Postgraduate Research Students

Our current postgraduate student contact details are listed below.

 Name  Project  Email
Ali Sabeeh Abdulameer
The impact and attenuation of flavonoids in the rhizosphere
Supervisors: Dr Liz Shaw, Dr R Jackson
 a.s.abdulameer@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Ashfaq Afsar
 
Remediation of metal-contaminated soils and water with engineered nanoparticles
Supervisors: Professor L Harwood, Dr Liz Shaw
 a.afsar@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Kirsten Barr
Prehistoric avian, mammalian and H sapiens footpring-tracks from intertidal sediments as evidence of human palaeoecology supervised
Supervisor: Professor Martin Bell
 k.barr@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Michael Bell
Are the blanket bogs of SW England beyond the critical climatic threshold of carbon sequestration?
Supervisors: Dr Joanna Clark, Professor Anne Verhoef, Professor Richard Brazier (Exeter)
 m.c.bell@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Frances Cheesman
 
The microbiology of lean and obese soil
Supervisors: Dr Liz Shaw, Dr Martin Woodward, Professor Penny Hirsch (Rothamsted), Dr Ian Clark (Rothamsted)
 f.p.cheesman@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Oliver Crowley
 
Responding to environmental change: soil system resilience
Supervisors: Dr Simon Mortimer, Dr Alison Bailey, Dr Joanna Clark
 
o.crowley@pgr.reading.ac.uk
James Cotterill
 
The efficacy of using bio-chars as additives in the composting process.
Supervisors: Dr Steve Robinson, Dr Paul Alexander (RHS Wisley), Dr J Gaunt (Full Circle Solutions)
 j.p.cotterill@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Sarah Duddigan
 
The fate of carbon from soil amendments in horticultural systems
Supervisors: Professor Chris Collins, Dr Liz Shaw, Dr Paul Alexander (RHS Wisley)
 s.l.duddigan@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Sarah Elliott
 
Micromorphological investigation of early animal management in the Zagros, Iran.
Supervisors: Dr Wendy Matthews, Professor Roger Matthews,
Dr Stuart Black
 sarah.elliott@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Angie Elwin 

Enhancing mangrove social-ecological resilience to shrimp farming in Thailand.

Supervisors: Emily Boyd, Joanna Clark, Elizabeth Robinson 
 

a.m.elwin@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Aroa Garcia-Suarez
 
Investigating Neolithic Ecology and Settlement Networks: Integrated Micro-Contextual Analysis of Buildings and Open Areas at Çatalhöyük, Boncuklu and Pınarbaşı (Central Anatolia)
Supervisors: Dr Wendy Matthews, Dr Stuart Black
 a.garcia-suarez@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Eleni Geropanagioti
 
Climatic controls on the transformations and aquatic impacts of carbon exported from riparian wetlands.
Supervisors: Dr Steve Robinson, Dr Amanda Callaghan, Dr A Collins (ADAS)
 e.geropanagioti@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Guido Guarducci
 
The Lands of Nairi: social and material culture networking among the communities of Eastern Anatolia during the late Bronze and Iron Ages.
Supervisors: Professor Roger Matthews, Dr Wendy Matthews
 g.guarducci@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Azin Howells
 
The effect of land surface hydrological process representation (parameterization and parameter uncertainty) on drought prediction, at a range of spatio-temporal scales
Supervisors: Professor Hannah Cloke, Professor Anne Verhoef, Dr Antje Weisheimer (Oxford), Dr Florian Pappenberger (ECMWF)
 a.howells@pgr.reading.ac.uk
David Hughes
 Remediation of metal-contaminated soils and water with engineered nanoparticles
Supervisors: Dr Liz Shaw, Professor M E Hodson (York), Professor L Harwood
 d.l.hughes@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Ingrid Iversen
 
The Ubaid household: economy and society.
Supervisors: Professor Roger Matthews, Dr Wendy Matthews
 
The Ubaid household: economy and society.
Supervisors: Professor Roger Matthews, Dr Wendy Matthews
Leah Jackson-Blake
 
Assessing and predicting the ecological response to sediment and nutrient over-enrichment in freshwaters.
Supervisors: Professor Andrew Wade, Professor Richard Skeffington
 l.jackson-blake@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Alice Johnston
 
Modelling earthworm population dynamics in agricultural fields
Supervisors: Professor Richard Sibly, Professor Mark Hodson (York)
 a.s.a.johnston@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Ben Jones   

Quantifying and understanding uptake of plant protection products from soil into plants

Supervisors: Professor Chris Collins, Professor Anne Verhoef

 b.m.jones@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Katerina Kademoglou
 
In vitro bioaccessibility of emerging Flame Retardants in idoor dust
Supervisors: Professor Chris Collins, Professor A Williams
 a.kademoglou@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Georgia Koromila
 
A geoarchaeological study of Neolithic open spaces in N. Greece.
Supervisors: Dr Wendy Matthews, Professor Martin Bell
 g.koromila@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Stella Kyrillidou
 
Combined elemental analysis on Neolithic and Bronze Age settlements in northern Greece.
Supervisors: Dr Wendy Matthews, Dr Stuart Black, Prof K Kotsakis
 s.kyrillidou@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Kirsten Lees  

Measuring peatland carbon sequestration and emission by remote sensing

Supervisors: Joanna Clark, Tristan Quaife, Rebekka Artz 
 k.j.lees@pgr.reading.ac.uk 
Stephen Lowe 
 
Developing a sustainable method for the determination of bioaccessibility of organic contaminants from polluted sites.
Supervisor: Professor Chris Collins
 s.r.lowe@pgr.reading.ac.uk
David Mudd
 
Ground Stone Assemblage from Testansur, Iraqi Kurdistan: Economic and Social Implications.
Supervisors: Professor Roger Matthews, Dr Wendy Matthews
 d.j.mudd@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Stephen Myers
 
Early Roman Settlement to the Late Medieval Periods.
Supervisors: Professor Michael Fulford, Dr Nick Branch, Professor Grenville Astill
 s.d.myers@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Vinnie de Oliveira 

The influence of mycorrhizal fungi in poplar under Cd and Zn stress.

Supervisor: Prof. Mark Tibbett

 
 v.h.deoliveira@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Heather Plumpton
 
Amazonia and the 6K Drought
Supervisors: Professor Frank Mayle, Dr Shovon Roy, Dr Jose Iriate (University of Exeter), Dr John Carson
 h.plumpton@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Jessica Princivalle
 
How important is soil microbial diversity for pesticide biodegradation function and robust biodegradation kinetics?
Supervisors: Dr Liz Shaw, Professor Chris Collins, Dr Irene Bramke (Syngenta)
 j.princivalle@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Catharine Pschenyckyj
 
Application of microbial fingerprinting techniques to attribute biological controls on recent changes in carbon cycling in organic soils
Supervisors: Dr Joanna Clark, Dr Liz Shaw, Professor Chris Evans (CEH), Dr Rob Griffiths (CEH)
 c.pschenyckyj@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Suvarna Punalekar
 
Synergistic use of hyperspectral remote sensing data and SVAT models to advance hydro-ecological research
Supervisors: Professor Anne Verhoef, Dr Kevin White, Dr Christiaan van der Tol (ITC, University of Twente, Netherlands)
 s.m.punalekar@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Diego Ramirez Guerrero
 
Remediation and oil recovery from oil sludges using surfactants and biosurfactants
Supervisors: Professor Chris Collins, Dr Liz Shaw
 d.f.ramirezguerrero@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Harriet Robson
 
Do competitive plant x plant interactions impact rhizosphere microbial community structure and function?
Supervisors: Dr Liz Shaw, Dr A Neal (Rothamsted), Dr Tom Sizmur
 h.k.robson@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Leanne Roche
 
Fate and transport of fertiliser nitrogen under spring barley cultivation on contrasting soils
Supervisors : Dr. Liz Shaw, Dr. John Hammond, Professor Michael Gooding (Aberystwyth University), Dr. David Wall (Teagasc), Dr. Karl Richards (Teagasc) and Dr. Richie Hackett (Teagasc)
 l.m.roche@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Katarzyna Sawicka
 
Multi-scale controls on drivers of DOC in soil and surface waters
Supervisors: Dr Joanna Clark, Professor Andrew Wade, Dr E Vanguelova (Forest Research), Mr D Montieth (CEH), Dr Ed Rowe (CEH)
 k.sawicka@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Michael Simmonds
 
Examining the relationships between climate change, vegetation succession and human activity during the Late Devensian and Early Holocene in SE England
Supervisors: Dr Nick Branch, Dr Stuart Black, Dr Robert Hosfield
 m.simmonds@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Richard Smith
 
'Amazonia under mid-Holocene drought
Supervisors: Professor Frank Mayle, Dr Shovon Roy, Dr Joy Singarayer
 r.smith3@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Philip Stastney
 
Examining the relationship between Holocene climate change, hydrology and human society in Ireland.
Supervisors: Dr Nick Branch, Dr Stuart Black
 p.stastney@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Elspeth St. John-Brooks

Developing new approaches to human mobility and activity areas using geochemical patterns at characteristically varied archaeological sites.

Supervisors: Professor Martin G. Bell and Dr LInda Hurcombe (Exeter University)

 

e.s.john-brooks@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Marijke Struijk  

How can we make better use of crop residues?

Supervisor: Tom Sizmur 
 m.struijk@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Victoria Taylor
 
Land Snail Middens in the Late Pleistocence and Early Holocene in North Africa: a Case Study from Taforalt (Grotte des Pegeons), Morocco.
Supervisor: Professor Martin Bell, Dr Stuart Black
 
Koki Takaki
 
Assessment of human exposure to a range of pollutants through computer modelling
Supervisor: Professor Chris Collins, Professor Andrew Wade
 k.takaki@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Sarah Thoma
 
Examining the relationship between environmental and societal change during the past 1000 years in South-East England
Supervisor: Dr Nick Branch
 s.e.thoma@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Kathryn Turner
 
Re-evaluation of Mediterranean Holocene Chronologies
Supervisors: Dr Stuart Black, Dr Nick Branch
 kathryn.turner@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Alexa Varah
 
Can agroforestry reconcile conflicting demands for productivity, biodiversity conservation and delivery of ecosystem services?
Supervisor: Prof Simon Potts
 a.varah@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Amy Wade
 
Cocoa farming and biodiversity in Ghana
 a.s.wade@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Tom Walker
 
Shifting Sand: The Palaeoenvironment and Archaeology of Blown Sand in Cornwall
Supervisors: Professor Martin Bell, Dr Stuart Black
 t.walker@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Henry Webber
 
Integrating archaeological data and Precision Farming data to enhance the recording and management of buried heritage assets and improve understanding of soil variation in the UK.
Supervisors: Prof. Mark Horton (University of Bristol), Prof. Martin Bell (University of Reading), Dr. Volker Heyd (UoB), Dr. Wendy Matthews (UoR) and Dr. Amanda Chadburn (Historic England)
 hw9484@bristol.ac.uk
Sean Webber
 
 s.m.webber@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Jade Whitlam
 
Archaeobotany and the Neolithic of Western Iran
Professor Roger Matthres
Supervisors: Dr Nick Branch, Dr Wendy Matthews
 
Archaeobotany and the Neolithic of Western Iran
Professor Roger Matthres
Supervisors: Dr Nick Branch, Dr Wendy Matthews
Yoshie Yageta
 
Difference in soil knowledge among farmers and effects on soil management, case study in Kitui, Kenya
Supervisors: Dr Henny Osbahr, Dr Joanna Clark
 y.yageta@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Daniel Young
 
Hydrology, climate and human societies in the wetlands of Ireland
Supervisors: Dr Nick Branch, Dr Stuart Black
 d.s.young@reading.ac.uk
Amudat Olatunde
 
Soil Characterization using Visible Near Infrared Diffuse Reflectance Spectroscopy (VNIR DRS)
Supervisors: Chris Collins & Kevin White
 K.A.Olatunde@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Christina Clarke
 
Deep rooting in a doubled haploid wheat population with introgression from wild emmer
Supervisors: Professor Peter Gregory (East Malling; Centre of Food Security University of Reading); Professor Mike Gooding (Aberystwyth University) and Dr Martin Lukac (University of Reading)
 c.clarke@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Richard Gantlett
 
 r.a.s.gantlett@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Erika Degani
 
Can novel crop rotations enhance multiple ecosystem services underpinning arable production?
Supervisors: Prof. Simon Potts (UoR), Dr Hannah Jones (UoR), Dr Simon Mortimer (UoR), Peter Sutton (Syngenta)
 e.degani@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Page navigation

 

Search Form

A-Z lists