Skip to main content

Meet our staff – University of Reading

Show access keys
  • Academic excellence

    37 Fellows, Associate Fellows and Senior Fellows of the Higher Education Academy (HEA) and a National Teaching Fellow

  • Role models for best practice in education

    We promote a sense of belonging and connection

  • Transforming lives through education

    Become an outstanding educational practitioner

Meet our staff

Institute of Education

Academic staff

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Dr Rebecca Berkley Lecturer in Music Education. Secondary Music PGCE Subject Leader. +44 (0)118 378 2694 r.m.berkley@reading.ac.uk
Dr Helen Bilton Associate Professor of Education. Senior Tutor. Acting Head of ITT Partnership & Engagement. +44 (0)118 378 2683 h.o.bilton@reading.ac.uk
Ms Cara Broadhurst Assistant Director BA Ed Primary. Lecturer in Primary English Education. +44 (0)118 378 2638 c.broadhurst@reading.ac.uk
Ms Heike Bruton Research Assistant in Education. +44 (0)118 378 2645 h.bruton@reading.ac.uk
Mrs Amanda Cockayne Programme Director PGCE Primary. +44 (0)118 378 2682 a.m.cockayne@reading.ac.uk
Dr Louise Courtney Programme Director MA. Lecturer in Widening Participation. +44 (0)118 378 2796 l.m.courtney@reading.ac.uk
Professor Paul Croll Professor of Education. / emscroll@reading.ac.uk
Dr Xiao Lan Curdt-Christiansen Associate Professor in Second Language Education. +44 (0)118 378 2766 x.l.curdt-christiansen@reading.ac.uk
Dr Fiona Curtis Lecturer in Mathematics Education. +44 (0)118 378 2666 f.r.curtis@reading.ac.uk
Dr Trevor Davies Honorary Fellow. / t.c.davies@reading.ac.uk
Dr Yota Dimitriadi Subject Leader PGCE Secondary Computer Science. Lecturer in Computer Science Education. +44 (0)118 378 2688 y.dimitriadi@reading.ac.uk
Mr Ilan Dwek Lecturer in Theatre Arts, Education & Deaf Studies. / i.g.dwek@reading.ac.uk
Professor Viv Edwards Professor of Language in Education. / v.k.edwards@reading.ac.uk
Mrs Joanne Elsey Director of Early Years Initial Teacher Training Programmes. +44 (0)118 378 2644 j.h.elsey@reading.ac.uk
Ms Jane Fieldsend Lecturer in Science Education. +44 (0)118 378 2669 j.fieldsend@reading.ac.uk
Mr Simon Floodgate Lecturer in Theatre Arts, Education & Deaf Studies. +44 (0)118 378 2658
Dr Alan Floyd  Associate Professor +44 (0)118 378 2720 alan.floyd@reading.ac.uk
Dr Naomi Flynn Associate Professor in Primary English Education. +44 (0)118 378 2770 n.flynn@reading.ac.uk
Ms Catherine Foley Deputy Director of School Direct Primary. Lecturer in Mathematics Education. +44 (0)118 378 2661 c.m.foley@reading.ac.uk
Dr Carol Fuller Associate Professor of Education. Programme Director Educational Doctorate (EdD).
Deputy Director of Research.
+44 (0)118 378 2662 c.l.fuller@reading.ac.uk
Mr Graham Goldthorpe Lecturer in Secondary Design & Technology. +44 (0)118 378 2668 g.goldthorpe@reading.ac.uk
Professor Suzanne Graham Professor of Language & Education. School Director of Research.
Subject Leader PGCE Secondary Modern Foreign Languages.
+44 (0)118 378 2684

s.j.graham@reading.ac.uk
Mr Clive Grant Lecturer in Secondary Music Education. +44 (0)118 378 2693 c.a.grant@reading.ac.uk
Mr Harvey Grout Lecturer in Physical Education. Subject Leader PGCE Secondary PE. +44 (0)118 378 2647 h.grout@reading.ac.uk
Mr Andrew J Happle Assistant Director PGCE Primary. Lecturer in Science Education. +44 (0)118 378 2653 a.j.happle@reading.ac.uk
Dr Richard Harris Associate Professor in History Education. Director of Teaching and Learning. Subject Leader PGCE Secondary History. +44 (0)118 378 2725 r.j.harris@reading.ac.uk
Mrs Helen Heydon Lecturer PGCE Primary. +44 (0)118 378 2631 h.heydon@reading.ac.uk
Ms Gill Hopper Lecturer in Primary Art & Design in Education. Course Leader in BA Ed Art. +44 (0)118 378 2664
Mr Marc Jacobs Lecturer in Maths Education +44 (0)118 378 2672 m.l.jacobs@reading.ac.uk
Mrs Melanie Jay Subject Leader PGCE Secondary Art & Design. Acting Programme Director Secondary. +44 (0)118 378 2670 m.b.jay@reading.ac.uk
Dr Karen Jones Associate Professor in Educational Leadership and Management. +44 (0)118 378 2603 Karen.jones@reading.ac.uk
Dr Holly Joseph Associate Professor in Language Education & Literacy Development. +44 (0)118 378 2771 h.joseph@reading.ac.uk
Dr Maria Kambouri-Danos Programme Director BA CDL. Lecturer in Early Childhood Care & Education. +44 (0)118 378 2660 m.kambouridanos@reading.ac.uk
Mr David Kerr Head of ITT: Partnership & Engagement +44 (0)118 378 2679 d.kerr@reading.ac.uk
Mrs Barbara King Lecturer in Modern Foreign Languages. +44 (0)118 378 2795 b.king@reading.ac.uk
Mrs Gwenda Lappin Lecturer in Physical Education. +44 (0)118 378 2647 g.m.lappin@reading.ac.uk
Dr Daguo Li Associate Professor. Lecturer in Language Education. +44 (0)118 378 5769 d.li@reading.ac.uk
Miss Nasreen Majid Programme Director BA Ed. Lecturer in Primary Mathematics. +44 (0)118 378 2673 n.majid@reading.ac.uk
Mrs Sarah Marston Programme Director Secondary Initial Teacher Training +44 (0)18 378 2695 s.m.marston@reading.ac.uk
Mr John Mitchell Lecturer in Art & Design in Education. +44 (0)118 378 2663 j.mitchell@reading.ac.uk
Dr Elizabeth McCrum Teaching and Learning Dean +44 (0)118 378 6343/2657 e.m.mccrum@reading.ac.uk
Dr Jill Porter
Professor of Education. +44 (0)118 378 2772 j.porter@reading.ac.uk
Dr Daisy Powell
Associate Professor (Language). Programme Director PG Research Studies. +44 (0)118 378 2797 d.a.powell@reading.ac.uk
Dr Naz Rassool Professor of Education. +44 (0)118 378 2687 n.rassool@reading.ac.uk
Mrs Rachel Roberts Lecturer in Secondary English Education. +44 (0)118 378 2667 r.l.roberts@reading.ac.uk
Mrs Stephanie Sharp Lecturer Primary English Education. Course Leader BA for BA Ed English. +44 (0)118 378 2675 s.sharp@reading.ac.uk
Dr Alison Silby Lecturer in Primary English Education. +44 (0)118 378 2624 a.silby@reading.ac.uk
Professor Rhona Stainthorp Professor of Education. +44 (0)118 378 2689 r.w.stainthorp@reading.ac.uk
Dr Geoff Taggart Lecturer Early Years Education. +44 (0)118 378 2643 g.taggart@reading.ac.uk
Mrs Janet Thomson Programme Director SKE.
Lecturer in PGCE Secondary Science.
+44 (0)118 378 2656 j.thomson@reading.ac.uk
Dr Cathy Tissot Associate Professor. Head of Institute of Education +44 (0)118 378 2674 c.tissot@reading.ac.uk
Dr Natthapoj Vincent Trakulphadetkrai Lecturer in Primary Mathematics Education. Subject Leader for BAEd Maths. +44 (0)118 378 2665 n.trakulphadetkrai
@reading.ac.uk
Professor Jeanine Treffers-Daller Professor of Second Language Education.
Director of Centre for Literacy & Multi-lingualism (CeLM). Research Group Convenor.
+44 (0)118 378 2690 j.c.treffers-daller@
reading.ac.uk
Dr Chris Turner Subject Leader SKE Physics. +44 (0)118 378 2654 c.k.turner@reading.ac.uk
Ms Suzy Tutchell Lecturer in Primary Art Education. +44 (0)118 378 2793 s.tutchell@reading.ac.uk
Ms Cathy Wardale Lecturer in Drama Education. +44 (0)118 378 2659 c.j.wardale@reading.ac.uk
Mr Lionel Warner Lecturer in Secondary English Education. +44 (0)118 378 2691 l.k.warner@reading.ac.uk
Dr Tim Williams Associate Professor. Programme Director PGCert SENCO.
Reader in Special Needs Education.
+44 (0)118 378 2631 timothy.williams@
reading.ac.uk
Ms Teresa Wilson Programme Director Foundation Degree in CDL. +44 (0)118 378 2641 t.a.wilson@reading.ac.uk
Dr Billy Wong Lecturer in Widening Participation. +44 (0)118 378 2655 b.wong@reading.ac.uk

Administration

Name

Position

Telephone

Pagan Aspinall

Student Support Co-ordinator

+44 (0)118 378 2611

Amanda Clark

Senior Programme Administrator

+44 (0)118 378 2617

Chris Green

Programme Administrator

+44 (0)118 378 2609

Daisy Inman Executive Support Administration Manager +44 (0)118 378 2601
Jack Lambert-Taylor Programme Administrator +44 (0)118 378 2622

Tara Lehane

Student Support Co-ordinator

+44 (0)118 378 2611

Kate Malone 

Partnership Placement Co-ordinator

+44 (0)118 378 2621

Etina Maruve Programme Administrator +44 (0)118 378 2613

Helen Mitchell

Programme Administrator

+44 (0)118 378 2618

Debbie Taylor Executive Support Officer (Finance) +44 (0)118 378 2331

Claire Thompson

Programme Manager

+44 (0)118 378 2625

Alice Williams

Programme Administrator

+44 (0)118 378 2626

Simone Williams Programme Administrator +44 (0)118 378 2778

Graham Wright

Programme Administrator

+44 (0) 118 378 2612

The Learning Hub

Name Position Telephone Email
Louise Cowan Learning Hub Director +44 (0)118 378 2718 l.cowan@reading.ac.uk

Technical

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Caroline Dyer-Melville

Receptionist

+44 (0)118 378 2600

lrcreception@reading.ac.uk

Michael Eeles

3D Art Technician

+44 (0)118 378 2706

m.g.eeles@reading.ac.uk

Carolyn Fox

Science & PE Technician

+44 (0)118 378 2709

c.fox@reading.ac.uk

Keith Hill

Facilities & Technical Services Manager

+44 (0)118 378 2606

k.a.hill@reading.ac.uk

Chris O'Shea

Theatre & Media Technician

+44 (0)118 378 2762
+44 (0)7720 352027

c.e.oshea@reading.ac.uk

Jim Pontet

IT Support Technician

+44 (0)118 378 2716

j.t.m.pontet@reading.ac.uk

Chris Tibbenham

Resource Technician

+44 (0)118 378 2717

c.tibbenham@reading.ac.uk

Address

Institute of Education
University of Reading
London Road campus
4 Redlands Road
Reading
Berkshire
RG1 5EX

(For sat nav, please use RG1 5AQ)

We use Javascript to improve your experience on reading.ac.uk, but it looks like yours is turned off. Everything will still work, but it is even more beautiful with Javascript in action. Find out more about why and how to turn it back on here.
We also use cookies to improve your time on the site, for more information please see our cookie policy.

Back to top