Skip to main content

Our staff – University of Reading

Show access keys
  • A friendly, inclusive community

    We're ready to work with you

Our staff

​Department of Philosophy staff

Academic staff

Name Position Telephone Email
Dr James Andow

Lecturer in Moral Philosophy
Admissions Tutor

+44 (0) 118 378 6064 j.andow@reading.ac.uk
Dr Elaine Beadle Part-time Lecturer +44 (0) 118 378 7342 e.a.beadle@reading.ac.uk
Professor Emma Borg Professor
Director of the Centre for Cognition Research
+44 (0) 118 378 8324 e.g.n.borg@reading.ac.uk
Professor Maximilian De Gaynesford Head of Department
Professor
+44 (0) 118 378 6679 r.m.degaynesford@reading.ac.uk
Dr Luke Elson

Lecturer
Co-director of REAPP

luke.elson@reading.ac.uk
Dr Nat Hansen

Lecturer

+44 (0) 118 378 6993 n.d.hansen@reading.ac.uk
Professor Brad Hooker Professor +44 (0) 118 378 6631 b.w.hooker@reading.ac.uk
Dr George Mason Lecturer g.p.mason@reading.ac.uk
Professor David Oderberg Professor
Director of Postgraduate Research Studies
+44 (0) 118 378 5277 d.s.oderberg@reading.ac.uk
Professor John Preston Professor +44 (0) 118 378 7327 j.m.preston@reading.ac.uk
Dr Severin Schroeder Associate Professor
Philosophy MRes Director
+44 (0) 118 378 7333 s.j.schroeder@reading.ac.uk
Dr Shalini Sinha Lecturer in Non-Western Philosophy  +44 (0) 118 378 7368 shalini.sinha@reading.ac.uk
Dr James Stazicker Lecturer +44 (0) 118 378 8118 j.stazicker@reading.ac.uk
Professor Philip Stratton-Lake Professor +44 (0) 118 378 7562 p.j.stratton-lake@reading.ac.uk
Dr Mark Tebbit Part-time Lecturer +44 (0) 118 378 7143 m.w.tebbit@reading.ac.uk

EMERITUS academic STAFF

Name Position Contact
Professor John Cottingham Professor Emeritus j.g.cottingham@reading.ac.uk
Professor Jonathan Dancy Professor Emeritus j.p.dancy@reading.ac.uk
Mr Michael Proudfoot Honorary Fellow m.a.proudfoot@reading.ac.uk

Support and programme administration

Name Position Telephone Email
Naomi Emmerson UG & PGT +44 (0) 118 378 6257 philosophy-admin@reading.ac.uk 
Karin Mundt  UG & PGT +44 (0) 118 378 5648 philosophy-admin@reading.ac.uk 
Catherine O'Hare PGR +44 (0) 118 378 5799 c.l.o.hare@reading.ac.uk

We use Javascript to improve your experience on reading.ac.uk, but it looks like yours is turned off. Everything will still work, but it is even more beautiful with Javascript in action. Find out more about why and how to turn it back on here.
We also use cookies to improve your time on the site, for more information please see our cookie policy.

Back to top