Papers of The Group

'The Group' of poets, predominantly academics, began in 1955. Members included Fleur Adcock (born 1934), Taner Baybars (born 1936) , Martin Bell (1918-1978), Alan Brownjohn (born 1931), Kevin Crossley-Holland (born 1941), Christopher Hampton (born 1946), Philip Hobsbaum (1932-2005), Ted Hughes (1930-1998), George MacBeth (1932-1992), Alan Marshfield (born 1933), Adrian Mitchell (born 1932), Peter Porter (born 1929) and Peter Redgrove (1932-2003).

The collection consists of many of the stencilled worksheets containing members' work which were circulated amongst the group before each discussion. The Library also holds the papers of some members of the Group in separate collections:

More information

  • The collection is not yet catalogued, but a brief handlist is available as a pdf here (149 KB)
  • A full description is available from our online database
  • Manuscript number MS 4457
literature correspondence, literary manuscripts, other archives/mss group

Page navigation


Search Form

A-Z lists