University of Reading cookie policy

We use cookies on reading.ac.uk to improve your experience, monitor site performance and tailor content to you

Read our cookie policy to find out how to manage your cookie settings

Academic staff

Name Position Telephone Email
Professor Martin Bell Professor in Archaeological Science +44 (0)118 378 7724 m.g.bell@reading.ac.uk
Dr Alanna Cant Lecturer in Social Anthropology +44 (0)118 378 7820 a.m.cant@reading.ac.uk
Ms Amanda Clarke Director of Archaeology Field School +44 (0)118 378 6255 a.s.clarke@reading.ac.uk
Dr John Creighton Associate Professor in Archaeology +44 (0)118 378 7364 j.d.creighton@reading.ac.uk
Professor Hella Eckardt Professor in Archaeology/ Head of Department of Archaeology +44 (0)118 378 6266 h.eckardt@reading.ac.uk
Dr Ceri Falys Teaching Fellow in Human Osteology +44 (0)118 378 3273 c.g.falys@reading.ac.uk
Professor Michael Fulford Professor in Archaeology +44 (0)118 378 8048 m.g.fulford@reading.ac.uk
Professor Duncan Garrow Professor in Later Prehistoric Archaeology +44 (0) 118 378 6458 d.j.garrow@reading.ac.uk
Professor Roberta Gilchrist Professor in Archaeology/ Research Dean +44 (0)118 378 6381 r.l.gilchrist@reading.ac.uk
Dr Robert Hosfield Associate Professor in Palaeolithic Archaeology +44 (0)118 378 7632 r.hosfield@reading.ac.uk
Professor Mary Lewis Professor in Bioarchaeology +44 (0)118 378 8927 m.e.lewis@reading.ac.uk
Professor Roger Matthews Professor of Near Eastern Archaeology +44 (0)118 378 7564 r.j.matthews@reading.ac.uk
Dr Wendy Matthews Associate Professor in Archaeology +44 (0)118 378 6788 w.matthews@reading.ac.uk
Professor Steven Mithen Professor in Archaeology +44 (0)118 378 7363 s.j.mithen@reading.ac.uk
Dr Gundula Muldner Associate Professor in Bioarchaeology +44 (0)118 378 7389 g.h.mueldner@reading.ac.uk
Dr Aleks Pluskowski Associate Professor in Medieval Archaeology +44 (0)118 378 5267 a.g.pluskowski@reading.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Souter Teaching Fellow +44 (0)118 378 3267 a.p.souter@reading.ac.uk
Dr Gabor Thomas Associate Professor in Early Medieval Archaeology +44 (0)118 378 5449 gabor.thomas@reading.ac.uk

Research and enterprise staff

Name Position Telephone Email
Dr Rowena Banerjea Postdoctoral Research Assistant +44 (0)118 378 7877 r.y.banerjea@reading.ac.uk
Jon Badger QUEST Geoarchaeological Technician +44 (0)118 378 3333 jon.badger@reading.ac.uk
Dr Robert Batchelor QUEST Director +44 (0) 118 378 8941 c.r.batchelor@reading.ac.uk
Dr Peter Bray Research Fellow in Material Science +44 (0) 118 378 3290 p.j.bray@reading.ac.uk
Dr Blessing Chidimuro Postdoctoral Research Fellow in Isotope Ecology/Archaeology
b.chidimuro@reading.ac.uk
Dr Anwen Cooper Postdoctoral Research Assistant
a.j.cooper@reading.ac.uk
Jenni Eaton Research Assistant +44 (0)118 3787804 j.e.eaton@reading.ac.uk
Dr Claire Hodson British Academy Postdoctoral Fellowship +44 (0)118 3783728 c.m.hodson@reading.ac.uk
Nick Pankhurst Research Assistant +44 (0)118 378 7316 n.a.pankhurst@reading.ac.uk
Dr Amy Richardson Senior Research Fellow +44 (0)118 378 8747 a.l.richardson@reading.ac.uk
Dr Sam Walsh Research Assistant in Human Osteoarchaeology +44 (0)118 378 3282 s.l.walsh@reading.ac.uk
Dan Wheeler Research Assistant +44 (0)118 3783283 d.r.wheeler@reading.ac.uk

Postgraduate Research Students

Name Email Project
Abdulmajeed Alhuraish a.a.s.alhuraish@pgr.reading.ac.uk The transition from hunting-gathering to herding and pastoralism in the Neolithic in Jubbah, Northwest of Saudi Arabia, Evidence for Sustainability and Sedentism.
Jennifer Austen j.austen@pgr.reading.ac.uk Cribra orbitalia, Cribra Humeralis and Cribra Femoralis: understanding their aetiology.
Lisa Backhouse l.backhouse@pgr.reading.ac.uk Changing Social Relations and the Making of an Early Medieval Kingdom: People and Pottery in Anglo-Saxon Kent AD 450-850.
Florencia Botta f.n.botta@pgr.reading.ac.uk Was childhood health declining in the period leading to the Black Death?
Lydia Bowler l.a.bowler@pgr.reading.ac.uk A critical evaluation of the influence of environmental and geological factors on the Late Bronze Age collapse in the Eastern Mediterranean.
Juliette Caverly j.l.t.caverly@pgr.reading.ac.uk They are what we eat: Detection of animal domestication and feeding using isotope approaches.
Donna De Groene d.a.j.degroene@pgr.reading.ac.uk Animal ecology and management during the transition from mobile hunting-gathering to sedentary agriculture in the Eastern Fertile Crescent.
Kate Dudgeon k.dudgeon@pgr.reading.ac.uk Archival approaches to environment and lifeways: investigating plant-use at Neolithic Abu Hureyra, Syria, 8800 - 6000 cal. BC
Paige Falco p.falco@pgr.reading.ac.uk Investigating the presences of air pollution in Romano British populations and its impacts on health utilizing palaeopathology and trace element analysis.
Jessie Feito j.n.feito@pgr.reading.ac.uk Detecting Regional Variation in the Roman Diet.
Ellen Green ellen.green@pgr.reading.ac.uk Dead in a ditch: a taphonomic examination of human and animal remains deposited in non-formal funerary contexts in S E England during the late Iron-Age and early Roman periods.
Christopher Griffiths c.j.griffiths@pgr.reading.ac.uk Later Bronze Age hoards, hoarding practices and depositional contexts in south-east and south-west Wales: synthesis, social exchange and cultural connections.
Henrietta Hammant h.l.hammant@pgr.reading.ac.uk Anthropology of Heritage: Museum objects and the ‘heroes’ of early British Antarctic exploration.
Josie Handley j.n.handley@pgr.reading.ac.uk Testing the resilience of traditional agriculture in the Peruvian Andes to periods of climate change and human activity.
Richard Henry richard.henry@pgr.reading.ac.uk Fractured Britannia: Britain and Rome under Count Theodosius and the House of Valentinian
Alesia Koush a.koush@pgr.reading.ac.uk Human rights implications of illicit trafficking in archaeological heritage: the case study of Iraq.
Thomas Mills t.k.mills@pgr.reading.ac.uk 'Be Thou Dead to the World, but Alive Unto God': Defining the Diagnosis and Evolution of Leprosy Using the Evidence of Child and Adult Skeletal Remains.
Carina Mincioni c.a.mincioni@pgr.reading.ac.uk Other Deposits: the nature and significance of all depositional practices at round barrows during the Bronze Age.
Murat Ozturan m.ozturan@pgr.reading.ac.uk Differences in Flaking Technologies and Volume Management in Large Cutting Tools and Core & Flake Assemblages in Britain and North-West Europe in MIS 11 and 9.
Rebecca Pitt r.a.pitt@pgr.reading.ac.uk Investigating the impact the Roman conquest had on Iron Age people’s health through examining Perinatal, Infant and Maternal health.
Kathryn Price k.m.price@pgr.reading.ac.uk Early Humans in Britain: Cultural Adaptations from Coastal to Inland Occupation.
Maria Rabbani maria.rabbani@pgr.reading.ac.uk Investigating human-environmental relationships in the Zagros region during the Late Glacial, and Early to Mid-Holocene period.
Andrew Reynolds a.c.reynolds@pgr.reading.ac.uk Late Bronze Age and Iron Age hoardsin Wales and Marches: An investigation into patterns of selective and reflective deposition.
Arica Roberts arica.roberts@pgr.reading.ac.uk Gender & Religion in Early Medieval Wales: The Archaeology of Religious Transformation in Wales c. 400-1200 CE.
Rebecca Scott rebecca.scott@pgr.reading.ac.uk Fire in the Lower Palaeolithic: Absence of evidence or evidence of absence?
Dave Smith d.b.smith@pgr.reading.ac.uk Spatial organisation of early Neolithic communities in the Southern Levant: A spatial analysis of the WF16 Wadi Faynan settlement with regional comparisons.
Katy Whitaker k.a.whitaker@pgr.reading.ac.uk The role of sarsen stone in southern Britain. An archaeological and ethno-historical approach to an ancient industry.

Emeritus, Honorary and Visiting Staff

Name Position Email
Professor Grenville Astill Emeritus Professor g.g.astill@reading.ac.uk
Professor Richard Bradley Emeritus Professor r.j.bradley@reading.ac.uk
Professor Bob Chapman Emeritus Professor r.w.chapman@reading.ac.uk
Professor Clive McCann Emeritus Professor
Dr Catherine Barnett Senior Visiting Research Fellow
Dr Alex Smith Senior Visiting Research Fellow
Dr Alex Brown Visiting Research Fellow alex.brown@reading.ac.uk
Dr Matt Canti Visiting Research Fellow m.g.canti@reading.ac.uk
Dr Petra Dark Visiting Research Fellow s.p.dark@reading.ac.uk
Dr Jennifer Foster Visiting Research Fellow j.a.a.foster@reading.ac.uk
Dr Delphine Fremondeau Visiting Research Fellow
Dr Aroa Garcia-Suarez Visiting Research Fellow
Dr Chris Green Visiting Research Fellow/QUEST
Dr Heinrich Härke Visiting Research Fellow h.g.h.harke@reading.ac.uk
Dr Kevin Hayward Visiting Research Fellow K.Hayward@reading.ac.uk
Mr Neil Holbrook Visiting Research Fellow
Professor Michael Lewis Visiting Professor mlewis@britishmuseum.org
Dr Sara Machin Visiting Research Fellow s.l.machin@reading.ac.uk
Dr David Mudd Visiting Research Fellow david.mudd@reading.ac.uk
Dr Marta Portillo Ramirez Visiting Research Fellow
Dr Tom Walker Visiting Research Fellow
Dr Phillipa Walton Visiting Research Fellow philippa.walton@reading.ac.uk
Athena SWAN Silver Award