Accessibility navigation

New edition of bestselling academic English series

eas books

Garnet Education and the University of Reading are delighted to announce the publication of the revised English for Academic Study (EAS) series. The series was officially launched at London South Bank University on Friday 18 May.

The English for Academic Study (EAS) series provides everything needed to prepare students for English-medium study. Written by practising lecturers at the University of Reading and trialled extensively with students, these new editions reflect the latest EAP thinking and have shown their effectiveness in the classroom.

The new editions cover all key skills, including listening, speaking, reading and writing. Audio/video material is based on authentic transcripts and includes a variety of accents, to allow students to test their skills in realistic scenarios. The Teacher's Books provide teachers with a variety of routes through the books so that they can be adapted to a range of teaching situations, from short courses to more extensive timetables.

Ros Richards, Director of the International Study and Language Centre (ISLC) at the University of Reading said; "The EAS series is authored by staff in the University of Reading's world-class centre for the study of English for Academic Purposes.  The materials integrate the most relevant theory and research into language and skills acquisition with more than 40 years of teaching and supporting the University's international students. 

"They offer students the best possible chance of developing the academic language and skills they need for successful study in English medium higher education.  Our international students achieve excellent results through the use of these materials, and we are delighted to be able to share them with other institutions from around the world.'"

More information on the books and free online inspection copies can be accessed at


Page navigation

Search Form

Main navigation