• Title
  • Reference
  • Production date
  • Creator
  • Creator History
    Simon Louvish was born on 6 April 1947 in Glasgow, Scotland. In 1949, his parents emigrated to Israel, where he was educated in Jerusalem. He served in the Israeli Army from 1965-1968, working as an army unit cameraman. In September 1968, he went to London, where he attended the London School of Film Technique from 1968 to 1971. He has produced and photographed a number of freelance documentary films including End of the Dialogue: Apartheid in South Africa (1970); Greece of Christian Greeks: the Colonels’ Regime (1971); and To Live in Freedom: Israel-Palestine (1973). He has been a tutor and lecturer at the London International Film School (now the London Film School) where he continues to lecture part-time. Simon Louvish’s first published novel, A Moment of Silence (1979), was an autobiographical account of his experiences in Israel and occupied Palestine during the making of To Live in Freedom. This was followed by The Therapy of Avram Blok (1985), the first of a series of satirical novels about the Middle East, followed by City of Blok (1988), The Last Trump of Avram Blok (1990), and The Days of Miracles and Wonders (1997). There are two more Blok books: The Fundamental Blok, which is currently unpublished, and The Chinese Smile, which is in progress. His other novels are The Death of Moishe-Ganef (1986) and The Silencer (1993), both thrillers set in the Middle East; Your Monkey’s Shmuck (1990); The Resurrections (1992); and What’s Up, God? (1995). Unpublished work includes a science-fiction novel, The Planet of Fuck; City of Mirrors, a children’s book; and The Governor’s Show, a spin-off from The Last Trump of Avram Blok. Louvish has also written several film scripts: A Matter of Life and Death, The Remaindered, and The Armenian Bathroom. A film based on his script, originally entitled Millennium Blues, was released in 2000 with the title Mad Dogs. Louvish is the main film biographer for Faber and Faber. His first biography – of WC Fields - was published in 1997, followed by books about the Marx Brothers, Laurel and Hardy, Mae West, Mack Sennett, and Cecil B DeMille. His latest, a biography of Charlie Chaplin, was published in early 2009. Simon Louvish’s web site is
  • Extent
    approx. 60 boxes
  • Level of description
  • Content person
  • System of arrangment
    LOU/A Early works LOU/B Correspondence and other personal papers LOU/C Correspondence with publishers/agents LOU/D Articles and reviews LOU/E Press cuttings LOU/F Film LOU/G Fiction LOU/G /1 Planet of Fuck LOU/G/2 The Therapy of Avram Blok (Blok 1) LOU/G/3 The Death of Moishe-Ganef LOU/G/4 City of Blok (Blok 2) LOU/G/5 The Last Trump of Avram Blok (Blok 3) LOU/G/6 Your Monkey’s Shmuck LOU/G/7 The Silencer LOU/G/8 The Governor’s Show (unpublished) LOU/G/9 Resurrections from the Dustbin of History LOU/G/10 What’s Up, God? LOU/G/11 The Days of Miracles and Wonders (Blok 4) LOU/G/12 The Stone Shall Cry (unpublished) LOU/G/13 Cosmic Follies LOU/G/14 Fundamental Blok (Blok 5) (unpublished) LOU/G/15 City of Mirrors (unpublished) LOU/H Non-fiction LOU/H/1 It’s a Gift/Man on the Flying Trapeze LOU/H/2 Monkey Business: The lives and legends of the Marx Brothers LOU/H/3 Stan and Ollie: The roots of comedy LOU/H/4 Keystone: The life and clowns of Mack Sennett LOU/H/5 Mae West: It ain’t no sin LOU/H/6 Cecil B DeMille and the Golden Calf LOU/H/7 Chaplin: The Tramp’s Odyssey LOU/J Miscellaneous