Accessibility navigation

Celebrating Teaching and Learning 2020

Prizes and Awards

The Centre for Quality Support and Development (CQSD) is pleased to announce the publication of our Celebrating Teaching and Learning Success 2020 brochure. The brochure recognises colleagues' fantastic individual and collaborative achievements over the past year and clearly demonstrates our institutional drive for innovation and excellence.

We can also confirm that our Celebration of Teaching and Learning Success event will take place in Autumn 2021, where we will present awards to colleagues and students for their outstanding contributions to teaching and learning during the 2019/20 and 2020/21 sessions.

We are delighted to recognise the following award winners for 2019/20, spanning a number of categories:

National Teaching Fellowship Awards

The highly prestigious National Teaching Fellowship scheme, run by Advance HE, celebrates and rewards outstanding individual impact on student outcomes and the teaching profession across the country. This year, we were pleased to congratulate Vicki Holmes (Centre for Quality Support and Development) and Professor Emma Mayhew (School of Politics, Economics and International Relations), who were both awarded National Teaching Fellowships. Please see our Celebrating Teaching and Learning Success 2020 brochure and Staff Portal article for further information about their amazing achievements.

University Teaching Fellowship Awards

The University Teaching Fellowship (UTF) is a highly respected and competitive award for staff who demonstrate individual excellence and dedication to the development of teaching and learning within the University and beyond. We were delighted to award the following members of staff with a UTF in 2020:

  • Dr Allán Laville (School of Psychology and Clinical Language Sciences, Dean for Diversity and Inclusion)
  • Adrian Aronsson-Storrier (School of Law)
  • Will Bailey-Watson (Institute of Education)
  • Dr Alana James (School of Psychology and Clinical Language Sciences)

Please see our Celebrating Teaching and Learning Success 2020 brochure  and Staff Portal article for information on the achievements of our new UTFs.

University Collaborative Awards for outstanding contributions to Teaching & Learning 

The University Collaborative Awards for Teaching & Learning is a highly competitive scheme that seeks to recognise and reward groups of staff and students who have made significant and ongoing contributions to the student learning experience.

This year, three teams were recognised:

  • Developing an Institutional Approach to Student-Staff Partnership: Joy Collier (CQSD), Victoria Bundy (CQSD, previously RUSU), Professor Elizabeth McCrum (Vice-Chancellor's Office), Edward White (CQSD, previously RUSU) and Kath Davey (RUSU)
  • Institute of Education's Teaching and Learning Group on Assessment Literacy: Hilary Harris, Dr Maria Kambouri, Dr Rowena Kasprowicz, Stephanie Sharp, Professor Cathy Tissot, Dr Natthapoj Vincent Trakulphadetkrai (Chair) and Dr Anna Tsakalaki from the Institute of Education
  • Celebrating 100 Years of Women's Voices: a Play, a Book and a Symposium: Professor Rosemary Auchmuty, Elizabeth Conaghan, Dr Rachel Horton, Dr Charlotte Smith and Dr Anne Thies from the School of Law; Dr Madeleine Davies (School of Literature and Languages); Suzy Tutchell (Institute of Education); Lucy Tyler (Department of Film, Theatre and Television); students Sarah Lister, Jessica Meira, Seethalakshmi Muralikrishnan and Manon Williams in the School of Law; and Anna Harding, a student in the Department of Typography and Graphic Communication.

Please see our Celebrating Teaching and Learning Success 2020 brochure  and Staff Portal article for further information about these Collaborative award winners.

Academic Practice Programme (APP) Award

The Academic Practice Programme (APP) is the institution's Advance HE accredited development programme for lecturers and other colleagues who teach and support learning at the University.

Each year, the David Malvern Prize is awarded to the participant who has achieved the highest standard across all of their assignments for the APP. Congratulations to this year's winner, Amy Butt (Architecture). Amy is an architect and Lecturer in Architecture, with a focus on representation and communication. Further details are available in the Celebrating Teaching and Learning Success 2020 brochure.

Please join us in congratulating our 2020 winners!

Page navigation

Search Form

Main navigation