Accessibility navigation

Winners announced for University Collaborative Awards for Teaching & Learning 2020

Prizes and Awards

We are delighted to announce the recipients of the 2020 University Collaborative Awards for Outstanding Contributions to Teaching and Learning. This annual award scheme recognises and rewards groups of staff and students who have made exceptional, significant and ongoing contributions to the student learning experience.

Following a highly competitive application process this year, we are delighted to present awards to the following three teams:

Developing an Institutional Approach to Student-Staff Partnership

Joy Collier, CQSD

Victoria Bundy, CQSD (previously RUSU)

Professor Elizabeth McCrum, Vice-Chancellor's Office

Edward White, CQSD (previously RUSU)

Kath Davey, RUSU

This collaboration between CQSD and RUSU aimed to build the foundations of an academic community through which staff and students are encouraged to work in partnership, both within and beyond the classroom. The collaboration began in 2016 with a national HE pilot project, leading to a series of internal changes with a direct impact on the student experience. The pilot project fed into several initiatives which were developed by the Working Group on Student Engagement, and into other activities which are currently underway as part of the Student Voice & Partnership at Reading Project. These include the launch of the Student Engagement Community of Practice and the co-creation of the institution-wide ‘Principles of Partnership', a set of values that underpin the University vision for student engagement and partnership.


Institute of Education's Teaching and Learning Group on Assessment Literacy

Dr Maria Danos

Hilary Harris

Dr Rowena Kasprowicz

Stephanie Sharp

Professor Cathy Tissot

Dr Natthapoj Vincent Trakulphadetkrai (Chair)

Dr Anna Tsakalaki

This team of seven academic staff at the Institute of Education has been collaborating since 2017 to explore ways to capture and develop students' assessment literacy, with a particular focus on students' understanding of assessment criteria. The team worked in partnership with students and other IoE staff as well as Study Advice and CQSD. The project generated a series of reports with key recommendations for Programme Directors, which have since been implemented, and a Glossary of Common Assessment Terms. The team's findings and the project outcomes have been disseminated both within the University and more widely across the sector.

Celebrating 100 Years of Women's Voices: a Play, a Book and a Symposium

Professor Rosemary Auchmuty, School of Law

Elizabeth Conaghan, School of Law

Dr Madeleine Davies, School of Literature and Languages

Dr Rachel Horton, School of Law

Dr Charlotte Smith, School of Law

Dr Anne Thies, School of Law

Suzy Tutchell, Institute of Education

Lucy Tyler, Department of Film, Theatre and Television

Sarah Lister, student, School of Law

Jessica Meira, student, School of Law

Seethalakshmi Muralikrishnan, student, School of Law

Manon Williams, student, School of Law

Anna Harding, student, Department of Typography and Graphic Communication (recruited via the Real Jobs scheme).

This project involved a cross-disciplinary collaboration between staff and students from eight schools and departments and two local charities (Alana House and Women in Prison) to develop student-focused co-curricular activities on the theme of ‘equality'. In order to commemorate the centenary of women being allowed to practise law, an impressive series of events/activities, ‘100 Years of Women's Voices', was developed. This included the performance of a staff-student play, a cross-disciplinary symposium, a student-led art exhibition, a student poetry competition, and the production of a collaborative book, with a clear positive impact on the student learning experience.

Please join us in congratulating this year's winners! 

Page navigation

Search Form

Main navigation