Skip to main content

Meet our staff – University of Reading

Show access keys
  • Academic excellence

    37 Fellows, Associate Fellows and Senior Fellows of the Higher Education Academy (HEA) and a National Teaching Fellow

  • Role models for best practice in education

    We promote a sense of belonging and connection

  • Transforming lives through education

    Become an outstanding educational practitioner

Meet our staff

Institute of Education

academic staff

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Mr Will Bailey-Watson

 

School Director of Recruiment and Admissions. Lecturer in History Education. +44 (0)118 378 3935 w.baileywatson@reading.ac.uk
Dr Rebecca Berkley Lecturer in Music Education.
Secondary Music PGCE Subject Leader. Programme Director Master's-level courses.
+44 (0)118 378 2694 r.m.berkley@reading.ac.uk
Professor Helen Bilton

Professor of Education. School Director of Academic Tutoring. Programme Director PGCert Healthcare Education.

+44 (0)118 378 2683 h.o.bilton@reading.ac.uk
Ms Cara Broadhurst Assistant Programme Director Undergraduate courses with QTS as an outcome.
Lecturer in Primary English Education.
+44 (0)118 378 2638 c.broadhurst@reading.ac.uk
Mrs Amanda Cockayne Programme Lead PGCE Primary. +44 (0)118 378 2682 a.m.cockayne@reading.ac.uk
Dr Fiona Curtis Lecturer in Mathematics Education. +44 (0)118 378 2666 f.r.curtis@reading.ac.uk
Mr Nick Davies Lecturer in Mathematics Education. +44 (0)118 378 2678 james.davies@reading.ac.uk
Dr Yota Dimitriadi Lecturer in Computer Science Education and Subject Leader PGCE Secondary Computer Science. +44 (0)118 378 2688 y.dimitriadi@reading.ac.uk
Mr Ilan Dwek Lecturer in BA Education Studies. N/A i.g.dwek@reading.ac.uk
Mrs Joanne Elsey Director of Early Years Initial Teacher Training Programmes. Programme Director EYTS. +44 (0)118 378 2644 j.h.elsey@reading.ac.uk
Mr Simon Floodgate Lecturer and Subject Leader PGCE Drama. +44 (0)118 378 2658 s.floodgate@reading.ac.uk
Professor Alan Floyd Research Divison Lead. Professor of Education.  +44 (0)118 378 2720 alan.floyd@reading.ac.uk
Dr Naomi Flynn Associate Professor in Primary English Education. +44 (0)118 378 2770 n.flynn@reading.ac.uk
Dr Catherine Foley Programme Director PG Primary ITT. Lecturer in Mathematics Education. +44 (0)118 378 2661 c.m.foley@reading.ac.uk
Dr Caroline Foulkes Lecturer. STEM Education Project. +44 (0)118 378 2656 c.s.foulkes@reading.ac.uk
Professor Carol Fuller Head of Institute of Education. Professor of Sociology of Education. +44 (0)118 378 2662 c.l.fuller@reading.ac.uk
Mr Graham Goldthorpe Lecturer in Secondary Design & Technology. +44 (0)118 378 2668 g.goldthorpe@reading.ac.uk
Professor Suzanne Graham Professor of Language and Education. Subject Leader PGCE Secondary Modern Foreign Languages. +44 (0)118 378 2684 s.j.graham@reading.ac.uk
Mr Clive Grant Lecturer in Secondary Music Education. +44 (0)118 378 2693 c.a.grant@reading.ac.uk
Mr Harvey Grout Lecturer in Physical Education. Subject Leader PGCE Secondary PE. +44 (0)118 378 2647 h.grout@reading.ac.uk
Mr Andrew Happle Lecturer in Science Education. +44 (0)118 378 2653 a.j.happle@reading.ac.uk
Mrs Hilary Harris Programme Director Foundation Degree. Lecturer in Early Childhood Care & Education. +44 (0)118 378 3936 hilary.a.harris@reading.ac.uk
Professor Richard Harris Professor in History Education. Director of Teaching and Learning. Subject Leader PGCE Secondary History. +44 (0)118 378 2725 r.j.harris@reading.ac.uk
Ms Clare Hawkins Lecturer in Secondary Religious Education. TBC clare.hawkins@reading.ac.uk
Mr Marc Jacobs Programme Director Assessment Only. Lecturer in Maths Education. +44 (0)118 378 2672 m.l.jacobs@reading.ac.uk
Ms Rhiannon Jarvie Lecturer in Primary Education. Programme Lead Primary School Direct. TBC e.r.jarvie@reading.ac.uk
Mrs Melanie Jay Deputy Programme Director Secondary ITT. Subject Leader PGCE Secondary Art & Design. +44 (0)118 378 2670 m.b.jay@reading.ac.uk
Dr Karen Jones Associate Professor in Educational Leadership and Management. Programme Director Doctorate in Education. Director of Staff and Sustainability. +44 (0)118 378 2603 karen.jones@reading.ac.uk
Dr Holly Joseph Associate Professor in Language Education & Literacy Development. Programme Director PG Research Studies. +44 (0)118 378 2771 h.joseph@reading.ac.uk
Dr Maria Kambouri Associate Professor. Programme Director BA Children's Development and Learning. Lecturer in Early Childhood Care & Education. +44 (0)118 378 2660 m.kambouri@reading.ac.uk
Dr Rowena Kasprowicz Lecturer in Second Language Education. +44 (0)118 378 2766 r.kasprowicz@reading.ac.uk
Mr David Kerr Head of ITT: Partnership & Engagement. +44 (0)118 378 2679 d.kerr@reading.ac.uk
Mrs Barbara King Lecturer in Modern Foreign Languages. +44 (0)118 378 2795 b.king@reading.ac.uk
Mrs Gwenda Lappin Lecturer in Physical Education. +44 (0)118 378 2647 g.m.lappin@reading.ac.uk
Dr Daguo Li Associate Professor. +44 (0)118 378 5769 d.li@reading.ac.uk
Miss Nasreen Majid Lecturer in Primary Mathematics. +44 (0)118 378 2673 n.majid@reading.ac.uk
Mrs Sarah Marston Programme Director Secondary ITT. +44 (0)18 378 2695 s.m.marston@reading.ac.uk
Dr Elizabeth McCrum Teaching and Learning Dean. +44 (0)118 378 6343/2657 e.m.mccrum@reading.ac.uk
Mrs Scarlett Murphy

Lecturer in Primary English Education.

+44 (0)118 378 2676 s.l.e.murphy@reading.ac.uk
Professor Jill Porter
Emeritus Professor of Education. +44 (0)118 378 2772 j.porter@reading.ac.uk
Dr Daisy Powell
Associate Professor (Language). Programme Director PG Research Studies. +44 (0)118 378 2797 d.a.powell@reading.ac.uk
Ms Katie Purdy Lecturer in Art. TBC k.l.purdy@reading.ac.uk
Dr Jo Anna Reed Johnson Programme Director SKE (Subject Knowledge Enhancement). Lecturer in Science Education. +44 (0)118 378 2669 j.a.reedjohnson@reading.ac.uk
Dr Rosemary Reynolds Research Assistant. - rosemary.reynolds@reading.ac.uk
Professor Brian Richards Emeritus Professor of Education. +44 (0)118 378 2634 b.j.richards@reading.ac.uk
Mrs Rachel Roberts Deputy Programme Director Master's-level courses. Lecturer in Secondary English Education. +44 (0)118 378 2667 r.l.roberts@reading.ac.uk
Mrs Stephanie Sharp Programme Director Undergraduate courses with QTS as an outcome. Lecturer in Primary English Education. Course Leader for BA Ed English. +44 (0)118 378 2675 s.sharp@reading.ac.uk
Dr Alison Silby

Assistant Programme Director PG Primary ITT. Lecturer in Primary English Education.

+44 (0)118 378 2624 a.silby@reading.ac.uk
Professor Rhona Stainthorp Professor of Education. +44 (0)118 378 2689 r.w.stainthorp@reading.ac.uk
Mr Martin Sutton Lecturer and Subject Leader for Secondary Geography Education. +44 (0)118 378 2691 m.sutton@reading.ac.uk
Dr Geoff Taggart Associate Professor. Programme Director PGCert in Early Years Practice. Lecturer Early Years Education. +44 (0)118 378 2643 g.taggart@reading.ac.uk
Ms Jo Thompson Programme Director BA Education Studies. Lecturer in Education. +44 (0)118 378 2615 jo.thompson@reading.ac.uk
Professor Catherine Tissot Professor of Education. +44 (0)118 378 2674 c.tissot@reading.ac.uk
Dr Natthapoj Vincent Trakulphadetkrai Associate Professor of Mathematics Education. Director of Research Communications. Deputy Director of Postgraduate Research Studies. +44 (0)118 378 2665 n.trakulphadetkrai
@reading.ac.uk
Dr Anna Tsakalaki (currently on extended leave) Programme Director PGCert SENCO. Lecturer in Education. +44 (0)118 378 2631 a.tsakalaki@reading.ac.uk
Dr Chris Turner Lecturer. +44 (0)118 378 2654 c.k.turner@reading.ac.uk
Ms Suzy Tutchell Lecturer in Primary Art Education. Subject Leader for BA Ed Art. +44 (0)118 378 2793 s.tutchell@reading.ac.uk
Dr Rob Webster Lecturer in Education. TBC rob.webster@reading.ac.uk
Ms Teresa Wilson Programme Director BA Education Studies. +44 (0)118 378 2641 t.a.wilson@reading.ac.uk
Dr Billy Wong Associate Professor in Widening Participation. Deputy Programme Director PG Research Studies. +44 (0)118 378 2655 b.wong@reading.ac.uk
Ms Emily Yearsley (currently on extended leave) Lecturer in Art. +44 (0)118 378 2663

e.yearsley@reading.ac.uk

 

Dr Pengchong (Anthony) Zhang Lecturer in Second Language Learning. +44 (0)118 378 2796

anthony.zhang@reading.ac.uk

Administration

Name

Position

Telephone

Aly Chesswas Programme Manager +44 (0)118 378 2614

Amanda Clark

Senior Programme Administrator

+44 (0)118 378 2617

Daisy Croman Executive Support Administration Manager +44 (0)118 378 2601
Claire Frost Programme Administrator +44 (0)118 378 3938
Lynn Gale Programme Administrator +44 (0)118 378 2609
Peter Gibbens Programme Administrator +44 (0)118 378 2626
Louie Gough Programme Administrator +44 (0)118 378 2618

Chris Green

Programme Administrator

+44 (0)118 378 2622

Liz Henley Partnership Placement Co-ordinator +44 (0)118 378 2621
Louise Longson Student Support Co-ordinator +44 (0)118 378 2611
Tracey Mallins Programme Administrator +44 (0)118 378 2609
Etina Maruve Programme Administrator +44 (0)118 378 2613

TBC

Programme Administrator

+44 (0)118 378 3937

TBC Programme Administrator +44 (0) 118 378 2612
Debbie Taylor Executive Support Officer (Finance) +44 (0)118 378 2331
Alice Williams Executive Support Officer +44 (0)188 378 2620

The Learning Hub

Name Position Telephone Email
Learning Hub Director +44 (0)118 378 2718

Technical

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Chris Bacon Technical Manager (Media) +44 (0)118 378 4071 c.s.bacon@reading.ac.uk
Alexander Boucher  Technician (Resources) +44 (0)118 378 2717  

 a.m.boucher@reading.ac.uk

Carolyn Fox

Senior Technician (Science Education)

+44 (0)118 378 2709

c.fox@reading.ac.uk

Natalie "Frankie" Franklin Support Technician (Workshops & Studios) +44 (0)118 378 2664 natalie.franklin@reading.ac.uk

Keith Hill

Associate Director of Technical Services

+44 (0)118 378 2606

k.a.hill@reading.ac.uk

John Jack Senior Technician (Workshops & Studios) +44 (0)118 378 7912 sgsjajoh@reading.ac.uk

Address

Institute of Education
University of Reading
London Road Campus
4 Redlands Road
Reading
Berkshire
RG1 5EX

(For sat nav, please use RG1 5AQ)

We use Javascript to improve your experience on reading.ac.uk, but it looks like yours is turned off. Everything will still work, but it is even more beautiful with Javascript in action. Find out more about why and how to turn it back on here.
We also use cookies to improve your time on the site, for more information please see our cookie policy.

Back to top