Accessibility navigation

University Collaborative Awards for Teaching & Learning winner 2018/19

Prize cup logo white to red background

The Centre for Quality Support and Development is delighted to announce the recipient of the 2019 University Collaborative Award for Outstanding Contributions to Teaching and Learning.This annual award scheme recognises and rewards groups of staff who have made exceptional, significant and ongoing contributions to the student learning experience. This year, we are delighted to present an award to the following team:

Second Sight: The Margaret Atwood Learning Journals

Dr Madeleine Davies, English Literature

Professor Eric Kindel, Typography & Graphic Communication

Mr James Lloyd, Typography & Graphic Communication

This team of staff worked with a Part 3 English Literature student and a Part 2 Typography student recruited via the ‘Real Jobs’ scheme to edit and design a book, Second

Sight: The Margaret Atwood Learning Journals, which showcases the work of 28 students on a Part 3 module. The book was launched at a staff/student party on Graduation Day 2018 and has led to a wide range of positive outcomes, including allowing students to demonstrate the quality of their writing to potential employers and serving as a reference point for best practice journal writing for future cohorts. The project has generated interest from other institutions and Second Sight has been praised by the leading critic on Atwood’s work and by the author herself.

Please join us in congratulating this year’s winners!

Page navigation

Search Form

Main navigation