Accessibility navigation

Reminder: vote for Professor Richard Bradley as Archaeologist of the Year

Professor Richard Bradley

There is still time to vote for Emeritus Professor Richard Bradley as Current Archaeology’s Archaeologist of the Year. 

Richard received a nomination for the prize in December 2016, becoming the third consecutive Reading academic to be shortlisted for the award.

Voting closes Monday 6 February, with winners determined by public vote.  The results will be announced at Current Archaeology Live! on Friday 24 February. 

Nominations for the awards are based on articles and books featured within Current Archaeology over the last 12 months. Richard’s nomination follows his respected reputation for fieldwork focused on prehistoric settlements, landscapes, and monuments in England, Scotland, Spain, and Scandinavia. He has written widely on ancient art, ritual and domestic life, and recently co-authored The Later Prehistory of Northwest Europe, a new archaeological account drawing on nearly 9000 excavations in partnership with the Leverhulme Trust. He is currently preparing a revised edition of his 2007 book The Prehistory of Britain and Ireland.

Now in its ninth year, the Current Archaeology Awards celebrate noteworthy projects, publications and individuals that have made significant contributions to the field of archaeology. Several of our academics have found success at the awards – Professor Roberta Gilchrist was awarded the title of 'Archaeologist of the Year’ in 2016, succeeding Professor Michael Fulford in 2015. Dr Hella Eckardt was also nominated for ‘Book of the Year’ in the 2016 awards.  

Votes can be cast though the Current Archaeology Awards page

Page navigation

Search Form

Main navigation