Accessibility navigation

Congratulations to our National Teaching Fellowship nominees

NTFS 2012 nominees

Dr Anne Crook, Professor Rachel McCrindle and Helen Bilton

'We are very fortunate as an institution to have so many talented and dedicated colleagues who are eligible to be nominated for this prestigious Scheme.' Professor Gavin Brooks, Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Teaching and Learning

Congratulations to Dr Anne Crook (Centre for the Development of Teaching and Learning); Professor Rachel McCrindle (School of Systems Engineering); and Helen Bilton (Institute of Education), who have been chosen to represent the University as nominees in 2012's National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS).

Run by the Higher Education Academy (HEA), the NTFS aims to raise the profile of learning and teaching, recognise and celebrate individuals who make an outstanding impact on the student learning experience and provide a national focus for institutional teaching and learning practices.

Up to 55 awards of £10,000 each will be made this year to recognise individual excellence, their intention being to support the Fellows' professional development in teaching and learning pedagogy.

Reading's nominees were chosen by the University's NTFS Selection Panel on the basis of their outstanding contribution to teaching and learning and ongoing commitment to developing and sharing best practice, both for internal and external audiences.

Talking about the nomination, Dr Anne Crook said: "I am thrilled to have been chosen as one of the University's NTFS nominees and am delighted that one of Reading's National Teaching Fellows, Clare Furneaux, has offered to provide me with mentoring support in my application."

This year, colleagues were invited to draft an ‘expression of interest' for the NTFS, which was then reviewed by a panel, chaired by Professor Rob Robson. Colleagues who expressed an interest in this scheme, but who were not selected as this year's NTFS nominees, will be offered tailored, teaching and learning developmental support from Centre for the Development of Teaching and Learning over the coming year.

Professor Gavin Brooks, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Teaching and Learning) said: "The University is delighted to nominate Helen, Anne and Rachel for the 2012 National Teaching Fellowship Scheme Awards. We are very fortunate as an institution to have so many talented and dedicated colleagues who are eligible to be nominated for this prestigious Scheme.

"All applicants for this year's competition demonstrated their commitment to raising the profile of teaching and learning at the University and to making a significant contribution to the student learning experience."

The winners of the 2012 NTFS will be decided by Wednesday 4 July 2012, and results published by the HEA on 26 July 2012. For further information about the scheme visit the HEA website.

Read additional details about the selection process and panel on the CDoTL website >>> 

If you have any queries or require further information please contact

Page navigation

Search Form

Main navigation