Promoting sustainable practices

Promoting sustainable practices - installation of photovoltaic solar panels on a building

Our research

In addition to increasingly sustainable building design and construction, the industry has other opportunities to contribute to the sustainability landscape. Adoption of more sustainable business practice, e.g. across the supply chain, will help to embed newer ways of working and contribute to long term organisational change.

The University of Reading has an established base of expertise in this field. Researchers are exploring how to integrate sustainable practice into the supply system by incentivising changes to behaviour that promote low carbon practices. Work is also taking place to establish new business models that promote this activity, as well as investigating the role that organisational networks have in decision making. This builds on existing research identifying the roles that communities of practice can play in organisational change, and its through-life implications. The use of environmental assessment tools and managing the transition to more sustainable technologies are further research strengths within the University.  

Back to top

Future direction

Developments in sustainable practice will provide a greater focus on the role that procurement plays in promoting the selection of sustainable products and methods. Other research will explore the impacts of informal networks on the development of long term sustainable business practices.

Back to top

Academics

Mr Joe Doak

Senior Lecturer in Urban Planning and Development, REP

Email: a.j.doak@reading.ac.uk

Professor John Connaughton

Chair of Sustainable Construction and Director of Enterprise, School of Construction Management & Engineering

Email: j.connaughton@reading.ac.uk

Professor Tim Dixon

Chair of Sustainable Futures in the Built Environment

Email: t.j.dixon@reading.ac.uk

Professor Stuart Green

Professor in Construction Management and Head of the School of Construction Management and Engineering

Email: s.d.green@reading.ac.uk

Dr Katherine Hyde

Lecturer in Sustainability, School of Construction Management and Engineering

Email: k.hyde@reading.ac.uk

Dr Graeme Larsen

Lecturer and Director of Post Graduate Research Studies, School of Construction Management and Engineering

Email: g.d.larsen@reading.ac.uk

Professor Kecheng Liu

Professor of Informatics, Director of Informatics Research Centre; Head of School of Business Informatics, Systems and Accounting, HBS; Deputy Director of the Centre of Technologies for Sustainable Environments (TSBE)

Email: k.liu@reading.ac.uk

Dr Shu-Ling Lu

Lecturer in Construction Management, School of Construction Management and Engineering

Email: s.lu@reading.ac.uk

Dr Michael Peters

Lecturer in Energy Policy in the Built Environment, School of Construction Management and Engineering

Email: m.d.peters@reading.ac.uk

Dr Florence Phua

Reader in Organisational Behaviour, School of Construction Management and Engineering

Email: f.phua@reading.ac.uk

Dr Libby Schweber

Reader in Sociology of Sustainable Construction, School of Construction Management and Engineering

Email: l.schweber@reading.ac.uk

Professor Martin Sexton

Professor of Construction Management & Innovation and Director of Research, School of Construction Management and Engineering

Email: m.g.sexton@reading.ac.uk

Back to top

Future involvement

Professor Atta Badii

Chair of Secure Pervasive Technologies and Director of Intelligent Systems Research Laboratory, Systems Engineering

Email: atta.badii@reading.ac.uk

Professor Will Hughes

Professor of Construction Management & Engineering and Director of International Relations, School of Construction Management and Engineering

Email: w.p.hughes@reading.ac.uk

Back to top

Things to do now

  • Read more about our areas of research

Page navigation

 

Search Form

A-Z lists