Policy & Development

Dr. Jo Davies

Teaching Excellence Award for Archaeology, Geography & Environmental Science

Prof. Mike Goodman

Teaching Excellence Award for Arts & Communication Design

Dr. Matthew Lickiss

Teaching Excellence Award for Biological Sciences

Dr. Natasha Barrett

Teaching Excellence Award for Built Environment

Darren Bray

Teaching Excellence Award for Chemistry, Food & Pharmacy

Dr. Philippa Cranwell

Teaching Excellence Award for Henley Business School

Dr. Lebene Soga

Teaching Excellence Award for Humanities

Dr. Luke Elson

Teaching Excellence Award for Institute of Education

Martin Sutton

Teaching Excellence Award for International Study & Language Institute

Gemma Goddard

Teaching Excellence Award for Law

Dr. Matthew Windsor

Teaching Excellence Award for Literature & Languages

Oscar Garcia Garcia

Teaching Excellence Award for Mathematical, Physical & Computational Sciences

Dr. Calvin Smith

Teaching Excellence Award for Politics, Economic & International Relations

Dr. Kenton White

Teaching Excellence Award for Psychology & Clinical Language Sciences

Allie Biddle

Course Rep of the Year

Leilani Davis

Senior Rep of the Year

Amy Roodenberg and Lucia Martin

“Lucia is dedicated to the student experience & representing the student voice in a professional yet balanced way. In addition, Lucia has worked tirelessly to promote student engagement & wellbeing during the pandemic. Lucia will be a tough act to follow, but she has produced a guide to help future reps - another example of her dedication. Lucia has made a phenomenal contribution to the school; her positivity, professionalism & dedication have been impressive. Lucia has a wonderful way of supporting both staff and students. She is professional, pragmatic, warm and caring & uses these strengths to influence, inform positive change and occasionally to re-align expectations.”

 - Nomination for Senior Rep of the Year Award Winner Lucia

“Amy has worked so hard both this year and other years when she has held other rep roles. throughout this academic year she has unfailingly passed on everybody’s concerns and fought for student’s representation and answers to questions, always with a positive outlook and optimism! She continues to represent us when others have given up and we owe her. She works tirelessly alongside her demanding uni course to help and support other students, and to make sure their voices are heard. She regularly keeps us updated, and she has contributed to a more supportive learning environment!”

 - Nomination for Senior Rep of the Year Award Winner Amy

RUSU will be holding a virtual awards ceremony on Wednesday 12 May 11:45-1pm. The award winners will be awarded their trophies alongside the 2020 winners who, due to the pandemic, were also unable to have a physical ceremony. The event will be open to all, so please join the event if you can make it.


Page navigation

Search Form

Main navigation