Sustainable behaviours within the community

Bags for sorting recyclable waste - Sustainable behaviousr within the community

Our research

Communities as well as industry have a part to play in ensuring the sustainability of the built environment. It is therefore vital to understand the factors that govern energy demand and usage within a community; how perceptions of energy types can affect consumer choice; and the impact of other considerations such as food and transportation. In doing so it will be possible to support those behaviours that foster resilient, sustainable communities in the future.

Research at the University of Reading is already providing insights into the behaviours affecting consumer demand through work on the design of smart meters. Other projects are determining how factors related to climate change, such as energy efficiency and perception of risk, can influence behaviour. Our academics are investigating how these factors impact upon consumers' decision making and demand for energy, providing insights into how these behaviours can be influenced through use of incentives and the shifting of social norms.

Back to top

Future direction

Further research will explore how users can have a role in the design and technology of buildings to improve their sustainability. Another theme will examine changes in behaviour across communities and the implications for energy usage and sustainability in general. This will include investigating the benefits that community initiatives can provide to individuals; the influence of informal networks; and how long term effects and behavioural change can be supported.

Back to top

Academics

Dr Nick Bardsley

Lecturer in Climate Change Economics, Agriculture, Policy and Development

Email: n.o.bardsley@reading.ac.uk

Dr Philip Beaman

Senior Lecturer and School Director for Teaching & Learning, Psychology

Email: c.p.beaman@reading.ac.uk

Dr Phil Coker

Lecturer in Renewable Energy, School of Construction Management & Engineering 

Email: p.j.coker@reading.ac.uk

Dr Marina Della Giusta

Reader in Economics and Director of PG Research, Economics

Email: m.dellagiusta@reading.ac.uk

Professor Tim Dixon

Chair of Sustainable Futures in the Built Environment

Email: t.j.dixon@reading.ac.uk 

Mr Joe Doak

Senior Lecturer in Urban Planning and Development, REP

Email: a.j.doak@reading.ac.uk

Professor of Mathematics and its Applications, Mathematics, Director of Innovation & Knowledge Exchange

Email: p.grindrod@reading.ac.uk

Professor Patrick McAllister

Professor of Real Estate Appraisal, REP

Email: p.m.mcallister@reading.ac.uk

Dr Rachel McCloy

Lecturer in Psychology; Director of the Centre for Applied Behavioural Science

Email: r.a.mccloy@reading.ac.uk

Professor Rachel McCrindle

Professor of Computer and Human Interaction

Email: r.j.mccrindle@reading.ac.uk

Dr Richard J Nunes

Lecturer in Real Estate and Planning, REP

Email: r.j.nunes@reading.ac.uk

Dr Eugene McSorley

Lecturer, School of Psychology and Clinical Language Sciences

Email: e.mcsorley@reading.ac.uk

Dr Michael Peters

Lecturer in Energy Policy in the Built Environment, School of Construction Management and Engineering

Email: m.d.peters@reading.ac.uk

 

Professor Martin Sexton

Professor of Construction Management & Innovation and Director of Research, School of Construction Management and Engineering

Email: m.g.sexton@reading.ac.uk

Dr Peter Wyatt

Senior Lecturer in Real Estate Appraisal, REP

Email: p.wyatt@reading.ac.uk

Dr Runming Yao

Reader in Sustainable Built Environments, School of Construction Management and Engineering

Email: r.yao@reading.ac.uk

Back to top

Future involvement

Professor Alison Black

Professor of User-Centred Design, Centre for Information Design Research

Email: a.black@reading.ac.uk

Dr Wendy Matthews 

Lecturer in Archaeology, School of Human and Environmental Sciences

Email: w.matthews@reading.ac.uk

Back to top

Things to do now

  • Read more about our areas of research

Page navigation

 

Search Form

A-Z lists