Accessibility navigation

Research impact and engagement champions honoured at awards

Sally Lloyd-Evans

Research Dean Phil Newton presenting Sally Lloyd-Evans with her award

Outstanding examples of Reading research that are making a difference in the world were showcased at an awards ceremony on Wednesday.

Six research projects won awards at the inaugural Research Engagement and Impact Awards, held at the London Road campus on Wednesday 28 June. Another 12 projects were highly commended by judges.

Professor Steve Mithen, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, introduced the awards.

He said: “Reading has been known for many years for our excellent research.

“But we also want the University to be known for research that creates an impact in society, by working closely with people, businesses and governments, in the local area and around the world. These awards are part of our commitment to firmly establish engagement as part of the University’s research culture and practice.

“I would like to congratulate all of the people involved in the shortlisted projects. Your work has led to a better understanding of research, and created genuine change.”

The winners were:

  • Ed Hawkins, from Meteorology, won the INFORM award for his Climate Lab Book blog and his ‘climate spiral’, described as ‘the most compelling climate change visualisations ever seen’
  • Roger Matthews, from Archaeology, won the INFLUENCE award for his work protecting and enhancing the cultural heritage of Iraq
  • Mark Dallas, from Pharmacy, won the INSPIRE award for his work with a theatre company to create ‘Bright Sparks’, a play that brought the complex science of the brain to an audience of 3- to 7-year-olds
  • Sally Lloyd-Evans, from Geography and Environmental Sciences, won the INVOLVE award for the Whitley Researchers project, which enabled people in South Reading to become co-researchers in projects to improve their community
  • Mai Sato, from Law, won the EMBARK category for early-career researchers, for her work into public attitudes towards the death penalty in Japan.

In addition, Simon Potts, Deepa Senapathi and Mike Garratt from the Centre for Agri-Environmental Research won a special award for engagement with multiple audiences, for their research into safeguarding pollinators.

Find out more about all the shortlisted projects on the Research Engagement and Impact Awards website.

Page navigation

Search Form

Main navigation