Energy supply systems

Energy supply system research is key to ensuring a sustainable future

Our research

The availability of fossil fuels, an increase in renewable energy production and government legislation on carbon emissions all pose challenges to the existing energy supply and distribution systems. New approaches are required in order to meet the needs of a modern, technological society to ensure energy security and maximise the efficiency of new forms of energy generation.

Research at the University of Reading is helping to tackle these challenges. The University's multidisciplinary Energy Group is identifying ways to tackle the variability in the supply and demand of energy through smart grids and energy storage. The group is also working to understand how the efficiency of renewable generation can be measured and improved upon and developing strategies for carbon management. The Centre for the Mathematics of Human Behaviour (CMOHB) contributes data in the form of energy usage models and analysis, providing insights into peak demand and identifying new mechanisms for energy tariffs from the perspective of suppliers. The University also has technological experts conducting research into power supply electronics and inverters for microgeneration applications.

Back to top

Future direction

This research will be extended in the future to include developing technologies for energy security, storage, and continuity of supply within the built environment. Other work will aim to identify the alternative business models that will be required to support new entrants into the supply network. There will also be a focus on tackling the challenges presented by the transition to new supply models and the impact that regulation will have on innovation in the field.

Back to top

Academics

Dr David Brayshaw

NERC Postgraduate Research Fellow, Meteorology

Email: d.j.brayshaw@reading.ac.uk

Dr Phil Coker

Lecturer in Renewable Energy, School of Construction Management & Engineering 

Email: p.j.coker@reading.ac.uk

Dr Emmanuel Essah

Lecturer in Sustainable Technologies, School of Construction Management and Engineering

Email: Dr Emmanuel Essah

Professor of Mathematics and its Applications, Mathematics, Director of Innovation & Knowledge Exchange
 

Email: p.grindrod@reading.ac.uk

Dr Michael Peters 

Lecturer in Energy Policy in the Built Environment, School of Construction Management and Engineering

Email: m.d.peters@reading.ac.uk

Dr Ben Potter

Lecturer in Electronic Engineering, Systems Engineering

Email: b.a.potter@reading.ac.uk

Professor Li Shao

Chair in Sustainable Technologies in the Built Environment, School of Construction Management and Engineering

Email: l.shao@reading.ac.uk

Dr Jacopo Torriti

Lecturer in Sustainable Technologies, School of Construction Management and Engineering

Email: j.torriti@reading.ac.uk

Dr Maria Vahdati

Lecturer in Renewable Energy: Technology & Sustainability, School Of Construction Management and Engineering

Email: m.m.vahdati@reading.ac.uk

Back to top

Future involvement

Professor Atta Badii

Chair of Secure Pervasive Technologies and Director of Intelligent Systems Research Laboratory, Systems Engineering

Email: atta.badii@reading.ac.uk

Ms Jenny Berger

Manager of the Technologies for Sustainable Built Environments (TSBE) Centre

Email: j.m.berger@reading.ac.uk

Professor Howard Colquhoun

Professor of Materials Chemistry and Research Group Leader, Materials and Synthesis, Chemistry

Email: h.m.colquhoun@reading.ac.uk

 

Back to top

Things to do now

  • Read more about our areas of research

Page navigation

 

Search Form

A-Z lists