Skip to main content

School Directors of Postgraduate Research Studies – University of Reading

Show access keys
  • Be inspired

    By the diversity and quality of doctoral research

School Directors of Postgraduate Research Studies

School Directors of Postgraduate Research Studies have a key role within the Schools in which they operate. While the exact nature of this role depends on the context of the School, they oversee a range of areas relevant to Postgraduate Research Students, including recruitment and admissions, induction and training and the monitoring of progress. The core elements of the role are set out in the

 Our briefing document for new Directors of Postgraduate Research Studies

contains useful information on the main tasks of the role.

In some Schools, elements of the role are handled at a Departmental level and, where this occurs, details of the person performing the role are included below.

Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Science

Arts and Communication Design:  Professor Lisa Purse (

Institute of Education: Dr Daisy Powell ( and Dr Holly Joseph (; EdD (Director of Programme) Dr Karen Jones (

Humanities: Dr Rachel Foxley (

Law: Professor Grace James (;   Dr Nora Honkala (       

Literature and Languages: Associate Professor Mark Nixon (

Politics, Economics and International Relations: Dr Carl Singleton ( until August 1 2021

Henley Business School

Director of Postgraduate Research Studies: Proffesor Andrew Urquhart (

Business Informatics, Systems and Accounting: Dr Stephen Gulliver (; Dr Ronita Ram (

International Business and Strategy:

Professor Davide Castellani  (

ICMA: Professor Charles Sutcliffe (

Leadership, Organisation and Behaviour: Professor Benjamin Laker ( 

Marketing and Reputation: Dr Mike Molesworth (

Real Estate and Planning: Professor Pat McAllister (

DBA (Director of Programme): Professor Liang Han (

Life Sciences

Agriculture, Policy and Development: Professor Martin Lukac (

Biological Sciences: Dr Faustina Hwang (

Chemistry Food and Pharmacy: Dr Paz Vaqueiro (

Psychology and Clinical Language Sciences: Dr Julia Vogt (; Professor Arlene Astell (


Built Environment: Dr Libby Schweber (; Dr Vincent Luo  (

Archaeology, Geography and Environmental Science: Professor Steve Mithen (

Mathematical, Physical and Computational Sciences: Professor Jani Virtanen (

We use Javascript to improve your experience on, but it looks like yours is turned off. Everything will still work, but it is even more beautiful with Javascript in action. Find out more about why and how to turn it back on here.
We also use cookies to improve your time on the site, for more information please see our cookie policy.

Back to top