Designing for resilience

A house destroyed by a tsunami - Designing for resilience

Our research

The prospect of climate change is having a significant impact on the planning and design of our built environments. Modern buildings and infrastructure must be sustainable in their construction, as well as resilient enough to withstand the climatic extremes and potential disaster scenarios they may experience during their lifetime.

The University of Reading is conducting world-class research in this field and is leading the way in developing solutions to the key issues presented by the need for a sustainable and resilient built environment. Research at Reading covers intelligent building design and sustainable infrastructure, as well as the policy and regulatory decisions that can affect its delivery. The Design Innovation Research Centre (DIRC) is central to this capability, and is focused on digital design and building information modelling. This work is supported by the Visualisation and Interactive Technology Centre (VIT-C) and data and climate models from the University's Walker Institute for Climate System Research. In addition there is a strong base in the impact that sustainable methods, such as off-site manufacturing, have on modern construction practices.

Back to top

Future direction

Future research will seek to combine the knowledge of design and modelling with the University's expertise in developing innovative and intelligent building materials. This could lead, for example, to the production of materials for building facades that are able to monitor and react to potential extremes. Projects will also identify methods for reducing the impact of extreme events on the built environment.

Back to top

Academics

Dr Janet Barlow

Reader in Urban Meteorology, Meteorology

Email: j.f.barlow@reading.ac.uk

Reader in Environmental Change and Human Communities and Director of the Human Environments research group (HERG), Geography and Environmental Science

Email: emily.boyd@reading.ac.uk

Professor Stuart Green

Professor in Construction Management and Head of the School of Construction Management and Engineering


Email: s.d.green@reading.ac.uk

Dr Zhiwen (Vincent) Luo

Lecturer in Sustainable Technologies, School of Construction Management and Engineering

Email: z.luo@reading.ac.uk  

Professor Li Shao

Chair in Sustainable Technologies in the Built Environment, School of Construction Management and Engineering

Email: l.shao@reading.ac.uk

Dr Emma Street

Lecturer, Real Estate and Planning

Email: e.j.street@reading.ac.uk

Professor of Innovation and Design; Director of the Design Innovation Research Centre, School of Construction Management and Engineering

Email: j.whyte@reading.ac.uk

Professor Runming Yao

Professor in Sustainable Built Environments, School of Construction Management and Engineering

Email: r.yao@reading.ac.uk

Back to top

Future involvement

Dr Phil Coker

Lecturer in Renewable Energy, School of Construction Management & Engineering 

Email: p.j.coker@reading.ac.uk

Professor Howard Colquhoun

Professor of Materials Chemistry and Research Group Leader, Materials and Synthesis, Chemistry

Email: h.m.colquhoun@reading.ac.uk

Dr Fred Davis

Senior Lecturer in Organic Chemistry, Chemistry


Email: f.j.davis@reading.ac.uk

Professor Wayne Hayes

Head of Department of Chemistry, Reader in Polymer Chemistry


Email: w.c.hayes@reading.ac.uk

Professor Paul Sharkey

Professor of Cybernetics, Visualisation and Interactive Technology Centre, Systems Engineering

Email: p.m.sharkey@reading.ac.uk 

Back to top

Things to do now

  • Read more about our areas of research

Page navigation

 

Search Form

A-Z lists