Press Releases

University Boat Club race is just ahead – University of Reading

Release Date : 27 February 2006

University of Reading rowersIn the month that the University of Reading celebrates its 80th birthday, its renowned Boat Club is holding their prestigious annual 'Head of the River Race', on the River Thames in Reading on Saturday 4 March. Olympic coxless quadruple sculls silver medallist and Reading graduate Debbie Flood will be competing and presenting prizes. Over 150 crews from clubs, schools and universities across the UK will be taking part, including crews from Oxford University and Henley's Leander Club. More than 2,000 spectators are expected to line the banks of the Thames to watch some fantastic racing. The race has been run by the students of Reading University Boat Club since 1935 and is not only the largest student-run public sporting event in the country, but also the fourth oldest and largest head of the river race. The picturesque course follows the river downstream on the six kilometre stretch between Mapledurham and Caversham Locks, one of the best reaches of the middle Thames. University of Reading Director of Rowing Will Rand says the day promises to be extremely exciting: "The event is the perfect practice run for the crews looking to do well at the Eights Head of the River this year. The entries are once again of the highest standard, so those coming to watch will witness the very best rowing talent this country has to offer. "There is a long-standing tradition of rowing at Reading. The boat club is particularly proud to host one of the biggest days in the rowing calendar, during the month the University celebrates its 80th birthday." The first race starts at 11am at the Roebuck Ferry Crossing, Tilehurst, and finishes opposite the Reading University Boathouses in Caversham, a distance of around 4.25 kilometres. The main prizes include: The Roe Challenge Cup awarded to the fastest crew. Previous winners include Isis BC, Oxford Brookes BC, University of London BC and Leander Club. The Coronation Cup awarded to the fastest Senior III crew. Previous winners include Pangbourne College, Imperial College and Nottingham University BC. The Bourne Cup awarded to the fastest school crew. Previous winners include Radley College BC, St Paul's BC and Eton College BC. The Mackintosh Trophy awarded to the fastest British University crew. Previous winners include Oxford Brookes BC and Imperial College BC. End For more information about the event, contact Will Rand, the Director of Rowing at the University of Reading. Mob: 07989 972 594 Email: Website:


Search Form

Main navigation