Skip to main content

Meet the team – University of Reading

Show access keys
  • Get to know our staff

    We are ready to work with you

Meet the team

Geography and Environmental Science Staff

Academic Staff

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

 Dr Yaw Adjei-Amoako  Teaching Fellow in Human Geography

+44 (0)118 378 3263

yaw.adjei-amoako@reading.ac.uk
Dr Stuart Black

Associate Professor in Environmental Radioactivity

School Director for Teaching and Learning

+44 (0)118 378 8646

s.black@reading.ac.uk
Professor Nicholas Branch Professor in Palaeoecology

+ 44 (0)118 378 3266

n.p.branch@reading.ac.uk
Professor Joanna Clark Professor in Environmental Science

+ 44 (0)118 378 6581

j.m.clark@reading.ac.uk
Professor Hannah Cloke Professor in Hydrology

+ 44 (0)118 378 6974

h.l.cloke@reading.ac.uk
Professor Chris Collins Professor of Environmental Chemistry

+ 44 (0)118 378 8910

c.d.collins@reading.ac.uk
Dr Sylvie Dubuc Lecturer in Human Geography & Population Studies

+ 44 (0)118 378 8657

s.dubuc@reading.ac.uk
Professor Ruth Evans Professor in Human Geography

+ 44 (0)118 378 7755

r.evans@reading.ac.uk
Dr Rob Fry Teaching Fellow in Geographical Information Systems 

+ 44 (0)118 378 7972 

r.j.fry@reading.ac.uk
Professor Hilary Geoghegan Professor of Geography

+ 44 (0)118 378 8915

h.geoghegan@reading.ac.uk
Professor Mike Goodman Professor of Geography(Environment and Development)

+ 44 (0)118 378 7686

m.k.goodman@reading.ac.uk
Dr Thomas Grisaffi Lecturer in Human Geography (Environment and Development)

+44 (0)118 378 7496

t.grisaffi@reading.ac.uk
Professor Sandy Harrison Professor in Global Palaeoclimates and Biogeochemical Cycles

+ 44 (0)118 378 5258

s.p.harrison@reading.ac.uk
Professor Alan Howard Professor in Computational Geography

+ 44 (0)118 378 8763

a.howard@reading.ac.uk
Dr Sally Lloyd-Evans

Associate Professor in Human Geography

Deputy Head of Department of Geography and Environmental Science 

+ 44 (0)118 378 5293

s.lloyd-evans@reading.ac.uk
Dr Alison MacLeod

Associate Professor in Physical Geography 

Deputy School Director for Teaching and Learning

+ 44 (0)118 378 7909

alison.macleod@reading.ac.uk
Professor Avril Maddrell Professor in Human Geography

+ 44 (0)118 378 7756

avril.maddrell@reading.ac.uk  
Professor Frank Mayle Professor in Tropical Palaeoecology

+ 44 (0)118 378 6260

f.mayle@reading.ac.uk
Dr Hazel McGoff

Lecturer in Environmental Science

School Director of Academic Tutoring

+ 44 (0)118 378 6743

h.j.mcgoff@reading.ac.uk
Dr Filippo Menga Associate Professor in Human Geography

+44 (0)118 378 7766

f.menga@reading.ac.uk
Professor Steven Musson

Professor of Geography

Head of School

+ 44 (0)118 378 6042

s.musson@reading.ac.uk
Dr Jess Neumann Lecturer in Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

+ 44 (0) 118 378 8912

j.l.neumann@reading.ac.uk
Dr Steve Robinson Associate Professor in Soil and Water Biogeochemistry

+ 44 (0)118 378 6075

j.s.robinson@reading.ac.uk
Dr Shovonlal Roy Associate Professor 

+ 44 (0)118 378 8944

shovonlal.roy@reading.ac.uk
Dr Eirini Saratsi

Teaching Fellow in Human Geography - Environment and Development

+44 (0)118 378 6559

e.saratsi@reading.ac.uk
Professor Maria Shahgedanova Professor in Climate Science

+ 44 (0)118 378 7745

m.shahgedanova@reading.ac.uk
Professor Liz Shaw Professor of Soil Microbiology and Biochemistry

+ 44 (0)118 378 6971

e.j.shaw@reading.ac.uk
Dr Mike Simmonds Lecturer in Physical Geography

+ 44 (0)118 378 8853

m.j.simmonds@reading.ac.uk
Dr Tom Sizmur Lecturer in Environmental Chemistry

+ 44 (0)118 378 8913

t.sizmur@reading.ac.uk
Dr Elisabeth Stephens Associate Professor

+44 (0)118 378 7586

elisabeth.stephens@reading.ac.uk
Professor Anne Verhoef Professor of Soil Physics and Micrometeorology

+ 44 (0)118 378 6074

a.verhoef@reading.ac.uk
Professor Andrew Wade

Professor of Hydrology

Head of Department of Geography and Environmental Science

+ 44 (0)118 378 7315

a.j.wade@reading.ac.uk
Dr Kevin White Associate Professor in Environmental Remote Sensing

+ 44 (0)118 378 7752

k.h.white@reading.ac.u
Dr Hong Yang Associate Professor  in Environmental Science

+44 (0)118 378 7750

h.yang4@reading.ac.uk

Research Staff

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Dr Heou Maleki Badjana Postdoctoral Research Assistant in Hydrological Modelling

+44 (0)118 378 3264

 h.badjana@reading.ac.uk

Joanne Beales Landwise Research Project Administrator

+44 (0)118 378 3289

j.n.beales@reading.ac.uk

Dr Laia Comas-Bru Postdoctoral Research Assistant in Palaeohydrological Data Analysis  +44 (0)118 378 7146

l.comasbru@reading.ac.uk

Sarah Duddigan Research and Teaching Fellow

+44 (0)118 378 8970

 s.duddigan@reading.a.uk

Sonia Duval Community Administrator, Whitley for Real Project

+44 (0)118 378 3271

s.duval@reading.ac.uk

Dr Andrea Ficchi Postdoctoral Research Assistant- Extended-range Flood Forecast Researcher

+44 (0)118 378 3274

a.ficchi@reading.ac.uk

Dr Danielle House  Postdoctoral Research Assistant

+44 (0)118 378 3275

 d.r.house@reading.ac.uk

Dr Will Maslanka  Postdoctoral Research Assistant in Remote sensing

+44 (0) 118 378 7285

 will.maslanka@reading.ac.uk

Dr David Mason

Senior Research Fellow

+ 44 (0)118 378 8740

d.c.mason@reading.ac.uk

Dr Erinma Ochu Digital Society Fellow

+44 (0)118 378 3278

e.e.ochu@reading.ac.uk
Dr Tobias Pforr Postdoctoral Research Assistant - Political Economy of Forecast based Financing

+44 (0)118 378 7602

t.pforr@reading.ac.uk
Dr Pablo Paiewonsky  Postdoctoral Research Assistant in Palaeoclimate Analysis

+44 (0)118 378 7226

p.paiewonsky@reading.ac.uk
Dr Anne Quillet Postdoctoral Research Assistant in Palaeovegetation Modelling

+44 (0)118 378 3265

anne.quillet@reading.ac.uk
Dr Marco Raczka Postdoctoral Research Associate in Amazon Palaeoecology   m.f.raczka@reading.ac.uk
Dr Xin Shu  Postdoctoral Research Assistant - Soil Biogeochemistry

+44 (0)118 378 7896

x.shu@reading.ac.uk
Dr Linda Speight  Postdoctoral Research Assistant Applied Flood Forecasting

+44 (0)118 378 3291

l.j.speight@reading.ac.uk
Gerard Stewart Communications Co-ordinator

+44 (0)118 378 7902

g.w.stewart@reading.ac.uk
Joyce Ternenge Project Officer

+44 (0)118 378 3268

j.d.ternenge@reading.ac.uk
Roberto Villegas-Diaz Scientific Programmer and Data Manager   r.villegas-diaz@reading.ac.uk
Dr Vadim Yapiev Postdoctoral Research Associate

+44 (0) 118 378 3285

vadim.yapiyev@reading.ac.uk
Dr Lorna Zischka Postdoctoral Research Assistant - Whitely for Real Project

+44 (0) 118 378 3286

lorna.zischka@reading.ac.uk

Postgraduate Research Students

See a list of PGR Alumni for Geography and Environmental Science, here.

Name

Email

 Project

Selam Abebe a.f.aldhafeeri@pgr.reading.ac.uk The Role of the Compliance Mechanism of the Paris Agreement in achieving Equity and Climate Justice.
Adetunji Alex Adekanmbi a.a.adekanmbi@pgr.reading.ac.uk Impact of climate change on soil respiration and resilience.
Phillip Agredazywczuck p.a.agredazywczuk@pgr.reading.ac.uk Geochemical constraints on the hydrological restoration of groundwater-dependent wetlands in lowland catchments.
Henry Akinola  h.akinola@pgr.reading.ac.uk Participatory Approach to Research Air Quality in Lagos State, Nigeria.
Zainab Aliyu z.o.aliyu@pgr.reading.ac.uk How effective is the Climate Justice Movement (CJM) in sub-Saharan Africa?
Dedy Antony d.antony@pgr.reading.ac.uk Factors affecting soil carbon storage at depth in agricultural systems in the UK.
Maureen Wanzala m.a.wanzala@pgr.reading.ac.uk Understanding the Mechanisms of Flood Modelling and Forecasting of Historical Events to Inform Flood Early Warning in Kenya.
Edward Baker e.j.baker@pgr.reading.ac.uk Developing soil health indicators to inform land management decisions and increase crop yield and quality.
Ellie Barbrook  e.barbrook@pgr.reading.ac.uk Optimizing soil nitrogen (N) in babyleaf salad crops for sustainable crop production.
Selma Benyovszky  s.benyovszky@pgr.reading.ac.uk Water-energy nexus in Algeria: the government water discourse and the role of the hydrocarbon sector.
James Bishop j.t.bishop@pgr.reading.ac.uk Quantifying the effectiveness of natural flood management in lowland catchments.
Nicole Bradshaw  n.bradshaw@pgr.reading.ac.uk Development of new analytical techniques for fingerprinting organic compounds in Archaeological, Chemical, Environmental and Forensic Sciences.
Chloe Brimicombe  c.r.brimicombe@pgr.reading.ac.uk Pan-African Heatwave Health Hazard Forecasting.
Michelle Brooks  m.m.s.brooks@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Tiger on the bank; Crocodile in the water: Narratives on Terrorism and Diaspora among Bangladeshi Women in London.
Merry Crowson m.r.d.crowson@pgr.reading.ac.uk Capitalising on the Big Data era: establishing a multi-source monitoring framework for England's natural capital assets and flows.
Esmeralda Cruz-Silva  e.cruz-silva@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Pollen-based reconstructions of the vegetation and climate of the circum-Mediterranean region during the Holocene.
Siobhan Dolan s.dolan@pgr.reading.ac.uk Early warning of flash flood and landslide risk in S Asia
Srujana Donthula  s.donthula@pgr.reading.ac.uk Novel physical and numerical methods for simulating water and heat transfer in land surface models.
Baktybek Duisebek  b.duisebek@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Climate change, water resource and agriculture in Kazakhstan. 
Idegbe Ebereonwu  i.i.ebereonwu@pgr.reading.ac.uk Strategic Environmental Assessment in Nigeria's Energy Sector.

Nerea Ferrando

n.ferrandojorge@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Exploring the Role of Citizen Science for advances in Urban Soil Management and Inspiring Sustainable Action.
Jessica Goodenough j.l.goodenough@pgr.reading.ac.uk Citizen science in the global South: effects on participation in urban agriculture in Rio de Janeiro's informal settlements.
Helen Griffith h.v.griffith@pgr.reading.ac.uk Atmospheric rivers and the land surface - drivers of extreme floods.
Elaine Halliday  e.halliday@pgr.reading.ac.uk Evaluating the impact of woodland management and drinking water abstraction on groundwater fed wetlands.
Charlotte Hawkins c.e.hawkins@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Developing optical methods for catchment to protect drinking water. 
Lottie Hawkins charlotte.hawkins@pgr.reading.ac.uk Exploring the role of biochar to increase the sustainability of UK farming businesses.
James Hill james.hill@pgr.reading.ac.uk Millennial-style history of Amazon Forest dynamics.
Joseph Hirst  j.hirst@pgr.reading.ac.uk The domestication of Amazon rainforests by pre-Columbian societies.
 Md. Sazzad Hossain  mdsazzad.hossain@pgr.reading.ac.uk Extended range hydrometeorological forecasting for improved flood early warning in Bangladesh to supporting earlier flood preparedness in Bangladesh.
Mohammad Badsha Hossain  mohammadbadsha.hossain@pgr.reading.ac.uk Family planning in Bangladesh: implementation and health impact.
Madison Johnson  m.c.johnson@pgr.reading.ac.uk Safeguarding non-human heritage in the Anthropocene: an investigation of enthusiasm for rare heavy horse breeds.
David Kesner d.kesner@pgr.reading.ac.uk Understanding vegetation response to fire during glacial and interglacial states.
Prakash Khanal p.khanal@pgr.reading.ac.uk Lives and Livelihood Experiences of Transnational Nepali Migrants in the UK.
Karolina Krupska  k.u.krupska@pgr.reading.ac.uk Forecasting floods from intense rainfall and predicting their impact on bathing waters.
Clare Lewis  clare.lewis@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Meteosunamis in a changing climate: the future of coastal vulnerability and resilience.

Sabine Mayeux

s.mayeux@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Food Justice in the City: Austerity, Citizenship and Creative Urban Space. 

Phiala Mehring

phiala.mehring@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Get your water out of my lounge: Understanding institutional constructions and public perceptions of flooding and flood risk management.
Faith Mitheu  f.k.mitheu@pgr.reading.ac.uk A model for impact-based flood early warning in Uganda.
Diego Molina Franco  d.a.molinafranco@pgr.reading.ac.uk Floristic miscegenation in the citizen's bodies and the urban landscape in Colombia.
Alice Mpofu-Coles a.mpofu-coles@pgr.reading.ac.uk Identity, Transnationalism and Resilience Among the Young Zimbabwean Diaspora in UK.
Camilla Negri  c.negri@pgr.reading.ac.uk Developing Risk-Based Approaches to Modelling Phosphorus Contamination in Agricultural Catchments.
Anastasia Ngenyi a.ngenyi@pgr.reading.ac.uk Land-use planning, alternative livelihood and current approach to biodiversity conservation in the Congo Basin, Central Africa.
Chinonso Ogbuagu chinonsochukwuma.ogbuagu@pgr.reading.ac.uk Remediation of contaminated field soils using biochar
Joy Ommer  j.ommer@pgr.reading.ac.uk Reducing risk to hydrological extremes with Nature-based Solutions.
Henny Omosigho  h.omosigho@pgr.reading.ac.uk How do earthworms and soil microbial communities interact to determine the fate of organic matter amendments to soil?
Daisy O'Neill  d.oneill@pgr.reading.ac.uk Predicting the ecological and societal impacts of species on the move with climate change in the UK.
Omofolawe Otun  o.r.otun@pgr.reading.ac.uk Recovery of Rare Earth Elements (REEs) from e-waste dump sites in West Africa.
Sarah Parker s.parker@pgr.reading.ac.uk Reconstruction of monsoon dynamics during the late Quaternary using speleothem data and model simulations.
Roweena Patel r.patel@pgr.reading.ac.uk Energy transfer in marine ecosystems based on phytoplankton size structure from satellite remote sensing.
Ayla Paul a.paul@pgr.reading.ac.uk Provenance, governance, and traceability of UK honey: combining stable isotope ratio mass spectrometry, trace element analysis and pollen identification.
Fatima Pillosu f.m.pillosu@pgr.reading.ac.uk Statistical analysis of ECMWF Ensemble to improve rainfall inputs in real-time flood forecasting systems.
Jessica Ponting jessica.ponting@pgr.reading.ac.uk Impact of extreme rainfall events on the mobility of potentially toxic elements in floodplains.
Gabrielle Powell  g.b.powell@pgr.reading.ac.uk Evaluating the multiple functions of woodlands for natural flood management (NFM).
Shahrina Rahman s.rahman@pgr.reading.ac.uk Enhancing social resilience and adaptation to climate change: a case study of disabled people in Southern Bangladesh.
David Richardson d.s.richardson@pgr.reading.ac.uk Verification and diagnostics of ensemble-based earth-system models.
 William Rickard  w.rickard@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Productive Agriculture Needs Tools for Sustainability.
Victoria Robinson  v.a.robinson@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Using in-situ portable detection systems for the imporvement in identification and mapping of buried bone deposits.
Susan Rodgers susan.rodgers@pgr.reading.ac.uk Can Vetiver (Chrysopogon zizanioides), a tropic grass, be a viable cost-effective solution for Diffuse Water Pollution in the UK?
Zarina Saidaliyeva  z.saidaliyeva@pgr.reading.ac.uk Assessment of snow, glacier and permafrost melt contributions to runoff in the Tien Shan using isotopic analysis. 

Nathan Salvidge

n.salvidge@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Precarious lifescapes and informality: a gendered and generational analysis of young informal workers in urban Tanzania.
George Sawyer  g.sawyer@pgr.reading.ac.uk Do cover crops increase the resilience and sustainability of the agri-food system?

Victoria Shannon (NeĆ© Struthers)

 v.l.struthers@pgr.reading.ac.uk Exploring the role of deadwood in the forest carbon cycle. 
Raeannon Sinclair r.m.sinclair@pgr.reading.ac.uk River Macrophyte Succession Under Multiple Stresses.
Saule Suleimenova s.suleimenova@pgr.reading.ac.uk Adaptation of Water Use in Agriculture to Climate Change in South-eastern Kazakhstan.
Luke Sweeney   l.sweeney@pgr.reading.ac.uk The Impact of Anthropogenic Land-use Changes on Fire Regimes During the Holocene.
Olumayowa Philip Taiwo  o.p.taiwo@pgr.reading.ac.uk Forecasting the influence of climate change on harmful algal growth through biogeochemical modelling.
Daniel Teeling d.l.a.teeling@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Quantifying responses to abrupt climate change in the Andes, South America: empirical data and model synergies.
Sofia Theofanidi sofia.theofanidi@pgr.reading.ac.uk Improving and evaluating flood forecasting models for improved flood resilience from local to global scales.

Sarah Thoma

s.e.thoma@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Examining the relationship between environmental and societal change during the past 1000 years. 

Patrick Thomson

p.g.thomson@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Health impacts of intermittent water supply in rural Africa. 
Rachael Thornley r.h.thornley@pgr.reading.ac.uk Using Sentinel satellite remote sensing data to monitor the state of grasslands across a range of management intensities.
Helen Titley h.a.titley@pgr.reading.ac.uk Global flood predictability, early warning and the communication of probabilistic forecasts.
Jamie Towner  j.towner@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Climate variability and extended-range flood forecasting for the Peruvian Amazon. 
Mark Turner m.g.turner@pgr.reading.ac.uk Rapid climate change in the last glacial period: the evidence from pollen records.
Oliver Wilson oliver.wilson@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Assessing the resilience of Brazil's iconic Araucaria forests to past and future climate change. 
Robyn Woronka  r.woronka@pgr.reading.ac.uk A geographical 'sense of place' can be reflected in a film, but does it consider the audience's perception of the place and the reality for the local community?

Ervin Zsoter

e.zsoter@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Understanding global flood hazard climatology for improved early flood warning. 

Emeritus, Honorary and Visiting Staff

Name

Position

Email

Professor Brian Alloway

Emeritus Professor

b.j.alloway@reading.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor Max Coleman

Emeritus Professor

m.l.coleman@reading.ac.uk

Professor Brian Goodall

Emeritus Professor

b.goodall@reading.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor Stephen Nortcliff

Emeritus Professor

s.nortcliff@reading.ac.uk

Professor Richard Skeffington Emeritus Professor r.a.skeffington@reading.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor Paul Whitehead

Emeritus Professor

p.g.whitehead@reading.ac.uk

Professor Alan Wild

Emeritus Professor

Professor Peter Worsley

Emeritus Professor

p.worsley@reading.ac.uk

Professor Paul Bardos

Visiting Professor

r.p.bardos@reading.ac.uk

Professor Simon Dadson Visiting Professor  
Professor Penny Hirsch Visiting Professor  
Professor Jane McCarthy Visiting Professor  

Professor Andy Moffat

Visiting Professor

a.j.moffat@reading.ac.uk

Professor Margaret Oliver Visiting Professor

m.a.oliver@reading.ac.uk

Dr Sophie Bowlby

Visiting Research fellow

s.r.bowlby@reading.ac.uk

Dr Macarena Cardenas Visiting Research Fellow  

Dr James Ormond

Visiting Research Fellow

 

We use Javascript to improve your experience on reading.ac.uk, but it looks like yours is turned off. Everything will still work, but it is even more beautiful with Javascript in action. Find out more about why and how to turn it back on here.
We also use cookies to improve your time on the site, for more information please see our cookie policy.

Back to top