Accessibility navigation

Professor Richard Bradley nominated for Archaeologist of the Year

Professor Richard Bradley

Emeritus Professor Richard Bradley has been nominated Archaeologist of the Year in the Current Archaeology Awards 2017, becoming the third consecutive Reading academic to be shortlisted for the award.

The annual awards are hosted by Current Archaeology magazine, with winners for each category determined by public vote. 

Voting is open until Monday 6 February, and the winners will be announced at the Current Archaeology Live! 2017 on Friday 24 February. Visit the Current Archaeology Awards page to cast your vote. 

Richard’s fieldwork over the years has focused on prehistoric settlements, landscapes, and monuments in England, Scotland, Spain, and Scandinavia. He has written widely on ancient art, ritual and domestic life, and recently co-authored The Later Prehistory of Northwest Europe, a new archaeological account drawing on nearly 9000 excavations in partnership with the Leverhulme Trust. He is currently preparing a revised edition of his 2007 book The Prehistory of Britain and Ireland.

On his nomination, Richard said:

“I am flattered to be nominated for Archaeologist of the Year. In the awards, nominees span all sectors of the archaeological profession, including field archaeologists and heritage managers as well as academics – ¬this can only be a good thing. 

“This diversity is reflected in the other nominees for the category – one is the director of a large firm conducting development-funded fieldwork, while the other is an exceptionally talented excavator. I look forward to finding out the result later in February.”  

Academics from the University of Reading have found success at the Current Archaeology Awards in recent years. Research Dean Professor Roberta Gilchrist was awarded the title of 'Archaeologist of the Year’ in 2016, succeeding Professor Michael Fulford in 2015. Dr Hella Eckardt also received a nomination for ‘Book of the Year’ in the 2016 awards.  

Nominations for the awards are based on articles and books featured within Current Archaeology over the last 12 months. Now in its ninth year, the Current Archaeology Awards celebrate noteworthy projects, publications and individuals that have made significant contributions to the field of archaeology. 

Page navigation

Search Form

Main navigation